We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing happy hour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talara - CLOSED

Talara
615 President St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4472 (Little Italy)
410-528-9883
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Tapas, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Cross street: Fleet Street & President Street
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing happy hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Talara is a very special place in the middle of Harbor East! They have a wonderful happy hour with drinks and $5 tapas. Try the Blackened Chicken Tostadas, and you will be in heaven! The staff is also very friendly and welcoming. This place is ready to move higher on the TripAdvisor hit parade!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    58
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Tapas and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

A surprisingly, great restaurant attached to the Homewood Suites hotel. The Tapas was delicious, I wish we had ordered more. The prices were a little high, but it's seafood. I will definitely be back to try more on the menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great service and lively atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I really enjoyed Talar's "Seviche" make your own creations concept. Very refreshing options. Add in delicious entrees, excellent service, and a lively but not too loud atmosphere and Talara was big hit. I also loved the very walkable neighborhood near my hotel. Highly recommended if you are in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tremendous Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I LOVE THIS PLACE. The food is fresh, portions are great and there is something on the menu for all!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A Tapas - Sushi Fushion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

“Tapas and Sushi under the same roof’
We got our money’s worth with the travelzoo voucher and would come back even without a voucher. If you’re in the mood for small plate tapas, but also have a taste for sushi you can get them both here along with entrees with a Latin flare. Our server was helpful in her menu recommendations to help us maximize our voucher value. For the tapas appetizer we tried and would recommend the sesame ginger sparerib and mussels tapas. For the entrée we ordered the Crispy Duck and Rib Eye, which was perfectly cooked. The meat just fell off the spareribs and the skin on the duck was super crispy and the duck 2 quarter portions would be enough to split between two people. Our Sopapillas for desert were light and flaky and served with three flavors of ice cream. With the large tapas portion, two people can easily be satisfied with 2-3 selections and skip any entree.

The sushi menu looked intriguing with unusual ingredients that we’ll have to try on a return visit.

The restaurant is adjacent to two hotels, but has no parking except for the garage parking in the building that services the hotels and other restaurants in the vicinity. Remember to get the parking validated for $5 parking when visiting and can follow the garage directions to the hotels and through the lobby to the restaurant for a more direct route.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talara also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.