We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome! and great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Suite Deal
Ranked #6 of 69 hotels in Baltimore
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
san diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome! and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times for business. It is a great location for anywhere in Baltimore (and I am often driving into DC from here too). The rooms are huge, and the amenities are top notch (if only I could have one of their beds in my own home). The times I have stayed there it has been really good value since worse Kimpton hotels in other cities are much more expensive. The staff at the check-in are great. The downstairs lobby is a bit weird because its not refurbished, but everything else is very trendy and stylish.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear frankviz81:

Thank you for your sharing your experience with the trip advisor community. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. In regards to our beds...you can own one by going to kimptonstyle.com. We hope to see you again very soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    606
    246
    81
    31
    13
See reviews for
164
421
66
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We came to this Kimpton for my husband to receive treatment from John Hopkins. We left early AM and when we returned at 2 pm they still had not cleaned our room. We stopped by the front desk and asked them to clean it while we went to lunch we returned about 3:30 and it still was not clean. After my husband went back to bed and fell asleep the maid showed up at 4:30 much too late. Not what I expect from Kimpton - to not have it clean after asking was a bit over the top. We are Inner Circle and are supposed to receive special care. Not too happy with this property. The restaurant isn't very good either.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Kimberly M:

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry your room was not serviced when you requested it to be. We strive to ensure all of our guests have an amazing experience and I am embaressed that you did not feel well taken care of. We really appreciate that you use Kimpton hotels so often and I want you to know we take this feedback very seriously and will use it to improve our services.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great service from the staff.You will find this to be true at all of their hotels.Very clean comfortable rooms with up to date amenities.My wife and I enjoyed the bar and restuarant,again great service.

Room Tip: Mediterraan suite--GREAT CHOICE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear michches:

Glad to hear your stay was top notch!
Don't be a stranger!

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had the unfortunate event to experience a “Fire Alarm” going off as we were arriving Thursday night from a long drive from Quantico, VA. It was Thanksgiving eve and we were planning on ordering from the special menu they had for the evening. Needless to say we were greeted w/all the guests and their pets out in the curb freezing. This event lasted for more than 1 ½ hours if not longer because the elevators could not be reset after the fire department gave them the go ahead. We have a disabled child that cannot walk and we were in the 14th floor. Not one person from the hotel came out to see if the guests were doing okay and if by chance we needed some form of comfort – hot coffee, blankets, etc…the only person giving us updates were from the security or valet which are third party personnel. It would have been nice to see the person in charge come out to speak to the guest of what was happening. This was, after all, a false alarm. After we went upstairs the Thanksgiving menu was, of course, no longer being served so we proceeded to order from the late night menu. It was more than an hour after we placed it – 12:30AM. The attendant that delivered it was gracious enough to leave it in the room and not charge for it since it took longer than normal plus my child and husband were already passed out.
Another event was that we called housekeeping to turn over/clean the room while we were gone and this did not happen. It was 10pm when we returned (a Weds I believe) and I had to turn down our own beds and dust them off so my husband and daughter can have a clean organized bed to get into. We needed towels and conditioner as well. When we called housekeeping they brought TONS of towels…but no conditioner. So they had to come back a second time…very disturbing considering it was way passed bedtime for our daughter.
These are the two events that could have damper someone else’s trip. Thankfully we like to weigh out the pros and cons. The pros were definitely present for Monaco and that’s why I decided not to rate them low based on the two events above. However, there is room for improvement. Maybe have an alternate route for disabled guests to get to their rooms if the main elevators are not functioning and a follow up phone call to the guest room to make sure all services have been met?

Room Tip: There is valet parking for $36 a night - it's an independent company. You can public park around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Simba 9960:

Thank you for staying with us. I am very sorry that you had to endure a false alarm during your stay. Thank you for being kind enouph to weigh the pros and cons and for your candid feedback. Please know this is very helpful as it will assist us in improving our operation.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel was fabulous, and I mean F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S. I would love to stay here again (and take advantage of the fully stocked fridge area, unlike what I did during this recent stay...exercised lots of restraint!!). I was in town this past weekend for the wedding of the year, and from the moment I arrived, the employees were extremely pleasant and friendly (this was much appreciated). My 14th floor hotel room was very spacious, and chic. The view outside the windows were of the surrounding architecture, which due to it's exquisite nature, made up for not having a skyline view of the city. The bed was so comfortable, and I slept so well. I appreciated the iPod dock on the alarm clock, and the railroad lighting next to the closet. The only thing missing from the room was a blow-dryer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Posh Travla:

Thank you for sharing your experience!
We think you are FABULOUS and can't wait for you to return.
Our apologies you room was missing a hair dryer we typically keep them in a tan bag below the sink. I will be sure to share your feedback with our team. We hope to see you again very soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I could not have been more impressed by this last-minute find! We were particularly impressed by the hospitality of Christina at the front desk. She was absolutely amazing and extremely considerate. The room was gorgeous, clean, and updated. I signed up for the free Kimpton membership and got free wifi AND a gift card to use for snacks in the minibar. PS the gummy bears are scrumptious! We missed the free wine hour so they gave us vouchers for wine or non-alcoholic beverages. The service and room were wonderful. I would give this hotel a 7 star rating if I could!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear TStar88:

We will take that 7 star rating!
Glad to hear you had a great stay. I will be sure to share your feedback with our team especially Christina. We hope too see you soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night here during the week. The building is beautiful and is pretty centralized for access to the city. My only complaint was the valet service (our first impression of the hotel) was not very friendly. After we got in the building though are stay was sublime. The high ceilings in the room and large windows make even the one bedroom look large and inviting. Everything was clean and as expected in the room, with chocolate covered strawberries to welcome us. Spending the extra few bucks for the king premier room (big tub and nice shower) is a must. Getting the park and play package was also a must to save money on the valet.

All in all this is a quality hotel and we would deffinitly come back give the oppertunity.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Meatzy:

Thank you for staying with us.
I am sorry the valet failed to meet your expectations but was happy to read you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share this feedback with our valet team. The premeir rooms are fantastic good to hear you felt the same way. We hope to see you again very soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#9 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Hotel Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Hotel Monaco Baltimore surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.