We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable anniversary stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade Your Stay
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Newtown, PA
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
422 helpful votes 422 helpful votes
“A memorable anniversary stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I decided to get the "Sweet Suite Deal" for our Friday night visit. For an excellent hotel, this was a great promotion. For $195 we got an upgrade to the beautiful Mediterranean Suite, complimentary bottle of champagne, chocolate truffles, and the best part was a 4pm checkout the next day.

This was our second time here and we knew it was a nice place. Staff is super friendly and helpful. The Mediterranean Suite is a large two room suite with a huge bathroom including the Fuji whirlpool tub. We had a corner room on the 14th floor with a nice view of the city.

Being a Kimpton In-Touch member we received the usual perks like free internet, complimentary wine hour and a $10 voucher to raid the mini-bar.

The fitness center was plenty big enough to get in a quality workout. Valet parking was $38. We did room service for breakfast and was impressed how good the food was.

Room Tip: If you can get a deal on the Mediterranean Suite go for it. It's a two room suite with a huge ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear relayer:

Thank you for the kind words.
It was great to read you got to take advantage of the suite sweet deal. It really is an awesome deal for those who like to pamper themselves. I will be sure to share your review with our entire team. We look forward to seeing you soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    293
    99
    36
    17
See reviews for
196
484
72
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

It's an impressive 100+ year building with lots of historic clues from the old B&O railway days, but they also did a nice job when converting it into a hotel less than 10 years ago. Business services was impeccable, and the rooms are large, comfy, modern yet historic and cosy. The only reason I can not give it 5 stars is due to the restaurant, which is owned and run by Kimpton, hence it's part of the experience. Service was less than stellar (forgot to replace cutlery on second course, brought the wrong wine, forgot orders), extremely slow, but the quality of the food was great. I was there with a larger business group and many of us shared this view.
Two from our group experienced "strange noises" during the night, and they found out the next morning that you can find a number of "haunted house" experiences about this place on google...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear JMS,

Thank you for staying with us.
I appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share it with our team.
it was great to read how much you enjoyed your hotel stay and the history the building.
I am sorry we missed the mark a bit in the restaurant, be assured we will appropriately adress that with our team. We look forward to making your next stay a five star experience.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

I arranged a surprise night away for my husband and I for his birthday. When we checked in, the lady told us that she was upgrading our room and said happy birthday to my hubby. We went upstairs and there was a bottle of champagne on ice and a birthday cupcake waiting for us! The room was beautiful. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. We had booked dinner at an outside venue and the restaurant called to say they were closing due to inclement weather. We ate at the restaurant downstairs in the hotel and the food was fabulous, it also had a nice selection of beers. We had breakfast there the next morning and I had the best omelette I have EVER eaten (apart from my sister's). This is a fantastic hotel, I am already planning our next stay there!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Aoife O:

Thank you for the five star review and for celebrating your husbands birthday with us,
I will be sure to share your review with our entire team.
We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed at the Monaco Baltimore for one evening and was very impressed. The hotel itself is in a beautiful building that has been maintained very well. We stayed in a bunk bed room which is a great option that offers more space for those traveling with kids. The separate bunk bed room had its own tv and Xbox. The room was clean and ceilings were very high. We had initially intended on using the self parking lot, but we weren't able to find the parking lot and opted for valet instead. Valet and front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant, while pricey, served a good breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Sunshinedaydream:

Thank you for staying with us.
it was great to hear how much you enjoyed the bunk bed room.
The room is perfect for families or even a guys or girls weekend away.
I hope we get a chance to serve you again so we can turn this four star review into a five star review.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I enjoyed staying here for a short conference trip in Baltimore. Modern and clean rooms and beautiful front lobby. Great bathroom, too!

The highlight was leaving a few items in my room after I checked out and the hotel staff finding and sending it all back home.

Room Tip: Good views from rooms facing Charles Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Budget_Luxury_Travel:

Thank you for the five star review.
It was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that our team took such great care of you. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Monaco Hotel-Baltimore (a Kimpton hotel) two days after Christmas.

As an InTouch loyalty member, while making reservations, I indicated that we would be celebrating our 38th wedding anniversary. Our corner room was wonderful and in perfect shape upon our arrival. A complimentary bottle of champagne was also waiting for us! Kimpton knows how to take care of its customers. The wine hour each evening for guests, as well as the mini-bar credit for InTouch members is unsurpassed! The impeccable service provided by each of its staff is first-class. Other hotels could learn a lot from the Kimpton Hotel.

After our experience at the Monaco Hotel-Baltimore, my wife and I believe that a visit here will become our annual anniversary celebration tradition! Thanks, Kimpton for a wonderful memory.

BTW, the Hotel Monaco-Baltimore is the fully restored B&O Railroad Headquarters building! It's beautiful; all of the original marble has been retained on each floor including the elegant staircases on the ground floor!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear BCG213:

Happy Anniversary!

Thank you for celebrating such a special occasion with us.
We appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to taking care of you for years to come.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Decided to get away for the weekend and Baltimore was our destination. First of all, we were blown away by how beautiful the hotel was and the location could not have been better. The staff went out of their way to welcome us (and 4 dogs!) from the time we pulled up to the hotel. It was such a relaxing stay. The rooms were very nicely appointed and the black-out shades were a big plus to sleep later! Also, kudos goes to the room service......food was delivered on time, in a friendly manner and was piping hot! Thanks, Kimpton! You have a customer for life!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear DcCuck19:

Thanks for choosing us for your weekend getaway.
Our team will enjoy hearing how great of a time you had.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#12 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Hotel Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Hotel Monaco Baltimore surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.