We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun - yes! Functional - mostly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Suite Deal
Ranked #6 of 69 hotels in Baltimore
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun - yes! Functional - mostly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 for a quick overnight. Here are the quick pros & cons:

Pros:
*Room size - very big. Impressive amount of space for a city hotel.
*Good shower/water pressure
*Good sized room safe
*Excellent hotel gym (3 or so treamills + ellipticals, 1 bike, weight machines, room for free weights). Very clean, tons of fresh towels.
*Really nice living room for the wine down happy hr. Good place to hang out if you're meeting people. Very chill atmosphere.
*Great location. Easy walk to Inner Harbor/Fell's Point even though it was like 95 degrees out.

Cons:
*SUPER LOUD air conditioning/fan. Just so loud. And you can't turn it off or it gets hot. Kinda kept us up.
*Uncomfortable pillows - not what was requested in our Kimpton membership preferences. We could have done something about this, I realize, but by the time we realized it wasn't worth it.
*Kind of scrimped on bathroom products - only one soap, small shampoos for 2 ppl to share. Again, I realize we could have asked for more soap but that's hard to do when you're already in the shower. And nobody really wants to take the hand soap from the sink to shower with. The shampoos had weird tape on them that's not easy to get off once they're wet.
*Bathroom door was trying to be modern or something but it was this SUPER HEAVY sliding door and was really awkward to open once it was closed. Thought I was sorta stuck in there the first time I used it.

Overall, really nice hotel and we'd probably consider going back. Just a few small points they can work on if they want to step up their game.

Room Tip: Gym is on the 3rd floor, if you want to be near that. Otherwise elevators come pretty frequently so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear NoVaTripper:

Thank you for your detailed review.
We do love to have fun, especially at our wine reception.
Please know we appreciate the feedback and will use to further improve our property.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    608
    246
    81
    31
    13
See reviews for
165
421
66
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed overnight in this very luxurious and friendly hotel during the holiday season of 2012. A very beautiful building, ( previous corporate headquarters of the B&O railroad) Straight out of the ornate, over the top, opulent architecture of the period. The lobby is on the second floor of the building, as is the warm and inviting living room. An ideal place to sit and read the sunday paper in front of the fireplace. Our room had a lovely view of the city and the most comfortble bed we've slept in at a hotel. The bathroom was marble, with leather wallpaper. The furniture was luxurious as were all the linens. The mini bar was fully loaded and the bath robes were an extra touch of indulgence. As we left the hotel to go out for dinner, the doorman suggested that we use one of their courtesy cars, rather than hail a cab. It was a win win situation. Nice ride with a pleasant driver which afforded us a comfortable way to get from the hotel to the east side of the Inner Harbor on a chilly winter's night. All in all, it was our most pleasant visit to the Charm City, our favorite weekend destination. Can't wait to visit the Monaco again

Room Tip: As we are discovering, a room in the upper elevations, bring quiet nights and most pleasant city vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear JudyG767:


Thank you for the five star review!
I loved reading the highlights of your stay, espcially about how our team took such great care of you. Please know I will be sure to share this feedback wiht them.
We hope you return soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

An old bank building has been converted into a lovely hotel in downtown Baltimore. In addition to a fabulous lobby and nice rooms with very high ceilings, the staff at reception is really helpful - with restaurant suggestions, extra coffeemakers - and even gave me a lovely glass of wine when I came in too late for Happy Hour, which is a very cosy and pleasant event most evenings. The valet parkers are friendly, too. We are glad we chose this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a bathtub, be sure to tell the front desk when you make the reservation. All rooms don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear MKG2805:

Thank you for your kind words.
I am glad you chose our hotel as well.
I hope you return soon so we can turn that four star review into a five star review.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is not very well signed from the street, but the location is great--walkable to Inner Harbor. Lovely large bathroom appointed in marble; good-sized room and VERY comfy bed. Plenty of goodies in the minibar for purchase. The hotel shares the building with other tenants--the lobby is one level up from street, but the atrium is grand--gorgeous marble staircases.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear HappaLong:

Thank you for your five star review!
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and our location.
There really is no better location in Baltimore.
We can't wait for you to join us again soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We purchased tickets to the Orioles MLB game and decided we needed a nearby hotel for 2 nights. We found Monaco through a couple net searches. Our stay was excellent. The building did a nice job of maintaining its history while adding a classy modern look. The rooms were very comfortable and well done. The staff and service was incredible. We arrived about 1030 pm and was greeted by 3 attendants who were professional and eager to help. They valet parked the car and delivered our bags to the room while informing us about all of the history and services of the hotel. The adjacent restaurant was very good as well. The location is in the heart of downtown. 5 mins to the ballpark via the hotel town car, very nice. Feel like we got lucky w/ this choice. This will be our only hotel in Baltimore from now on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Casey R:

We are so happy you picked us as well.
Our location is perfect for buisness or leisure trip to Baltimore.
We look forward to having you stay again soon.

Go O's!

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowaman1959
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I recently completed a four night stay at this hotel for work. On the plus side the hotel is gorgeous from the lobby to the rooms. I appreciated the wine reception in the evening and free coffee in the morning. The bed was superb but may be too firm for some tastes. Lots of good selection of pillows. Kimpton loyalty members earn free wi-fi and a mini-bar raid. The only downside was the staff at the front entrance to the hotel. At times they were attentive and welcoming. At other times they were too involved in conversation with each other to notice a guest coming and going. I would stay here again however and hope that training issues resolve any inconsistency at the front of the hotel. If you visit during the week please walk across the street to David and Dad's restaurant for excellent coffee and made to order food in a welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Lowaman 1959:

Thank you for your feedback.
It was good to hear you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to experience our wine receptin and morning coffee. Please know we will review your feedback with our team.


All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, NY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Luxury hotel steps from the Inner Harbor in renovated Beaux Arts building. First class all the way. We stayed in the Mediterranean suite which was large had 10 ft ceilings and beautifully done. The bathroom had a 2 person Jacuzzi and a stall shower. The walls were covered with leather and marble. We were traveling with our dog and needed to drop her off at the hotel before a tour of Johns Hopkins. Our room wasn't ready, so the office staff watched my dog in the office for me and really treated her well. This is just a lovely property. Will definitely return when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Chappaqua3:

Thank you for the five star review.
It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay and out team took great care of you.
I actually had the pleasure of meeting your pup while you were with us.
We hope you join us again soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#2 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#9 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Hotel Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Hotel Monaco Baltimore surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.