We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs more adequate management...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Suite Deal
Ranked #7 of 69 hotels in Baltimore
GreenLeadersGold level
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Needs more adequate management...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

A very beautiful building located close to the inner harbor but management is to be blamed for a poorly trained staff. Everyone was polite but it was clear that they lacked the knowledge required to maintain the level of service expected.
The day we checked into the room we found peanuts on the floor. We asked to have the room vacuumed. Not only was it not vacuumed, the room was never cleaned until day three of our five day stay. We had to ask the housekeeper to thoroughly dust; the amount of dust in the room at checkin
looked like the room had not been dusted in weeks. Very disappointing.
What was most disturbing was management never responded to our complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Sfmrk:

Thank you for your feedback as all feedback assists us in improving our operation.
Sounds like we dropped the ball with your stay and I am truly sorry for that. I know that our Hotel Manager attempted to contact you a couple of times and was unable to catch you.
Please know our goal is to exceed our guests expecation not fall short of them. I would be happy to discuss this further to make it right. I can be contacted at 443-692-6171.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    600
    242
    81
    31
    14
See reviews for
161
417
67
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Booked a room for our 27th Wedding Anniversary

Front desk found out and upgraded our room, Erica at the Front Desk was great and very helpful.

Hotel was very clean, room very nice, valet included in our room rate along with a bottle of wine saved money as a nice package

Easy walk to the inner harbor, and Fells Point.

I highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Jim L:

Happy anniversary!
Thank you for choosing us for such a special occasion.
We love to celebrate with our guest.
We hope to see you next year if not sooner.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We chose to return to the Hotel Monaco Baltimore to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary. Had a fabulous experience in June and this return visit lived up to all of our expectations. From the moment we arrived, we were warmly greeted by all staff members. We found the staff to be extraordinary throughout the weekend. Love the Kimpton "Wine Hour" tradition. Lee Seiler, hotel manager, hosted the Wine Hour. Enjoyed meeting him, talking and relaxing in the "living room lobby". The decor of the lobby and rooms lives up to the grandeur its historic structure. Our corner suite was gorgeous, quiet and sparkling clean. Once again, I was impressed by the twelve foot ceilings, eight foot windows, marble bathroom with fuji spa tub, animal print terry robes, and luxurious bed linens. Much to our surprise, Lee sent a bottle of wine and cheese tray to our room along with a hand written note. The B&O restaurant did not disappoint. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts, drinks and appetizers during our stay. Love the location of this hotel. It is a short walk to the Inner Harbor, but still far enough away from the crowds of tourists. Left our car in the garage all weekend and used the water taxi at the Inner Harbor to visit Fells Point, Canton and Little Italy. At check out, the front desk receptionist told us about call ahead seating at Miss Shirley's Cafe. She made the call and we were on our way. The car valet wished us a happy anniversary...not sure how he knew, but this was another example of Kimpton personalized service. This was our 3rd stay at a Kimpton Hotel, with a 4th trip booked in February at the Hotel Monaco Philadelphia. The big hotel chains can't come close to matching the level of excellence and service that Kimpton provides.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear LPC2910:

Thank you for your great review!
I was dleighted to hear you had such a great stay and got to enjoy our hotel and the great city of Baltimore. I am sure you will also enjoy our Philly properties. We hope to see you soon!

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the first time last weekend and were absolutely thrilled with the accommodations and service. Check-in was extremely fast. We called ahead and the front desk was extremely helpful in making dinner reservations. We are InTouch program members and ALL of our preferences were met and then some. The wine reception was very fun. Met many interesting people from all over the country. Very easy walk to Inner Harbour. Special thanks to Lee Seiler for his hospitality. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear enbplus3:

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
I loved to hear that Lee and our team took such great care of you.
Check us out again soon!

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

When a major rainstorm suspended flights from BWI this past Friday, I seized the opportunity to explore yet another Kimpton. Within 20 minutes of catching a cab, I was safely inside Hotel Monaco, a renovation of the landmark B&O Railroad Headquarters with stately marble columns and stairways. Matching the gorgeous interior was a friendly and welcoming staff ready to address my lack of luggage (the overnight supply kit was perfect). Kudos to Simon, Christina, Vijal and Chanelle for transforming my travel adversity into an exceeding pleasant evening (and wishing me a very happy birthday)!

My suite including a living room, huge bath and well-appointed bedroom also offered a lovely view of the downtown area. I might have ordered room service given the expansive menu but opted to visit the on-site restaurant that is excellent. My only regret was booking a flight so early the following day that I did not have a chance to use the fitness center or enjoy the many nearby attractions. Great space; I recommend it highly and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear ellengallagher:

Sounds like you need to come back real soon so you can check out all we have to offer!
Our team loves to hear feedback like this. Please know I will be sure to share this with all of them.

See you soon,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

As with all Kimpton Hotels, the Monaco Baltimore is the definition of excellence in every way! Starting with the warm greeting, curbside, you enter the historic B&O Railroad building to the distinctive Kimpton smell -- fresh, clean, inviting, memorable! Ms. Erica, assisted us, pre-trip, by sharing the highlights of the city she clearly loves -- she helped us plan a day-by-day itinerary of Baltimore. What a great city to visit! Simon and Christina greeted us at the desk -- it felt like homecoming, though it was our first visit to the Monaco, in Baltimore. The room was immaculate, beautifully designed and luxuriously comfortable! The public rooms in the hotel are gorgeous, and inviting -- don't miss the opportunity to linger by the see-through fireplace. We can't wait to return -- thank you for such an outstanding experience!

Room Tip: All rooms in Kimpton Hotels are outstanding...you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Nbkatz1218:

We can't wait for you to come back either.
Love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to let our team know they made your stay memorable.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DETROIT
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I just got back from the Monaco and it was terrific!!!! Staff was great and always had a smile on their faces. The 1 hour Reception was awesome, they served Red & White Wine and Melon wrapped in Proscuitto (scrumptious). I didn't eat at their Restaurant but I heard it was great as well. I don't know if the hotel was packed but it sure didn't feel like it but I know there were two weddings because I saw the brides. If you need a place to stay, I would definite recommend this location, please do not stay at the Radisson around the corner pay extra to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, General Manager at Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
MYMYMY70:

Thank you for your great feedback!
Check us out again very soon as our team is always looking for new ways to WOW our guests.

See you soon,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#9 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Hotel Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Hotel Monaco Baltimore surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Baltimore, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.