We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a cold, dreary week in Baltimore, I felt like I had a home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #5 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glendale, California
1 review
“On a cold, dreary week in Baltimore, I felt like I had a home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

I stay at the Kimpton hotels whenever I can, and this is one example of why. The airline lost my bag and promised to have it delivered overnight. Needless to say, the bag did not come and I was faced with the prospect of attending a business meeting in my travel clothes from the previous day. When I shared this with the housekeeper, she quietly left the room and came back with a bag of toiletries. I was hesitating going to my meeting, but the housekeeper told me that I would feel better after showering and that my blouse could be pressed and I would look just fine. She was right. I made the meeting and was able to get through the day thanks to her.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    276
    89
    34
    15
See reviews for
187
451
70
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Market, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

It's rare to find a hotel offering boutique ambiance, great staff, facilities and services at a price that is affordable. Granted we took advantage of a special rate, but I believe this hotel offers services and facilities equal to those at a much higher price point. The hotel is located about three blocks from the inner harbor with attractions, restaurants and shopping as well as sports a colocated restaurant that rivals the best in Baltimore. The hotel is in the old B&O railroad headquarters building with impressive marble staircase entryway and comfortable lobby with fireplace. This will be our first choice for weekend getaways in Baltimore going forward.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

I stayed in this hotel last October when it had only been opened a couple of months and was not too impressed. It was definitely ironing out some kinks. But I wanted to go to Baltimore the Sat-Sun after Thanksgiving to visit someone and attend a concert and ended up with this hotel on Hotwire at a great price. I loved it this time around - I got the promised amenities in my bathroom, everything worked and the service was impeccable. Liked the continental breakfast coupons you receive now too. I ate in the restaurant and it was excellent although I did not care for their desserts much. It is truly a peaceful, elegant environment and I loved reading in the 'living room' having a cup of tea in the evening. Room was beautiful, immaculate and service outstanding. Great location. I am not sure why some people post as though the Inner Harbor was miles away - it is around a 5-10 minute walk just not on top of it which is fine with me. The Circulator is a fabulous addition for tourist - and it is free!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

This is the best hotel on the innerharbor. The rooms are spacious with high ceilings. Nice large king bed. Only complaint with the room was the desk was a little banged up. Service was very good. Appreciated the wine tastings. ONly complaint was that the bell hops could have been a little more helpful and offered to carry bags etc. Still a great place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Got this Hotel on priceline for 70/night. Worth paying the regular room rate! Very nice, clean, contemporary designed hotel. It's located in the central business district - both good and bad. Parking was a breeze - left around the corner there is an underground parking garage marked with a yellow "hotel parking" sign. 7.75/night on the weekend - well, in after 4 out before 9 AM. If not, it's 15.50. Still much better than the 43/night valet!

It's close to both fells point and federal hill, but both are about a $10-$12 cab ride each way.

Sign up for the rewards program. That gives you free wifi and $10 in mini bar credit! We got the free coffee every morning and also went down for "hot chocholate" hour. We missed the wine hour, but it sounded like a lot of fun.

Definately try this place out next time you are staying in Baltimore!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco_Baltimore, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Glad to here you enjoyed your stay at the Monaco. I opened the property a little more than a year ago with a great group of Baltimore’s best. When visiting us again, a great way around the city is to jump on the Circulator. We currently have three routes that crisscross the city and a fourth will be added soon. Thanks again for sharing your stay with me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Xceptional service and friendliness. Rroms were beautiful and loved our pet foldfish.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

This is a lovely hotel in the heart of Baltimore. The original architecture has been beautifully maintained and highlighted, yet the spacious rooms have been recently renovated with a modern design.

The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The location is central with easy access to public transportation and within walking distance to the harbor-front area. Just a short walk to the light rail to get to the airport too.

We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Baltimore.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Hotel Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Hotel Monaco Baltimore surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.