We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade Your Stay
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Forked River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spotless and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed one night at the Hotel Monaco and were very satisfied. The hotel is in a beautiful historic building. We were visiting both the Inner Harbor and Camden Yards, and the hotel is just a short walk to both. Nice area, and we had no concerns about safety walking in the area of the hotel even at night. We travelled with our teenage daughter and her friend, and stayed in one of the rooms with the 2 double beds and 2 bunk beds. This was perfect, as the girls liked having their own space with a TV and xbox. This hotel is the cleanest that I have ever experienced. There is free wifi if you sign up for the kimpton rewards type program ( it's free to join). The free wine hour in the evening is nice.
There were a few things that could be improved- an inroom coffee maker is not provided unless you ask for it- I think this should be a standard amenity. Also, there is an in room fridge, with mini bar, but the items are ridiculously expensive. 6 dollars for a bottle of water, 5 dollars for a very small bag of chips, 40 dollars for facial cream, etc. Excessive pricing even compared to the usual high prices of these items in other hotels.No soda or snack machines are available in the hotel. I found it somewhat annoying that upon entering the hotel lobby, there is no sign or anything directing customers to go up to the next floor to check in. There is a reception desk in the entrance area that was not staffed, and although hotel employees were standing around chatting with each other, no one could be bothered to direct us to check in one floor up until we interrupted their social hour to ask.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Donna B:

Thank you for your staying with us.
Great to hear that the room was spotless and you enjoyed our location.
Our location is really great for touring Baltimore is just a couple blocks from the harbor not to mention Federal Hill and Mt. Vernon. I will be sure to share all of your feedback with our team.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    293
    99
    36
    17
See reviews for
196
484
72
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Super friendly staff, wonderfully decorated and efficiently stocked rooms. In close proximity to the 1st Mariner Arena and semi close proximity to other major venues. The building itself is old and beautiful with modern, updated amenities and fixtures. There is no signage, but when you come in off the street, check-in is on another floor. Go to the elevator and go to "L."

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Erica G:

We really work hard to ensure our hotel is stunning, glad you noticed.
I will be sure to share your feedback with our team as they love hearing from our guests.
Come see us again soon!

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Monaco while my husband and I were in town to see Chris Tomlin at the arena one block from the hotel... Well worth it! walking distance to the water and all attractions! Will absolutely go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear DotD:

Thank you for your five star review.
Great to hear you had a lovely stay and made it over to first mariner.
The hotel is situated perfectly to enjoy all the Baltimore has to offer.
Keep an eye on the first mariner calendar and stay with us on your next visit.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am a big fan of Kimpton properties, particularly because I can bring my Boxer Lily and everyone gives her love :) I've stayed at two Kimpton properties with her and one without and loved them all. I got a Travelzoo deal for Hotel Monaco and decided to use it for a one night getaway for my 31st birthday. The Hotel Monaco is unique in that it's in a historic building - the entry level is quite grandiose with an amazing chandelier, stained glass and marble stairways. You have to go up one floor for check-in and when we got up there it was just in time for wine hour - the hostess brought us two glasses of Prosecco to the check-in desk. Everyone - guests included - were enamored with Lily and we got treats for her and a welcome note from the "petcierge." The room was well-appointed, the valet staff were efficient, beds were comfortable - what more could you need? The only tiny glitch was the maid seemed to have taken the trash can from the bathroom and forgot to put it back. Other than that, perfect stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Anna B:

Happy Birthday!
Thanks for celebrating with us and for bringing along Lily.
Glad to hear you had a great stay and had the chance to enjoy our wine reception.
The reception is really a great time to mix and mingle with other guests and enjoy some great wine.
Don't wait till next year to come back and see us.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMV
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I booked because it allows pets. The hotel is very clean, you would never know there were pets there. The restaurant is delicious and atmospheric, and the free wine happy hour is a bonus. Rooms are very spacious as well. The only negatives I can think of is: 1. The business center is very expensive; 2. There doggy area is not as close to the hotel as one thinks (would be nice if they created a tiny area with turf for the dogs to go).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear AyoDmv:

Thanks for staying with us.
Great to hear you and your pet enjoyed your stay and that you had a chance to enjoy B&O American Brasserie.

We hope you check us out again very soon!

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We found ourselves returning to Baltimore for another business trip, so of course wanted to stay at the Monaco again-so many reasons: location, but most importantly, a Kimpton!
This hotel truly represents the best of the Kimpton brand: beautiful surroundings and excellent service. We arrived early to beat the second N'oreaster in a week and they provided a smooth early check-in (our last visit they accomodated our late check-out, as well). There was a slight glitch when we discovered our room didn't have a tub, but with a brief phone call Laurelle changed our room (upgrading us to a room with a jacuzzi!) sending the keys up with the bellman to move us, along with a most gracious handwritten note apologizing, as well as including continental breakfast vouchers for morning! Kimptom service is supreme and I could go on, but hubby done with work now (my bath was glorious;-) and we are heading down to the complimentary wine hour by the beautiful fireplace---what a great way to wait out the weather!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear dtanoury:

Sorry about the weather but glad to see you know how to make the best of it!
I will be sure to share your great feedack with our team especially Laurelle. All of Kimpton hotels pride themselves in that personal touch and care (not to mention the wine hour). Thanks again for staying and we hope to see you soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We only live in DC, but with a sick family member and a dog we are strapped to the city all the time. We saw a deal for a night at the Monaco and went for it. We had the Mediterranean suite for a sweet deal and it was wonderful. It was clean and had everything. Our pup loved the happy hour and just being with us. At the happy hour we met others from the tri state area and our dogs got acquainted in such a mellow atmosphere. We actually stayed in, and ate at the bar downstairs and met more great locals, and drank the night away. It was a real get away, and everyone who works there was amazing! I recommend the Monaco and all Kimptons.

Room Tip: We like the corner rooms, best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Slinde77:

Gotta love a little staycation.
Glad you had a great time, I will be sure to share this feedback with our team.
Wine hour, cocktails, dinner in the restaurant and a suite now that is a great Kimpton weekend (I am actually a bit jelous).

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#12 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Hotel Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Hotel Monaco Baltimore surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.