We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem within an inner city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast
637 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, MD 21230   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$129 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 18 Baltimore B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Weston, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A gem within an inner city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have just returned from our second memorable stay at Rachael's Dowry. This delightful B&B has been lovingly restored and decorated and deservedly earned its 2011 Baltimore Heritage Historic Preservation Reward. Situated downtown, it faces a series of row houses which transport you back to the time of its construction in 1796. Our first stay, on the third floor, was in the lovely Randolph Room, overlooking the back courtyard and its ancient heritage magnolia, with a small but serviceable bath. Our recent stay was in the second floor Letitia Mae Suite, with charming accommodations, a large newly renovated bathroom and a balcony overlooking the courtyard. Both rooms have fireplaces and hold family heirlooms. The library and front parlor are comfortably appointed and relaxing after a busy day. Breakfasts, which were tastefully presented, varied and sufficienty filling to keep us content until dinner, were served in an inviting dining room conducive to sharing experiences with fellow travellers. Tish and Norman are gracious and knowledgeable inn keepers with many suggestions for area dining, sights to see and places to visit. We found the location, with its available parking, to be but a short walk to the Convention Center where we attended the American Craft Council Show. It is also within walking distance of the Inner Harbor and public transportation. One will rarely find such a gem within an inner city. It could easily become a home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
162
16
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Going "home" at night to Rachel's Dowry was like returning to the house I wish I grew up in (but didnt!). The B&B strikes the perfect balance between between friendly without being intrusive. Somehow Tish, the inn keeper, miraculously appears when you need her but is otherwise out of sight and observant of her guests' privacy. On a seemingly modest street, the interior of the house stands out as having been meticulously restored, with tasteful furnishings, and not a spot of dust or dirt (how do they do that?).

From the gracious emails exchanged while in the process of making a reservation to the cheerful and helpful communication I enjoyed while arriving and then staying at Rachel's Dowry I give this Inn a wholehearted endorsement. It is not only a lovely and quiet house, of the period, but is well located to the Convention Center with its attendant transporation, both public and taxis. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and served in a lovely room.

Do not hesitate if you are looking for a charming, peaceful and attractive place to stay with a host who is cheerful, friendly, informative and makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire UK
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I don't normally write reviews for things online, but after a very nice week at Rachael's Dowry whilst I was in Baltimore for work I feel that I can only add to the chorus of positive comments for this place.

The B&B is located in a historic terraced house, just on the edge of the city centre and within 5 minutes of the Convention Centre light rail stop. The area is quiet and seemed quite safe. Nearby is a lovely and friendly bistro that was recommended for dinner.

The house itself has been beautifully and carefully restored, and is quiet. The rooms are large (mine was supposedly the cheapest but would put more expensive places to shame) and clean. There is a good library of books to read plus 'help yourself' drinks. Tish and Norman are excellent hosts, attentive and welcoming but not at all intrusive. Breakfast was a delight, different each morning but always delicious. I'd have no hesitation in recommending the B&B or returning again one day.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Randolph room, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Being our first trip to Balimore, we chose Rachael's Dowry for it's proximity to the France-Merrick Performing Arts Center (Hippodrome) on a one night stay to see the wonderful "Beauty and the Beast". We had planned to walk to the theater, but the snow changed our mind. Our unfamiliarity with the layout of Baltimore also changed our mind on the walk, but regardless, the choice of Rachael's Dowry was definitely the right one. We stayed in the Odorian Room and was very pleasently surprised with the comfort of the room and the included fireplace. Although it was not a real fire, it still provided the atmosphere and warmth on that chilly night. The other amenities were very welcome, especially the white noise machine in the room. There was no "noise" to drown out, but we usually use a fan to create the background noise to help us sleep. The Sound Stream machine that was included in the room is so nice that I have already ordered one for home!
Tish left out brandy in the wonderful library and wine in the dining room to warm us up as we returned from the show and served up a delicious breakfast in the morning. All in all, a wonderful stay and Rachael's Dowry is on our permanent list.
Make sure that you follow the provided directions to the parking area. I've never seen so many one way streets in my life! The old "you can't get there from here" sure does play in Baltimore. Perfect directions though. Luckily they are within walking distance of stadiums, the Inner Harbor and many other Baltimore attractions.
We look forward to coming back in warmer weather to take advantage of the courtyard and the other wonderful things that Baltimore has to offer.

Room Tip: I'm sure that all the rooms are wonderful. We hope to return to stay in each one of them eventu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at Rachael's for one night this week while visiting Johns Hopkins Hospital, and were warmly welcomed. Norman was a gracious and helpful host, arranging taxis, and making an early breakfast for us. All the necessities/amenities were provided (hair dryer, WiFi). Our room was immaculate, spacious and comfortable, and the antiques throughout the house appeared to me to be very nice and in keeping with this historic old home. We had a good dinner 2 blocks away at the Corner Bistro (very good crabcakes). and were at Johns Hopkins in 10 minutes and $10 by cab. A perfectly pleasant stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

caitlinst123@gmail.com

We stayed at Rachael's Dowry last weekend, and we just loved it. It's a beautiful place, well appointed, quiet, comfortable, great breakfast. Lovely! We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Audrey Genevieve is a terrific room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I recently traveled back to Baltimore to spend a few relaxing days alone before the hustle and bustle of the holiday season. Being a native Baltimorean, I know that there are many quality places to stay in the city. But, being innkeepers ourselves, we are very picky about where we spend the night.
Having met Norman, one of the innkeepers, before he opened the Inn, and watching the restoration and eventual opening from afar - we were anxious to see for ourselves. Rachael's Dowry did not disappoint! It is a wonderfully restored property with luxurious beds, comfortable bathrooms, and wonderful common areas to mingle with other guests. Norman and his sister, Tish, are the most gracious hosts, greeting us at the parking lot and giving us a short historic and architectural tour before showing us to our room. Tish was quick to recommend a place to eat - and we discovered the Corner Bistro and Wine Bar just around the corner. The Inn is convenient to everything - we walked to M&T Bank Stadium to watch my Ravens beat the New York Giants. The next day we walked to Lexington Market for a trip down memory lane and Faidley's crabcakes.
That weekend, I remembered how much I miss Baltimore - and hope to return more often to visit. When we do - we will choose Rachael's Dowry as our home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast

Address: 637 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, MD 21230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown Baltimore Bed and Breakfast close to Oriole Park, Convention Center and the Inner Harbor. Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast is the premiere Bed and Breakfast in Baltimore, MD. The best quality Lodging, Inn, Motel, Hotel, Bed Breakfast, Country Inn, Travel, Bed and Breakfasts & Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.