We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #5 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great rooms and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have stayed in 15 different hotels in 10 different states in the last few months and this been the best room I have seen in any location. The height of the ceiling in the rooms was unexpected and made such a difference on the feel of the room. The shower was large and decor was amazing. I travel to Baltimore a few times a year and I will not consider any other hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear pjevin:

Thank you for staying with us.
Great to read you had a such an amazing stay.
We look forward to your return.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    276
    89
    34
    15
See reviews for
187
451
70
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I booked this hotel without knowing much about it. I was traveling with my 14 yr old daughter her 14 yr old friend and her mom. It was a girls get away. We were taken back by the beautiful architecture and furnishings in the lobby.

The staff was exceptional when we checked in...Tamika was quite helpful and plesant. We booked 2 rooms, unfortunately they were very far apart on the same floor. Down different hallways, too far for the moms to be from the kids room.

We went to the lobby to inquire about our dilemma and Vernon went above and beyond to be helpful to us. He upgraded one of our rooms to be across the hall from our girls.....he was terrific!

The hotel also offers wine and appetizers from 5 to 6. It was lovely to sit in the lobby. We also played board games that the hotel offered.

Highly recommend this hotel. Walking distance to all. Great staff. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Bunk room has 2 double beds and a separate room with a bunk bed, tv and video games. Great for famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear rishkel3

Sounds like you had a great girls weekend.
I am glad that Vernon and Tamika took such great care of you.
We hope you join us again soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Hotel Monaco in Baltimore resides in a beautiful historic building in downtown. It can be a little confusing when you enter at street level and there is no lobby or reception counter visible. You will find those on the second floor, up a grand staircase or elevator. I arrived late at night and would have been very confused had there not been somebody stationed near the entrance to point me in the right direction. Like most of the other Kimpton hotels that I have visited, the decor at the Hotel Monaco is tasteful, elegant, and maybe a little quirky. In the interest of security, to reach the floors where the guest rooms are, you must use your key card in the elevator before it will take you up.

Rooms are spacious and comfortable, with a large main room that includes a comfortable stuffed chair as well as a desk and office chair for those needing to get some work done during their visit. The bed was very comfortable, as they always seem to be at Kimpton hotels. One feature that I found very nice was a power strip on the bed stand and the work desk that included multiple 120V outlets as well as USB charging ports. It can be difficult to find spare outlets at some hotels, but that's not a problem here. The bathroom was plenty large and nicely appointed, although the shower fixtures weren't quite as nice as I expected. Towels were very good quality, and I especially appreciated the well-lit mirror.

The location is within walking distance to many local restaurants. I didn't stay long enough to try very many of them or to see much else, but the location seems favorable to me. During my few interactions with the staff, I found them to be helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a nice place to stay in Baltimore that has more character than some of the larger chains, the Hotel Monaco is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear PlazMan:

Thank you for your kind words.
I am glad you found the location and functionality of the property to your liking.
We work hard to ensure all the details are taken care so all you need to do is relax.
We hope you join us again soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had a Kimpton Hotel gift certificate to use, so we decided to use it on a quick weekend trip to Baltimore.

We spent one night at the Monaco Baltimore, and our gift certificate covered the cost of the room (but not parking or breakfast). It's a very nice looking hotel, situated in an historic but completely updated and remodeled building. There's a restaurant on the first floor, which we didn't try, and a stylishly designed reception room on the second floor. Easy check-in and check-out, wireless available but not included in our rate, and valet parking available -- though, not necessary, as there's a large 24 hour public parking garage adjacent to the building.

Our room was large, well appointed and designed, very comfortable and quiet. I could have easily stayed there for an extended period of time.

Walking out the hotel, turn left and you head up North Charles Street. There's lots of restaurant choices (including Cazbar) and some shopping, and just about 1/2 a mile (or 10 minutes walk) away, you come to Mount Vernon square/park and Baltimore's Washington Monument. There are some wonderful 19th century architecture to be found here, in particular the Mount Vernon Place United Methodist Church.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Adam F:

Thank you for sharing your review with the TA community.
Great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and our location, our location is pefect to experience all that charm city has to offer. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

If you are coming to Baltimore for a Yankees Game, like us, or for a little getaway, you must try this Hotel. Professional Staff, clean outstanding rooms with all the amenities. Walking distance to everything and parking around the corner for $15 a day, if you park it yourself. They also have valet if you don't mind paying but they park it in the same lot. Free WI-FI and many other extra's.
We love the Inner Harbor and you can get a Yellow Cab to all the sites if you want for $5-$6. The price was reasonable for a night and it was well worth the price. 5 Stars!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Gregmonte13:

Thank you for the five star review.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay!
We look forward to your return.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I was very impressed with my recent stay at the Monaco Baltimore. The staff met my expectations. The rooms thoroughly exceeded my expectations. The rooms were gigantic. The ceiling were extremely high, and the bathroom were excellently appointed.

Room Tip: There are lots of cheaper parking garages nearby compared to the valet at the hotel, if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Coh1970:

Glad we exceeded your expectations!
You will have to come back soon so we can knock your socks off again.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were in town with our adult kids and grandchild to visit the National Aquarium and see the Orioles play the Yankees at Camden Yards (both are less than a mile away from the hotel). Back in mid-April when we were looking for a room, the Kimpton web site said that they were booked. We found an awesome deal at Hotelsclick.com ($132.25/night) that was almost half off the regular rate. Back to the hotel...When we arrived early on Saturday morning (9:45AM), the desk clerks were quick and accommodating. When the rooms were available, the desk clerks called us to let us know. Upon entering the room, we were pleasantly surprised at how well it was appointed and how comfortable the bed was. Excellent experience all around.

Room Tip: Join the Kimpton Loyalty Rewards Program to get free in-room wifi and a free $10 credit to the mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Swedesboro S:

Thank you for your kind words.
Glad you enojyed your stay. I will share your great review with our entire team.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Hotel Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Hotel Monaco Baltimore surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.