We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brexton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Brexton to your Saves list
Hotel Brexton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   868 Park Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Baltimore
Memphis, TN
1 review
“Beautiful Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Brexton this past weekend and enjoyed my stay for the most part. I was right on the first floor, and my room was absolutely lovely, however, being placed right behind the from entrance, I heard the beeping of the door every time it was opened, which was a bit annoying, and especially while in the bathroom, I could hear all conversations and other noise going on in the lobby. Also, the last morning I was staying there, there was a constant, VERY loud alarm going in the lobby for quite some time, and again, being on that first floor behind the front desk, I could hear it going off all morning.
Luckily, the room was still beautiful and comfortable, and if it weren't for the noise from the lobby, I would have given this hotel an "excellent" rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the alarm and noise you experienced during your stay with us. We will look into the noise issue to ensure a restful night of sleep upon your return to the Brexton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    89
    24
    14
    22
See reviews for
41
160
35
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I used a Travelzoo voucher to stay during a weekend, and I had a nice stay at this hotel.

For me, this hotel was a nice balance charming older hotel and modern convenience. The upside to this being in an older building is that there are interesting architectural features and it does not look like most other hotel rooms in the US. The downside is that the bedrooms are a little smaller and the water going through the plumbing can be heard in other rooms.

If you are someone that wants the furniture and decor in a historic hotel to match the age of the building then this is not the hotel for you. The furnishings are fairly modern, which to me is an upside.

My bathroom was larger than average among my many chain hotel stays. The food at breakfast was not awesome but sufficient. I had a bagel and cream cheese. However, there is awesomeness which is the cappuccino-latte-mocha machine. It was fantastic and more than made up for the few food options.

Parking is first come, first served. Keep in mind a parking spot is not guaranteed and if there are events going on around the hotel street parking will fill up even on a weekend.

I had very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. Our modern decor in our historic hotel truly does make us unique. We are happy to hear your kind remarks regarding our hotel. Please stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We found this little gem on the Hotels Tonight App, and were pleasantly surprised by its ambience and charm. My wife is a big follower of English Royalty and their history and when we found out it was the childhood home of Wallace Simpson, the wife of King Edward VIII, we just had to stay there. It was a beautiful old hotel. The rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable and we had a great city view. Highly recommend it for a stay in Baltimore. Be aware that parking is very limited at the hotel, so make sure you call ahead or make arrangements with a public lot. They do alert you to this on the hotel website. Fortunately, we did not need a car while visiting the city so this was not an issue and you can walk to most of the downtown sites from this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for such a kind review. We take great pride in our hotel and it's rich history. We are delighted to hear of your appreciation for it's amazing history. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Comfortable bed, nice Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, Friendly and accommodating staff. Charming boutique hotel. Parking was a problem, we used a parking garage about a block and a half away. Continental breakfast consisted of coffee, a bagel and cereal. Price was decent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. We are sorry you were unable to park closer, but we are happy to hear your enjoyed our amazing amenities. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This Hotel continues to steal peoples money by offering hotel rooms on Living Social and then not allowing anyone to book a room. I can't review the hotel because even though the hotel was happy to take my $179 Dollars/night, they were not willing to offer us a room. We offered 5 months of weekends and not one was available. Not one. And then we continue to see this man offer Living Social Deals.

I don't care if this is a nice place to stay (from other reviews that is debatable) but for me, Honesty is not Negotiable. Stay Away from getting mugged by this disreputable hotel. Shame on them.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I am truly sorry you were unable to make a reservation for the weekend of your choice. Living Social vouchers have restrictions showing that they are subject to availability and we have a limit of how many we can take per day. These vouchers are valid for any day of the week but for some reason majority of the holders would like to use them over the weekend, which happens to be very busy. We are always flexible to give alternative weekends that we can confirm, but for those that have fixed dates and we don’t have availability it becomes hard to accommodate them. In your case we gave an alternative weekend date that we had availability, but it could not work for you. We are still willing to accept your voucher. We are truly sorry for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I had my heart set on this Hotel Brexton since we decided to take a trip to Baltimore; boutique hotels always feel cozier than chain varieties and more private than a B&B. The exterior is breathtaking, every little detail is worth noticing. The building is secure and the service is great. We were pleased with our room, we had a great view and enjoyed the spacious bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and it was nice to have a mini fridge & Keurig coffee maker in our room. I felt very safe here and could walk to several restaurants/bars around the area. The one caveat is the parking; if the hotel is busy, it's hard to get a parking spot. All in all, I look forward to returning!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We take great pride in our hotel, and we are so pleased to know you felt right at home with us. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Hotel Brexton, in the lovely Mt. Vernon neighborhood, is the perfect location for us in Baltimore, tucked away on a quiet side street away from the touristy Inner Harbor, close to great restaurants (and The Brewer's Art!), and an easy walk to many attractions and to the free Circulator bus route. So we were eager to try the Brexton for a weekend get-together with friends, and took advantage of a Travelzoo special to do so.
Everything about this place seemed mixed. The desk staff was very helpful and friendly, but the lobby cramped and cluttered. Our 4th floor room, with a nice view, was bright, spacious, and stylish with comfortable linens and a well-appointed bath (Gilchrist & Soames toiletries) But the cheap dresser and bedside tables were already scratched and had badly marred surfaces, which detracted from the overall ambience. There is no free WIFI, which even mid-range chains always offer, and which should certainly be available in a hotel advertising itself as a "luxury boutique" hotel. The in-the-room coffee was great (Keurig, enough for 2 cups each), but the basement breakfast room was dark and cramped, and the offerings certainly not up to par: bright green bananas, dry cereal, Yoplait, and plastic-wrapped bagels. (We went out.) We arrived around noon on a Saturday, which meant we were able to snag one of the four free first-come, first-serve parking places in front, a big plus, since we didn't need to move it until we checked out.
Baltimore has always been a tough hotel town, so the Brexton stacks up well in comparison with other hotels in the city, but is inconsistent and not up to the standards of other Historic Hotels of America or boutique hotels in general. Nevertheless, since it's a great location and a good value for Baltimore, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel gets a great view of the Belvidere; back is dead quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and thoughts about our hotel. We are so pleased to hear you will be returning. We will be sure to evaluate the guest room furniture to ensure they are up to quality. Thank you again, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Brexton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brexton

Address: 868 Park Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21201
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Brexton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Brexton - Truly Extraordinary. Decidedly Unique. Escape the ordinary and immerse yourself in first-class service and accommodations in our brand new boutique hotel located in the heart of Baltimore. Rich colors and a trendy atmosphere set the tone for a luxurious experience. Our charming and historic hotel offers business and leisure guests the ultimate in comfort and style. We invite you to reacquaint yourself with dedicated service on an intimate scale, recapture the romance of travel and delight in the art of individuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Brexton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brexton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.