We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast ever in the US” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   637 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, MD 21230   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever in the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Here's a review for European visitors who suffer from the underprovision of breakfast in American hotels. Try this B&B where you'll get the nicest food you'll eat all day. You'll also get a nice comfortable quiet room and a reception which is a nicely judged combination of friendliness and leaving you to your own devices. This is a lovely spacious old house and a great base for exploring Baltimore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
173
17
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our stay in this lovely old house (1798) was enhanced by the friendliness and culinary talents of our hostess and the historical information shared by her co-host. We were too busy to take advantage of the lovely patio and library but enjoyed passing through them. Though the house was an easy walk from the Inner Harbor, it was very quiet and peaceful. Looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: We appreciated having the ground floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This charming B&B is conveniently located within walking distance of Camden Yards, bars, restaurants, shopping and Water Taxi of Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Norman is truly a gracious host who provided an informative and interesting history of this beautifully restored house in the lovely Ridgely's Delight neighborhood. A short walk takes you to the nearby Babe Ruth Birthplace and Museum and area restaurants, including a cozy wine bistro with good food and extensive selection of wines. With comfortable rooms, tasty homemade breakfasts, safe parking and wifi, this is truly a great find. We look forward to returning again and again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I can only echo what so many others have said in their reviews: this B&B is special. Our room was large and comfortable, with 2 large windows facing Washington Avenue - we didn't hear any street noise at night. The location suited us - close enough to Inner Harbor to walk, yet in what appears to be a family friendly neighborhood. The breakfasts were delicious and suited us fine. Each morning we had fruit and nuts with yoghurt, followed by a baked casserole of eggs and sausage, quite tasty. Some people may wish for a larger breakfast, with more choices or courses, as in England. Tish was very helpful and friendly without being overbearing. If we visit Baltimore again, we'll be staying here, that's for sure. Our second night, we went to the Corner Bistro for dinner. When the owner heard we were staying at Rachael's, he said that he would take good care of us, and he did, providing us with a couple of free extras that were appreciated.

Room Tip: When you reserve a room, you will receive an email with directions. Make certain you follow them, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I very much enjoyed our first stay at Rachael’s Dowry, and we look forward to the next. We planned this 2-night stay to attend the Orioles’ opening day game. Rachael’s Dowry is located in a quaint residential, historical district of Baltimore called Ridgely’s Delight and is within an easy walk to Camden Yards (and M&T Bank Stadium), Inner Harbor, and other downtown locations. Tish was the perfect host, was very accommodating, and we enjoyed her gracious hospitality and conversation as well as her deliciously prepared breakfast. Rachael’s Dowry is a beautifully restored and appointed house, and we had a charming room and bath with modern conveniences (WiFi, Dish cable TV, gas fireplace). We ate at a neighborhood restaurant, The Corner Bistro, for a great meal and nice evening. Rachael’s Dowry is a great place for a pleasurable weekday/weekend getaway or for a relaxing environment on a business trip to downtown Baltimore or the Convention Center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wonderful stay at Rachael's! Spent the weekend in Baltimore before heading to DC for a conference. Great area of downtown; within easy walking distance of Inner Harbor and other downtown attractions, as well as numerous restaurants and bars. LOVED the house and especially my room. Norm gave me a wonderful history lesson on the house when I arrived. The amenities in the room were great; felt like I was staying at a 5-star hotel! Very quiet at night; there is a sound machine to block out street noise at night, but I didn't need it. Breakfast was wonderful! I highly recommend Rachael's Dowry to anyone staying in downtown Baltimore. I know I will be staying here the next time I am in Baltimore, for sure!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Randolph room, which looks out over the courtyard. Very quiet and private. LOVED t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I extremely enjoyed our one night stay at Rachael's Dowry. We stayed in the Randoph Room and it was very accommodating. We could not ask for a better location in Baltimore, as we attended the Orioles game at Camden and we enjoyed walking to the Inner Harbor. We will not stay anywhere else but here when we return to Baltimore.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast

Address: 637 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, MD 21230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown B&B across the street from Oriole Park,close to Convention Center, M&T Stadium and the Inner Harbor. Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast is the premiere Bed and Breakfast in Baltimore, MD. The best quality Lodging, Inn, Motel, Hotel, Bed Breakfast, Country Inn, Travel, Bed and Breakfasts & Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.