We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and fresh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kooper's Tavern

Kooper's Tavern
1702 Thames Street, Baltimore, MD 21231-341 (Fells Point)
(410) 563-5423
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 1,672 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Fells Point
Cross street: S Broadway
Haworth, New Jersey
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good and fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a leisurely lunch. We sat out side and the hostess was kind enough to adjust the umbrella so we had a bit more shade. Ordered the salad nicoise and the lamb veal burger. Both were delicious, with very fresh ingredients. The tuna on the salad was very fresh (with a generous portion) and the egg was a poached egg, much to my husband's delight. Service was good and attentive and we both had a lovely time. Would definitely try this restaurant again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    93
    28
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great casual place to eat in Fell's Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Ate here last week when in Baltimore for a conference. I sat at the upstairs bar near the windows, which was great as you could see the boats going by in the harbor. I think this restaurant is best known for its burgers, but I was there on Friday night and on Fridays they apparently do fish tacos as one of their specials. The bartender said he recommended them, and I ordered some with blackened grouper as the main filling. They were probably the best fish tacos I've ever had. I liked the food and the relaxed atmosphere. I would go back if I'm ever in town again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Burgers Galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Made a quick stop for lunch before heading to the airport. Each of us got different burgers - turkey, beef and vegan and they were all very very good. Loved the outside seating in front of tavern. One of the employees, did not get his name was very friendly. I think he may have been a manager. He explained that Kooper was the name of the owners dog. The dog greeted the patrons inside the tavern daily for many years until he passed away. And the burgers are all named after local dogs. Loved the place and will go back. While we were eating there was a film crew down the street filming "House of Cards" - fun to watch.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
685 reviews 685 reviews
478 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Burgers!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I haven't had any of this place's dinner entrees before, but I've tried several of their lunch specials. But these items are not what you should be looking for when you're at Kooper's Tavern.

Kooper's Tavern is the place to be if you're looking for a great and juicy burger. Build your own or trust in their specialty burgers. Either way works and will likely give you the satisfaction you're looking for.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food & service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great choice for reasonably priced food in Fells point. Very comfortable atmosphere. Service was outstanding. They offer 1/2 portions on the entrees. Crab cakes were some of the best we tried on Baltimore.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kooper's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Kooper's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kooper's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.