We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had a very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brexton

Save Saved
You added Hotel Brexton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Brexton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   868 Park Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$129 (USD)
Ranked #32 of 69 hotels in Baltimore
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I had a very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I used a Travelzoo voucher to stay during a weekend, and I had a nice stay at this hotel.

For me, this hotel was a nice balance charming older hotel and modern convenience. The upside to this being in an older building is that there are interesting architectural features and it does not look like most other hotel rooms in the US. The downside is that the bedrooms are a little smaller and the water going through the plumbing can be heard in other rooms.

If you are someone that wants the furniture and decor in a historic hotel to match the age of the building then this is not the hotel for you. The furnishings are fairly modern, which to me is an upside.

My bathroom was larger than average among my many chain hotel stays. The food at breakfast was not awesome but sufficient. I had a bagel and cream cheese. However, there is awesomeness which is the cappuccino-latte-mocha machine. It was fantastic and more than made up for the few food options.

Parking is first come, first served. Keep in mind a parking spot is not guaranteed and if there are events going on around the hotel street parking will fill up even on a weekend.

I had very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. Our modern decor in our historic hotel truly does make us unique. We are happy to hear your kind remarks regarding our hotel. Please stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    83
    19
    14
    22
See reviews for
38
150
31
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We found this little gem on the Hotels Tonight App, and were pleasantly surprised by its ambience and charm. My wife is a big follower of English Royalty and their history and when we found out it was the childhood home of Wallace Simpson, the wife of King Edward VIII, we just had to stay there. It was a beautiful old hotel. The rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable and we had a great city view. Highly recommend it for a stay in Baltimore. Be aware that parking is very limited at the hotel, so make sure you call ahead or make arrangements with a public lot. They do alert you to this on the hotel website. Fortunately, we did not need a car while visiting the city so this was not an issue and you can walk to most of the downtown sites from this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for such a kind review. We take great pride in our hotel and it's rich history. We are delighted to hear of your appreciation for it's amazing history. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Comfortable bed, nice Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, Friendly and accommodating staff. Charming boutique hotel. Parking was a problem, we used a parking garage about a block and a half away. Continental breakfast consisted of coffee, a bagel and cereal. Price was decent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. We are sorry you were unable to park closer, but we are happy to hear your enjoyed our amazing amenities. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This Hotel continues to steal peoples money by offering hotel rooms on Living Social and then not allowing anyone to book a room. I can't review the hotel because even though the hotel was happy to take my $179 Dollars/night, they were not willing to offer us a room. We offered 5 months of weekends and not one was available. Not one. And then we continue to see this man offer Living Social Deals.

I don't care if this is a nice place to stay (from other reviews that is debatable) but for me, Honesty is not Negotiable. Stay Away from getting mugged by this disreputable hotel. Shame on them.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I am truly sorry you were unable to make a reservation for the weekend of your choice. Living Social vouchers have restrictions showing that they are subject to availability and we have a limit of how many we can take per day. These vouchers are valid for any day of the week but for some reason majority of the holders would like to use them over the weekend, which happens to be very busy. We are always flexible to give alternative weekends that we can confirm, but for those that have fixed dates and we don’t have availability it becomes hard to accommodate them. In your case we gave an alternative weekend date that we had availability, but it could not work for you. We are still willing to accept your voucher. We are truly sorry for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I had my heart set on this Hotel Brexton since we decided to take a trip to Baltimore; boutique hotels always feel cozier than chain varieties and more private than a B&B. The exterior is breathtaking, every little detail is worth noticing. The building is secure and the service is great. We were pleased with our room, we had a great view and enjoyed the spacious bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and it was nice to have a mini fridge & Keurig coffee maker in our room. I felt very safe here and could walk to several restaurants/bars around the area. The one caveat is the parking; if the hotel is busy, it's hard to get a parking spot. All in all, I look forward to returning!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We take great pride in our hotel, and we are so pleased to know you felt right at home with us. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Hotel Brexton, in the lovely Mt. Vernon neighborhood, is the perfect location for us in Baltimore, tucked away on a quiet side street away from the touristy Inner Harbor, close to great restaurants (and The Brewer's Art!), and an easy walk to many attractions and to the free Circulator bus route. So we were eager to try the Brexton for a weekend get-together with friends, and took advantage of a Travelzoo special to do so.
Everything about this place seemed mixed. The desk staff was very helpful and friendly, but the lobby cramped and cluttered. Our 4th floor room, with a nice view, was bright, spacious, and stylish with comfortable linens and a well-appointed bath (Gilchrist & Soames toiletries) But the cheap dresser and bedside tables were already scratched and had badly marred surfaces, which detracted from the overall ambience. There is no free WIFI, which even mid-range chains always offer, and which should certainly be available in a hotel advertising itself as a "luxury boutique" hotel. The in-the-room coffee was great (Keurig, enough for 2 cups each), but the basement breakfast room was dark and cramped, and the offerings certainly not up to par: bright green bananas, dry cereal, Yoplait, and plastic-wrapped bagels. (We went out.) We arrived around noon on a Saturday, which meant we were able to snag one of the four free first-come, first-serve parking places in front, a big plus, since we didn't need to move it until we checked out.
Baltimore has always been a tough hotel town, so the Brexton stacks up well in comparison with other hotels in the city, but is inconsistent and not up to the standards of other Historic Hotels of America or boutique hotels in general. Nevertheless, since it's a great location and a good value for Baltimore, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel gets a great view of the Belvidere; back is dead quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and thoughts about our hotel. We are so pleased to hear you will be returning. We will be sure to evaluate the guest room furniture to ensure they are up to quality. Thank you again, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Room was nice enough, but nothing makes up for the fact that they do not provide adequate heating! The room thermostat was set at 80, but it was nowhere near that in the room. Somehow we managed to stay warm under the covers, but that's not was prompted my bad review - the bathroom was totally unheated, and therefore was as cold as an ICEBOX. We kept the door closed so as to keep as much heat as possible in the sleeping area, but each time we had to use the bathroom it was like walking into an ICEBOX. In the morning I woke up early and called the front desk to ask them to bring a portable heater - the guy told me that "it's an old hotel, so it's to be expected", but he would try to see if he could call housekeeping and get us a portable heater. In the meantime he told us to turn on the hot water to heat up the bathroom in that way. The heater never came, and needless to say, all the surfaces in the bathroom became sopping wet. When I finally had enough and got dressed and went to the front desk I was told that the "night guy" was gone. The new guy opened a closet next to front desk, took out a heater and came to our room and plugged it in. In addition, the coffee machine was broken, and there was no shampoo in the bathroom, which I would normally just shrug off if it wasn't for the fact that I am so upset about the bathroom situation. For what they charge for a room, I could have stayed at the Marriott or other some such, and gotten my money's worth at least.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I sincerely apologize for all of these problems, and can assure you this matter will be looked into so another guest doesn't have to go through such an ordeal. Please feel free to contact me to discuss this matter further. Your experience is not indicative of the high standards of service to which we hold ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Brexton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brexton

Address: 868 Park Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 69 hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Brexton 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Brexton - Truly Extraordinary. Decidedly Unique. Escape the ordinary and immerse yourself in first-class service and accommodations in our brand new boutique hotel located in the heart of Baltimore. Rich colors and a trendy atmosphere set the tone for a luxurious experience. Our charming and historic hotel offers business and leisure guests the ultimate in comfort and style. We invite you to reacquaint yourself with dedicated service on an intimate scale, recapture the romance of travel and delight in the art of individuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Brexton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brexton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.