We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Beat It!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Salto

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Salto
757 Indian Boundary Road, Baltimore, MD 46304
(219) 395-9890
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #299 of 1,805 Restaurants in Baltimore
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Can't Beat It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This little Parkville wonder is in North Plaza Shopping Center (there seem to be a couple around Maryland). The food is rather authentic in a fast food sort of setting. Service is quick, prices are low, dishes are tasty. We've eaten in Old Town Sand Diego, CA, and this is rather close. Although the salsa is a bit thin in texture, the warm tortillas make up for it. We had enchiladas and quesadillas over the last couple of years. Excellent and always worth going back for.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Can't Believe It Took So Long to Get There!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Passed by this place a million times in the 10 years I lived in Parkville. On a whim we went there and are hooked. The food and service are outstanding. Great value as well

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“authentic adn delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Located in a former fast food restaurant, El Salto is like the little restaurant that could. The food is traditional mexican (NOT TEXMEX), cheap and fast. The staff is super-efficient and friendly (althought some patrons might have trouble understanding the accented english, if you pay attention you'll have no problem. My husband and I always get a combo platter, and for under $10, are stuffed by the time we're half way through. My only caviat to a glowing review is that the wine/sangria is not very good. Stick to beer and you'll become a regular, guaranteed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, maryland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Average Tex Mex”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I see there are two of these on TA. I think this is the original. The food here is average, but it is served hot. The prices are cheap and the service good. Because of that, the restaurant is often busy with families. No reservations. Just a waiting line. The location is an old fast food establishment, redone. The restaurant has been there for years now. It's not much on ambience, but it's good for a fairly quick, decent, inexpensive, mexican style meal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistently Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

El Salto is nothing short of yummy and never failing, always gut filling portions that leave your pockets happy! Texas sized drinks are not overpriced and the salsa n chips served before your meal is always fresh. I adore their enchiladas while hubby claps his hands like a baby when they bring out his flaming hot Fajita plate. He always asks, "how do they make it sizzle like that?" And before you know it, his mouth transforms into a Hoover suction and the food is sucked down, Olympic style...in seconds.
This is truly one of our tried and true places in Baltimore. El Salto es muy fantastico for category: Value Meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Salto also viewed

 

Been to El Salto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Salto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.