We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baltimore Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Baltimore Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I've stayed here on multiple occasions and always on business. On every occasion the front desk staff have been incredibly friendly, helpful, courteous and welcoming.

The rooms are large, bathrooms clean and generally removed from most street noise.

Dining at the hotel restaurant is easy, perhaps a bit over-priced, but the food and service are generally good. Finding a bite to eat within walking distance is possible, although most of the spots seem to be small or sandwhich shops. The harbor and those restaurants are within walking distance.

If arriving during baseball season, the stadium is close should you want to attend a game. But, traffic can be thick so if on a tight schedule, allow for extra time.

The meeting space is comfortable and accessible if you should desire to host a meeting at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Phil R:

Thank you for staying with us so often.
Great to hear you enjoy the hotel and all it has to offer.
If I can ever be of assistance please contact me directly.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
443-692-6761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    312
    111
    39
    19
See reviews for
216
516
77
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We LOVED our stay at this hotel and would certainly pick it should we again visit Baltimore. Valet parking attendants are quick on their toes; Simon at the Front Desk was such a gentleman; and Cornelius of Room Service ever so polite. Our rooms were so clean and lovely furnished, and bathrooms so nice and roomy. The beds and pillows were so comfortable that we forced ourselves out of bed in the morning. I like that daily parking allows in and out priveleges unlike other city hotels. Dogs are allowed but the interiors do not 'smell of dog' at all. It was about a 15-min. walk to the harbor where there are many restaurants and along the way too, so much to see and do. Thank you Kimpton for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an external view on a high(er) floor. Be mindful of the pull down shades - if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear jpmcba:

Glad to be your go to hotel in Baltimore.
The hotel is really perfectly situated for a business or leisure trip to the City.
Don't be a stranger.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very clean, food was great, well staffed. Location is good. Very close to harbor.
Staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Valet was convenient. B O restaurant makes great cocktail and the burger is awesome. There is a cool coffee shop across the street, Rooms are well furnished with quality furniture.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Matthew R:

Thanks for the great comments.
Sounds like you had an awesome stay.
We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here for a one night romantic getaway and it was amazing. Awesome decor, clean and large room, and fantastic two person bath. Fun minibar and great bar in the restaurant downstairs. Definitely book a king premier with the large tub!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Joshua R:

Thank you for your great feedback.
You can beat a good soak in one of our tubs.
We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I searched A LOT of hotels in Baltimore before deciding on the Monaco. I wanted somewhere that was downtown and walking distance to attractions and restaurants. The National Aquarium was a short walk as were many restaurants by the water for a nice outside lunch or afternoon drinks. The room was clean, linens obviously fresh, and the bed was huge, like sleeping in my own bed! I was a little worried because I forgot my own feather pillows but fluffy pillows were part of the deal with this room! The bathroom with the tile all around, the big tub, and separate glassed in shower just added to the atmosphere of the room. All of the staff were extremely helpful and made some great suggestions for restaurants that were great food and also within a short walk of the hotel. The only reason I have the value a 4 instead of 5 is because it is pricey, but I knew that was the range I personally wanted. This is a great hotel, well worth the price, and I will return to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Amandalynn78:

Great to hear you had such a wonderful stay.
Our team works very hard to ensure our guests are not just comfortable but pampered.
Summer is upon us, come see us again and enjoy all that Baltimore has to offer.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Spent one night and have very few criticisms. Knew to check in on the lobby level up one floor due to other tripadvisor reviews! Our very large room held two fabulously comfortable beds, beautifully furnished. Only complaint would be the sliding door to the bathroom, which offered less than ideal privacy as I was traveling with a friend and not my spouse. Free coffee in the lobby was nice although we would have preferred a coffee maker in the room. We missed the free wine reception in the lobby- darn! Having joined the Kimpton rewards program I earned free wifi and $10 mini bar credit- I would recommend this to all visitors. Highly recommend and would stay again.

One small additional complaint: when we asked for a cab to the train station upon leaving, the doorman took us to a town car which he indicated was a hotel service, which we interpreted to mean free (and I even asked if this was the same as a regular cab...) But no! upon our arrival at the station the driver informed us that it cost $10 and that the service was only free if we'd been given a voucher at the hotel. As the station is relatively close to the hotel I am sure (based on the cost of other cab rides in Baltimore) that a regular cab would have been cheaper, and we felt misled and a little ripped off.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear el13207:

Thank you for your detailed feedback.
The hotel is really a thing of beauty and it is great to see you noticed.
I know sometimes you just want a cup of coffee in your room, next time just let us know and we will send a Keurig coffee maker right up. Thakn you again for the feedback it has not gone unheard.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Fourth stay here. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are fine, service is good, but sparse. We did not enjoy our last stay. Adjoining rooms, no crib for my grandson (reserved when booking), totally un filled mini bar. I am an in touch member and we were treated better previously . They never refilled shampoo or body wash. Had to ask for everything.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear eileenzee:

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TA community.
I do beleive we spoke last week in regards to your stay.
As we discussed I do hope you return so I can show you how great of hotel we really have.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#1 of 61 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#2 of 61 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Hotel Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Hotel Monaco Baltimore surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.