We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B Jewel in Baltimore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast
637 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, MD 21230   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
PARKING SPECIAL
Ranked #1 of 18 Baltimore B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“B&B Jewel in Baltimore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I just finished spending three most excellent night's at Rachael's Dowry, while following our somewhat down and out Blue Jays, against the fired-up home town Orioles. This lovely 1790 Colonial house, tucked into an historic and quiet little residential enclave, three minutes (if that!) from Camden Yards, fullfilled and surpassed our expectations. Host Tish Bohner provided a most warm and genuine welcome upon arrival and it did not end until we arrived home, when a lovely email of thanks was received. The room was excellent, with a fabulously comfortable king sized bed and it overlooked the rear courtyard, where we managed to take a daily glass of red, after exploring the wonderfully refurbished harbour area of Baltimore and beyond. Tish recommended a couple of local, off-the-beaten path bar/bistros a block or two from the house and dished up inventive and delicious breakfasts each of our three mornings. A glass of brandy or wine, on the hourse, was a nice little touch. We cannot recommend this place enough, so whatever your reasons for landing in Baltimore, you will be wholly satisfied by a stay at Rachael's Dowry! Bob & Rosemary Miller, Hamilton, ON

Room Tip: Express your preferences to Tish or Norman and they will steer you in the right direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
153
14
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just returned from a weekend in Baltimore where we had a wonderful stay at this B & B. The house dates back to the late 1700's and is beautiful, well-maintained and filled with antiques. The innkeepers (Norman and Tish) are very personable and helpful. The location is fabulous, on a quiet, tree-lined street, but only half a block from Camden Yards, and in walking distance of the Inner Harbor and commuter train. We flew in to BWI and never needed a car, as the commuter train (Lite Rail) took us to within a few blocks of the B & B. If you love historic homes, this is the place to stay. Good breakfast (accomodated our special diets), nice outdoor courtyard, all the comforts you could want.

Room Tip: The front rooms are a bit larger and more formal. We peeked in most of the rooms and they're al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girard Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this B&B for two nights. We were impressed with all the history of the home and equally impressed with our host, Norman. He served us tasty breakfasts and was an excellent advisor on getting around Baltimore. After going to the Inner Harbor (by walking), the quiet ammenities of the inn were very welcome. We would recommend this inn for a stay in Baltimore to anyone who doesn't want to stay in a traditional hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich Qld Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We arrived in Baltimore and met by Norman and taken to our room. We walked into the turn of the century and just loved the whole room. Breakfast was a special highlight as we were able to spend time with our host and guests in a relaxed atmosphere. Norman was able to share a lot of knowledge. On the way to our room was the library. How lovely just to sit and look at the titles.
Each night we returned from our sightseeing local and in Washington, we opened the door to a beautiful armoma and the music playing in the front room. The wall clock situtated on the first floor, was so well maintained and a welcomed sight.
Outside the garden area was a pleasure to relax and listen to the birds and the occassional roaming cat (which we found out, was Normans). We were so honoured to meet Tish, and, to listen to her love of the house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from our two night stay at this wonderful b & b. This was my first time at a bed and breakfast and I couldn't have been more pleased! Tish greeted us in the parking lot, as we had forgotten to print our parking pass. We were given a tour of this beautiful house, furnished with period pieces, as well as a guide with map of the immediate area and suggested sites. Our room, the Odorian Room, was quaint with a large beautiful four poster bed, a large bathroom, fireplace, even an additional sink/wash area. Each evening there was wine, brandy and the best cookies I have ever tasted! Each morning was an incredibly delicious breakfast, made and served by Tish herself. The ambience was so warm and inviting, the service was exceptional. I cant say enough good things about my first b & b experience or say anything that another reviewer hasn't already, except that I plan on returning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We arrived in Baltimore on our way to Washington DC intending to take a day to explore and learn about Baltimore. We looked at options for lodging in the area and this immediately appealed to our tastes. The home is beautiful restored and rich in history. It has close proximity to the harbor area and Camden Yards. We even jumped on the water ferry and headed out to Fort McHenry. After a hot day of seeing the sights it was delightful to cool off and relax in the comfortable and inviting drawing room. The library is also full of interesting reading on local Baltimore history, Edgar Allen Poe and historical home remodeling. The owners were extremely helpful and knowledgeable and took the time to assist us in planning our day of sightseeing and eating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Rachael's Dowry was absolutely wonderful!!! We had our 20 guest intimate wedding at the Inn and everything was just perfect. The innkeepers were great and worked with us to make sure that eveything was just how we needed it to be. We rented out all the rooms for two nights and out of town guests stayed at the inn, they had nothing but positive things to stay and they all felt so spoiled by the end of the trip. Rachael's Dowry was a dream come true for us and we highly reccomend it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast

Address: 637 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, MD 21230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown Baltimore Bed and Breakfast close to Oriole Park, Convention Center and the Inner Harbor. Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast is the premiere Bed and Breakfast in Baltimore, MD. The best quality Lodging, Inn, Motel, Hotel, Bed Breakfast, Country Inn, Travel, Bed and Breakfasts & Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.