We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we took the time to go.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgar Allan Poe's Grave Site and Memorial

Edgar Allan Poe's Grave Site and Memorial
Westminster Cemetery on the southeast corner of Fayette and Greene sts., Baltimore, MD
410-706-2072
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 133 Attractions in Baltimore
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Burial site of the famous author.
Hartwell, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Glad we took the time to go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

It was a little off our trail, but we were glad we went. Poe's grave is nice, but the rest of the cemetary was worth our time. It is a block away from the Circulator's Orange Line stop at U of M Medical Center.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    25
    15
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is great for fans of Poe and American history. Our hotel was a couple of blocks away and we decided to visit the site last minute. It is definitely worth the visit if you have time. Even if the gates are closed you can still see Poe's gravesite and memorial from the sidewalk. Definitely take the time to walk through the whole cemetery and admire the architecture. Influential people who helped shape Baltimore during the Revolutionary War and the War of 1812 are buried here and signs are posted to give you a little history lesson on them.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“See the whole graveyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

If you can spare an extra 20 minutes, make sure to go around back where other notables are buried. Poe's grave is only one of the treasures.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A great piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I really enjoyed visiting this site. Not only is Poe buried here, but many influential people in the Revolutionary War and the War of 1812 are also buried in this piece of the past. The church that was built directly over the cemetery was nice as well. Signs posted throughout the cemetery give information on the history of the people buried within its grounds. It was interesting and enjoyable to visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really not a safe neighborhood!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stopped by here the same day that I tried to visit the "World Famous Lexington Market." There are some bad things that go down there and I was concerned for my safety with the people that were near the Grave Site and memorial.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edgar Allan Poe's Grave Site and Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Edgar Allan Poe's Grave Site and Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgar Allan Poe's Grave Site and Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.