We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Suite Deal
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Girlfriends weekend ..went to catch a comedy show ..I found the hotel beautiful and spacious..loved the two queen room , we did not get in each others way. the staff from our greeter a young gentlemant that helped with our valet to the reservation desk to the bartender in the resturant ...all were very nice and helpful

thank you Monaco Baltimore ...i am ready to come back and i just left

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear ruckerat:

We think you are awesome!
Thanks for spending your girls weekend with us.
Come see us again soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    259
    83
    33
    13
See reviews for
175
432
68
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is the second Kimpton Hotel experience for my husband and me. Kimpton has become one of our favorite hotel chains. Upon arrival, we received a friendly greeting from a valet parking attendant. (Cost is $36/night). Once inside the hotel, we had a bit of trouble locating the front desk. A staff member then pointed us in the right direction, as it was on the next level. On the way to our room, we received a warm welcome from several staff members, as they passed by. Once inside, we found the room to be spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. Most impressive was the modern, yet old-world style furnishings, and high ceiling. We also enjoyed having a view of the city, from the 11th floor. We did not eat at the hotel. Therefore, I cannot speak on the food or dining. I liked being able to checkout at noon, instead of 11:00 or earlier. After checkout, we waited approximately 15 minutes for our vehicle to be brought to us. Recommend requesting early, if you're in a hurry to leave. The valet attendants were very courteous and polite. The only small complaint I have is the front desk clerk failed to share information about hotel amenities (i.e. breakfast/dining, spa services, fitness center, etc). We later searched for this information in the room and on a tag hanging on the door. Everything else about our stay was perfect. We would return again.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide a nice view of the city at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear latkwat13:

Great to hear Kimpton has become one of you favorite chains, I can say not only do we give a great guest experience but it is a wonderful company to work for. I will share this great feedback with our team as they love the direct feedback from our guests.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

What a fun experience to stay at Monaco about 2 blocks to waterfront & aquarium!!
Mediterranean Suite was beautifully decorated, 2 flat screens, & huge bathroom,
Doormen were very helpful & friendly. Housekeeping were great. My daughter was given a goldfish as a temporary pet while we visited which she loved. The wine hour was a fun touch.
There was no concierge & would have liked some assistance for restaurants, etc.
The lounge downstairs not so good. Drinks & food poor quality. What a shame as it would hve been nice to go there & relax without leaving the bldg. Also we could have watched the Ravens game there but we stayed in room instead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear decision20:

I have to say I love when I hear our guests say that had FUN!
Who doesn't need a bit of fun in their life. Please know all of our team members are happy to assist with any local dining and entertainment options you may be looking for. Please know we will share this feedback with our team so we can continue to exceed our guests expectations.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a quick lunch here. The food , service and atmosphere were all perfect. The building is beautiful. Can not offer detail on the accommodations but if they are anywhere near the lunch service you won't be disappointed

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Rob L:

Great to hear you enjoyed your lunch at B&O American Brasserie.
You will have to come back soon as we have a great mixologist on our team and should you spend a bit of extra time with him we have 202 beautifully appointed rooms to help you sleep it off. Hope to see you soon!

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Beautiful rooms, clean, close to everything in the city! Great staff and service too!
Rooms are a great size, and they offered us a town car rather then a cab to take us to our destination. The lobby is nice, and staircase is BEAUTIFUL!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear breemuffin:

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your great experience with the TA community.
We hope to see you back very soon!

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We booked the hotel because I love Kimptons and we found a $99 special that included a premier king room w/a continental breakfast from bookings.com. From the first phone call, we were treated like very special VIPs... even when they found out we were bringing our two dogs and that we had to coupon. They tried to arrange an early check-in, but couldn't accommodate it, but they took our request seriously and did the best they could. From the valet parking to room service and the front desk, the service was impeccable. All the staff were so nice to our dogs, and made them feel welcome.

The lobby is absolutely gorgeous and loaded with very warm, comfy, interesting furniture and a lovely fireplace. The coffee service includes great coffee, delicious hot chocolate with the works, and all kinds of team. We missed the happy hour, but I'm sure it's great also.

The suite was HUGE and included a living room, bedroom and gigantic bathroom. It had lots of large windows, very high ceilings and all the modern things you'd expect to find, including two large flat screen TVs, granite/marble bathroom, lovely roman shower, huge hot tub, upscale toiletries, and lusciously comfy linens.

The location is great -- walking distance to the Inner Harbor and federal hill. Every staff member excelled in customer service, and the building -- former headquarters of the B&O Railroad Company, is absolutely beautiful.

Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was great with the fresh fruit and scone, but the service was painfully slow. That's the only negative thing I could say about this.

We had a great experience and have booked another weekend at Hotel Monaco!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Balzac:

Thank you for staying with us!
We feel that all of our guests our VIP and work hard to ensure they get the VIP treatment, glad you noticed. I love to hear that you not only had a great service experience but the room and location were perfect for you. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to having you back soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel once before and nothing has changed. Very nice 'older' hotel with modern amenities. My room was nice size and the bed was really comfortable. The one thing that I cannot emphasize enough is how friendly the staff is here.

The one negative that the hotel has not control over is there is a large number of homeless and panhandlers in the area. If this sort of thing bothers you, then this hotel may not be for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear normalhepkat:

Our staff love what they do and glad to see it showed in their interactions with you.
Thank you for your great feedback. We hope to see you soon,

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Hotel Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Hotel Monaco Baltimore surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.