We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Suite Deal
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and we had a very pleasant stay. The front desk person did not seem fully informed and needed to go to the back office several times to get information while we were checking in. However she was very welcoming and we did get a reasonable rate. We did not sample any of the food. The room was lovely and well appointed - modern in decor. We visited the inner harbour and had a lovely Christmas Eve meal at Phillips restaurant. The door man was very helpful. We were directed to park at a nearby underground facility which was considerably less expensive than the valet parking offered by the hotel. We enjoyed a lovely quiet evening watching movies.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear myroes:

Thank you for spending your holiday with us.
We hope you check us out again soon and when you do you have to try the food.
B&O American Brasserie is an excellent choice for Cocktails and a great dinner.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    261
    83
    33
    13
See reviews for
176
434
68
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent one night at the Hotel Monaco for New Year's Eve, and we were extremely impressed. The hotel is in an accessible location near the Inner Harbor and walking distance to several restaurants. From the moment we stepped out of our car, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, from the valet staff to the front desk. We had the standard king room, which was immaculate and comfortable with modern furnishings. The common areas similarly were immaculate and nicely decorated. This was our third Kimpton stay and we have been impressed across the board, including nice touches like the wine happy hour and continental breakfast. We also appreciate the dog-friendly policy - when we checked in with our large breed dog, we were given a map of nearby dog parks. Overall wonderful stay, would recommend this hotel for a Baltimore stay and recommend the Kimpton brand in general based on our experiences in three different cities.

Room Tip: The standard king room was perfect, I wouldn't upgrade unless it was a special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear TravelBugs 1210:

With a username like that you must love to travel.
Check out some of our other hotels and restaurants I am sure you will love them.
Glad to hear you had a great stay and our team took good care of you.
Don't be a stranger.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were invited to a holiday party in Baltimore so decided to make a getaway of it from Annapolis. Chose Monaco Baltimore and boy, were we happy with that decision. This property is elegant and old-school. You feel like you're in a 40's movie but the service is definitely 21st century. There is a wine reception every afternoon; the only drawback to this was that we were sharing the lounge space with a pre-wedding reception. We were told we could only be in certain areas of the lobby (what I would consider a public space) and were asked to leave once the wedding was over and the wedding party was coming to the after-wedding reception. That was odd and a little off-putting. However, that didn't affect our stay. The rooms are clean, with nice amenities, and they are quiet. We will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Bleiblum:

Thank you for staying with us!
Good to hear you had a great stay and were able to enjoy our amenities and service.

We hope you visit again soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, North Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at the Monaco Baltimore last week for two nights. Great old building that has been renovated to a boutique hotel. Service was great, as were the room. Bed extremely comfortable and rooms were very quiet. Great location on Charles Street, 2-3 blocks from the inner harbor. Only drawback is the parking fee ($36/night) save yourself a few dollars and park yourself in a public lot 2 blocks away for ($21/night). Restaurant in the hotel (B&O) is quite good.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear hyeykysy:

Thank you for sharing your feedback on our hotel and restaurant.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your self.

Come back again soon

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for two nights before embarking on a cruise. It was really special. Every day at 5:00, they serve complimentary wine and apple cider in a quiet lounge off the lobby. We met two very nice couples and had some nice chats. All of the staff were very helpful with info about how to get around town and where to go for entertainment and dinner. We didn't get our room made up after the first night but this was a minor inconvenience. We will consider Kimpton hotels in our future travel plans.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Badandq:

I love when I hear guests talk about how they met other travelers at our wine reception.
Glad you enjoyed your stay.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked a last minute, one night stay at the Hotel Monaco for a family of three. With the notable exception of the front desk staff, we had a great visit. Most of my observations about the hotel have been discussed by previous TripAdvisor posters: beautiful building, large, well-appointed rooms with great bathrooms, high valet parking costs, deserted surrounding streets save for some homeless outside of regular business hours.... But a few front desk-related issues put a damper on our overall enthusiasm for the property.
1- I called to ask a simple question about one of the types of rooms available on the hotel's website. I was promptly placed on hold for 10 minutes and a front desk staff member finally picked up as I was about to change my mind and book elsewhere.
2- When checking in, the front desk staffer on duty directly refuted what I had been told over the phone regarding my question about the room. It seems she was unfamiliar with the property's Mediterranean suites - or misunderstood a question I had three different ways. (The bellman even remarked that she was misinformed)
3- The same front desk staffer picked up when I dialed housekeeping to get additional bathroom supplies. We had been left a quarter of a toiler paper roll and two bath towels for three people. After two hours past and we still had not received the supplies, I had to track down a housekeeper on the other end of the building to retrieve these items.
4- The person running the wine reception came to work with a cold. While I understand it must be a challenge to find people to work during a holiday week, perhaps it would be better to find someone not coughing and sneezing (and then touching wine glasses) to serve drinks.
Indeed, it may have been a case where the more professional, service-oriented employees I've generally found at other Kimpton hotel simply had the week off.
Another observation was that the front desk staff regularly kept the daily occupancy sheet in plain view of guests, which I found somewhat unusual. I thought I was paying a good rate until I saw the average rate for the night I stayed was about half of what I paid. I also wondered whether I would have been able to talk a competent front desk employee into a better room or a discount on the restaurant or something given I was paying double the average rate on a night when the hotel was barely half full. (The occupancy sheets I saw showed the hotel no better than 56% full for three nights between Dec. 26-28, which isn't surprising given the lack of business travel that time of year.)
The bottom line is that I would give the hotel a second chance at the right price and hope for better service from the front desk the next time around.

Room Tip: Ask a bellman for advice on your room. Unlike at least one of the front desk staff I encountered, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear WahooVA:

Thank you for staying with us. I was sorry to hear you did not receive the appropriate service from our guest service agents. I am sure if you return you will see what a great hotel we have.
We do hope you give us another chance so can you experience what other reviewers have.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Got a great deal to stay at the Monaco online. Door and valet staff were very professional and friendly. Check in was smooth and efficient. The B&O railroad building is certainly noteworthy and the Monaco people have done a good job with the decor. Our room was well appointed but the layout was a bit odd. There is a small room that is either a very large closet or very small extra bedroom that is completely empty. I guess you can't avoid getting these odd layouts when you remodel an old office building. The hotel restaurant has a good menu for both breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Tkynr:

Glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and all of our great staff.
We hope to see you again very soon! Our building is very unique so if there is something you are looking for in a room let us know and I am sure we can accomodate.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#9 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Hotel Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Hotel Monaco Baltimore surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.