We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time staying at a kimpton hotel, will NOT be the last” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Suite Deal
Ranked #5 of 68 hotels in Baltimore
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First time staying at a kimpton hotel, will NOT be the last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We are currently on day two of a three day stay here and from the moment we pulled up have been impressed with the service and style of this hotel. The hotel's decor is amazing and being that we are here on a romantic getaway weekend we loved the decor, dim lighting and honestly i didn't think the wine reception every evening from 5-6pm would be a big deal but it really was a great way to kickstart our evening last night after arriving. The decor in the wine lounge was sexy and relaxing. Vijal was at the front desk and was welcoming and very nice, gave us a list of restaurants in the area and took the time to find out what we were interested in and showed us specific restaurants on the list that matched what we wanted. The only disappointment was that when i booked our hotel room over the phone i was given a holiday perk package but shortly before arriving when i looked online i found a slightly cheaper package that included valet parking but when i asked vijal if the deal could be changed he said he wasn't able to do that so i will definitely have to look online AND call to find the best deal next time. But we were upgraded to a room with a jacuzzi tub since we are celebrating our anniversary and again very impressed with the decor, bed was comfortable last night. Only negative nit picky thing i can say is the vent in the bathroom was dusty so I was surprised that attention to detail was overlooked not a big deal or deal breaker for me but was surprised to see it. I've already joined the rewards program because we do visit baltimore from time to time and we will be making this our place to stay from now on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Sally K:

Glad to hear you are a new Kimpton Fan!
We appreciate the feedback and will share it with our team
Come see us again soon so we can make you an even bigger Kimpton fan.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    613
    246
    82
    32
    13
See reviews for
165
424
68
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a nicely renovated historic building. The rooms are very well finished. The hotel has great service and great value. Evening wine reception. Nice restaurant, The gym is a bit basic. There is free coffee in reception in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Newton978:

We could not agree more, we are the best hotel in Baltimore.
Come see us soon as we are renovating our fitness center and adding a new ballrooom.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Fantastic hotel! Great location walking distance to the inner harbor although we took advantage of the free circulator bus. One thing we learned about the circulator is that it makes a loop around Penn Station after it stops in front of the hotel. If you walk a block away and catch it as it is heading towards the inner harbor it`ll be a 5 minute trip opposed to a 30 minute trip. However on the way back to the hotel from the inner harbor, it`s one of the first stops which was perfect after goint to a magic show Saturday night which happenned to be right on the same purple circulator route that stopped at the Monaco (South Charles Street). Sorry I digressed a bit. The Monaco kept some of it`s original building and the Lobby and marble staircase was stunning. There was free wine and drinks from 5-6:00pm each night hosted by a nice guy who poured drinks and came around making sure everyone had a full glass. They had a beautiful fire going in the fireplace and was super cozy. We had requested a DVD in the room and it was there waiting for us when we arrived. We got a suite with wrap around floor to ceiling windows and one of the deepest jacuzzi bathtubs I`ve ever seen but we didn`t have a chance to fill it up and soak, next time! Members of Kimpton got free internet and other perks such as $10.00 to spend on mini bar items which was a real luxury. From the front desk people to the friendly and cute doormen, this place was totally 4 stars and more. The attached restaurant was a nice place for breakfast but they served all meals and had a bar. There are alot of hotels in Baltimore and I`ll bet this is one of the top ones, what a find!

Room Tip: Snag a corner room or a high floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Michelle T:

We think you are the top of the tops!
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, we are fortunate to have a great building and great team.
Come see us again soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel is great on service and has a hip interior in an old historic building. The staff really does try to say yes to every request you make and is very pleasant to interact with. So here are the negatives: 1.) The bathroom doors are not regular doors but slide to just cover the opening where the regular doors would be. There is little to no privacy when using it and there is no fan in there as well. 2.) The drain in my shower did not work properly so when I was using it I was standing in the water that I was bathing in - I even triple checked to make sure the drain was to the open setting. 3.) The bed in the standard King room I had was extra firm to hard and did not seem to be of a great quality - the linens however where of a good quality.

It is in a good location near the Inner Harbor and the complimentary wine and hot apple cider was a nice touch. I would recommend staying there even though I did encounter a few minor issues.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Travis2287:

Thank you for staying with us!
We really appreciate the feedback, please know we take this feedback very seriously and will use it to improve our property.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I just got back from a long week-end in Baltimore. We stayed at the Hotel Monaco and it was fantastic! Friendly front desk staff, complimentary wine hour nightly, and if you become a member of their In Touch guest loyalty program, you get even more perks. I can't say enough about how great this hotel is. Nice location, on the Circulator (free bus) line (purple), close to Inner Harbor. We were in a suite, with an AMAZING bathroom. I don't know if they all have this, but the door to the bathroom is a giant mirror on the outside, and it slides open and shut. Also, the shower had 1 of those giant shower-heads that I just love. Check this place out.

Room Tip: try for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear SGCN:

We can't say enouph about how great we think you are!
All of our hotels do offer the eveningn wine reception as well as the Kimpton inTouch Program.
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again very soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked this on priceline and got a great deal. The hotel is within walking distance to the inner harbor and there is an overnight parking deck that you can park at for less than valet parking which is located right around the corner. Also, there is a complimentary bike rental service which was a great way to get around downtown. Large, clean rooms & wonderful service. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear ConnieW:

Thank you for your feedback glad to hear you got to experience the harbor as well our bicycle program. We hope you join us again soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed while my wife was seeing doctors at Johns Hopkins. The hotel, location and service were all excellent. While it wasn't within walking distance of the hospital, we had no trouble accessing our car from valet parking. It was a very short walk to the Inner Harbor attractions.

The room was great and well worth what we paid. The furnishings were elegant enough that my wife made some interior decorating notes. As with many Klimpton properties, this is a very nice rehab of an historic building, in this case, the former B&O Railroad headquarters. The staircase between the first floor and the mezzanine lobby is impressive (though the stairs were a bit long to climb -- take the elevator). At the top of the stairs, a welcoming happy hour was a nice touch.

What puts a topper on the story is -- as usual -- a mishap on my part. I left behind my iPad charger, plugged into the wall. When contacted, the hotel manager went out of his way to retrieve this little overpriced item and ship it to me. Thanks, Joe!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear camerajim:

Thank you for sharing your experience. I beleive we spoke on the phone as well.
Was glad to hear you enjoyed everything. If I can ever be of assistance in the future please let me know.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#2 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#9 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Hotel Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Hotel Monaco Baltimore surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.