We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Niiiiiiiice!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Alpharetta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Niiiiiiiice!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel was fabulous, and I mean F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S. I would love to stay here again (and take advantage of the fully stocked fridge area, unlike what I did during this recent stay...exercised lots of restraint!!). I was in town this past weekend for the wedding of the year, and from the moment I arrived, the employees were extremely pleasant and friendly (this was much appreciated). My 14th floor hotel room was very spacious, and chic. The view outside the windows were of the surrounding architecture, which due to it's exquisite nature, made up for not having a skyline view of the city. The bed was so comfortable, and I slept so well. I appreciated the iPod dock on the alarm clock, and the railroad lighting next to the closet. The only thing missing from the room was a blow-dryer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Posh Travla:

Thank you for sharing your experience!
We think you are FABULOUS and can't wait for you to return.
Our apologies you room was missing a hair dryer we typically keep them in a tan bag below the sink. I will be sure to share your feedback with our team. We hope to see you again very soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    281
    92
    34
    15
See reviews for
187
462
70
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I could not have been more impressed by this last-minute find! We were particularly impressed by the hospitality of Christina at the front desk. She was absolutely amazing and extremely considerate. The room was gorgeous, clean, and updated. I signed up for the free Kimpton membership and got free wifi AND a gift card to use for snacks in the minibar. PS the gummy bears are scrumptious! We missed the free wine hour so they gave us vouchers for wine or non-alcoholic beverages. The service and room were wonderful. I would give this hotel a 7 star rating if I could!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear TStar88:

We will take that 7 star rating!
Glad to hear you had a great stay. I will be sure to share your feedback with our team especially Christina. We hope too see you soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night here during the week. The building is beautiful and is pretty centralized for access to the city. My only complaint was the valet service (our first impression of the hotel) was not very friendly. After we got in the building though are stay was sublime. The high ceilings in the room and large windows make even the one bedroom look large and inviting. Everything was clean and as expected in the room, with chocolate covered strawberries to welcome us. Spending the extra few bucks for the king premier room (big tub and nice shower) is a must. Getting the park and play package was also a must to save money on the valet.

All in all this is a quality hotel and we would deffinitly come back give the oppertunity.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Meatzy:

Thank you for staying with us.
I am sorry the valet failed to meet your expectations but was happy to read you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share this feedback with our valet team. The premeir rooms are fantastic good to hear you felt the same way. We hope to see you again very soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

What a great surprise! My wife and I flew into town and had to find a new hotel after receiving a call that our reservation was cancelled due to flooding. We found the Monaco and it was great turnaround to an otherwise stressful travel day.

Christina at the front desk was especially accommodating. She empathized with our plight and went to great lengths to ensure we had the best stay. This included upgrading us to a suite and even providing complementary bath salts for our new jacuzzi.

The room renovations were pristine and we now compare all Klimpton hotels to the Monaco wherever we go. A few negatives...room service leaves much to be desired for vegetarians and the rooms can be a bit drafty with their giant windows. But the central heater makes up for it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear glmaster:

Sorry to hear about your original hotel but glad we could accommodate.
We are really lucky to have Christina on our team, she is amazing.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to share this feedback with our entire team. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here while visiting Baltimore for a show and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. From the moment we were out of the cab to the moment we were headed back to the train the service was excellent. Room was clean and nicely appointed. Would definitely stay here again if I was returning to Baltimore.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Kcdysart:

Thank you for sharing your experience.
I was very happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay.
I will be sure to share this with our team as they love to hear how much our guests enjoyed their time with us. We hope to see you soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-salem NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We loved this hotel! Absolutely beautiful!
Great location near Inner Harbor, Ravens stadium and other must do things in Baltimore.
We were especially fond of the companion goldfish in our room. We miss Bob.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear mugsync:

Thanks for the great review. We love our property and it's location, glad you agree.
We will keep Bob safe and sound and ready for your next stay. Bob misses you and would like to see you again soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

High ceilings, VERY friendly staff, beautiful decor, very clean, beautiful view and in a safe area (not guaranteed everywhere in Baltimore), an unexpected room upgrade, a FISH FRIEND that they can bring to your room for free, free wine hour, impressive lobby, pet friendly... I couldn't ask for more AND it was under $80

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Daniela M:

Thank you for staying with us!
I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our team really works hard to ensure our guests are well taken care of. Check us out again soon as we are starting our winter program which will feature several enhancements for our guests, most importanty fun food and beverage additions during our coffee and wine service.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#11 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Hotel Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Hotel Monaco Baltimore surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.