We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location, friendly staff and great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Downtown Baltimore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Downtown Baltimore to your Saves list
Quality Inn Downtown Baltimore
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #45 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Chester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top location, friendly staff and great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

We booked this hotel on price and so were not expecting the best but were pleasantly surprised. The staff were really helpful and the location great - can walk everywhere of interest to us tourists, including the baseball game we went to.

The breakfast was yummy - much better than normal for complimentary breakfasts.

The room was Ok - clean. Quite small and a bit dark but great for one night. The shower was good and the sinks etc.. no probs.

Recommended for a cheap place to stay - not a special occasion.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    59
    44
    32
    38
See reviews for
27
42
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

My wife and I drove down to Baltimore for an overnight crab filled excursion from NY. We did not want to spend a lot of money so this place was the best place for us. We are very simple people who were looking for a bargain. Take that as the mindset when reading my review:

First, location, not in the best part of Baltimore, but certainly not the worst. I actually think I drove through the worst part of Baltimore when trying to find this place. St. Paul St turns into Light Street by Inner Harbor, so it's just a simple 10 minute walk to everything by the Harbor. We walked during the day from the hotel to the harbor with no problems. There are a lot of office building lining this block, so I felt pretty safe. However, we walked back at night and of course all of the building were closed so there wasn't as much pedestrian traffic. I didn't feel totally safe, but safe enough to walk back to the hotel. We saw several homeless people, but that's about it.

Check-in: No problem here, but of course this is on a case to case basis. We arrived on a Wednesday but we arrived at noon and they had a room for us (2pm checkin time)

Parking: There is none, and you have to pay. Good thing is that the parking garage next door is relatively safe. No problems parking my car here overnight. Also, there is no dedicated drop-off/loading area. You need to double park or park in the garage and then go check in.

Room: Like I stated earlier, we were looking to save money. We had the smallest room, but it was enough. Any longer than a couple of nights might have been too much. But, we literally only slept and showered there as we spent all of our time outside of our room.

Some minor points, they did have a safe, but it was locked. The sink was outside of the bathroom. And the towel rack was broken off. Oh well, we saved money here to spend it someplace else.

This place wasn't bad to save money, but doesn't offer some niceties. If you're looking for a full-service hotel, go someplace else. If you want to save money and stay at a safe decent hotel, then stay here.

Oh as for cleanliness, it was okay. My wife and I are very clean people and noted that this place wasn't the cleanest, but it was just ok.

These are the places we at:
Lunch: Koko's Pub (outside of Baltimore Inner Harbor area, but good crabcakes)
Dinner: L.P. Steamers
Dessert: Vaccaro's
Breakfast: Miss Shirley's

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,va
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

i have written a blogspot to detail our trip and the pain this place brought our family. i hope you will be smart and read this blogspot.

http://hatequalityinn.blogspot.com/

we had to change rooms 4 times never room ready by 2pm checkin

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

My husband and I, along with another couple, reserved our rooms at the beginning of August for an overnight stay on August 29th. Reservation was for a queen size room with check in at 2pm and check out at noon on Sunday. We arrived at 2:15 Sat. 8/29 to only 1 room being ready for check in. So we checked in and allowed the other couple to hang out with us til their room was ready. About 20 min. later they called up to let us know the other room was ready, at which time I requested to be moved to another room since the security lock on the door had been busted off, and I did not feel safe enough in that area, having been asked on the way in by a homeless person for money. They said they would not to keep us side by side, I explained that was fine with us, safety was more important to us. They moved us from room 204 to room 404 which that room did not have a security lock either. They said they would need some time, so we left our numbers for them to call us at since we had already spent over an hour trying to get rooms straight, and we had other things to do than to wait longer. They called around 4pm and said they had 2 rooms side by side ready and they have upgraded us to King rooms. We were very appeciative, and returned to get the rooms and put our things away before going to the baseball game, to arrive to once again only one room being ready. Son once again we placed everyones stuff into one room, checked the room that was not ready since the cleaner was in there cleaning to make sure locks were on the doors, and they were, so rooms looked great, after another 45 min. wait we left once again with both room keys in hand. Upon arriving back to the hotel after the game at 12:20am, to a notice posted on the only elevator door "Rooms 412 and 413 (with our names) please come to the front desk. What ever happened to guest privacy. The notice was so they could inform us that they had once again switched our rooms, because someone was already occupying room 412, (keep in mind we had already inspected the room earlier and there were no ones belongings in the room) so once again we had to move all of our belongings at 12:30 in the morning to another room. So in less than 24 hours in their hotel I had 4 different rooms. Not to mention that the staff was extremely rude, after requesting to be moved so I could sleep feeling safe, and I was asked only asked a total of 4 times in less than 24 hours for money by people loitering in front of the hotel. This was the worst experience I have ever had in my many years of traveling. Oh I forgot to mention that there was also no hotel manager available for us to speak to the entire time we were there. I must sum up my rating: the rooms even though extremely small (my sons room over a one car garage is bigger than the king size room bathroom included) were very clean once they were finally ready, the service sucked, the location is bad unless you don't mind people begging for money, value was ok for when we stayed, would not think of paying a penny more for the size of the room and service received, rooms once again extremely small.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We just returned from a weekend in Baltimore and stayed at the Quality Inn downtown. It was great! It was clean and close to all the downtown attractions. We appreciated being able to get breakfast in the lobby in the mornings, something many downtown hotels don't include with their rate. The staff was friendly and went way beyond the call of duty! After checking out of the hotel we went to BWI via light rail to catch our flight home. Upon trying to check in at the airport, I discovered I had left my wallet (with ID) in our hotel room. With only one hour until time to board our flight, I called the hotel to check on my wallet. They checked the room and found it, however there was not enough time for me to make a round-trip from the airport to the hotel in time to catch our flight. The lady at the desk suggested that she could call a cab driver that she knew was very trustworthy and have him bring it to the airport for me. Wow! She did just that and my wallet arrived just in time for me to catch my flight home. The Quality Inn is a great place to stay with awesome, caring staff!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

I can't tell you how surprised I was to see how nice this place was. One doesn't really associate Quality Inn with luxury (I don't at least), but this place really was luxurious. It's in a beautiful historical building in a great location in downtown Bmore. The lobby was really pretty, with an intricate ceiling and a nice sitting area with a big flat screen TV. The room was just as nice. Nice crown-molding on the ceiling, big wooden doors, a new, modern-styling and clean bathroom, big window (even the view kinda sucked), comfy beds, flat-screen TV, and great amenities (toothbrushes, coffee machine, shower slippers, WiFi, complimentary breakfast, etc). All-around great hotel for a great deal.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Beautiful hotel. rooms are extremely clean and heavy curtains are wonderful to make the night last into the morning! very quiet, though a/c was rather loud. I will outline the problems I had, but I still totally recommend this hotel. The price was great and the rooms were extremely clean, nicely decorated and a very short walk to the Harbor area. They also will soon be adding a lounge/bar off of the lobby.

The problems though mostly revolved around the parking and unloading. There is no unloading area to get out luggage and go to check in and the closest parking facility closes very early. even earlier on weekend nights?? (at 6pm)

I had a king room and it was a bit of a squeeze. the desk chair was over by room door as you couldn't actually put it in front of the desk lol

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Downtown Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown Baltimore

Address: 110 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Downtown Baltimore 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn Downtown hotel in Baltimore MD near Inner Harbor's National Aquarium. Ideally located in the heart of the city, the Quality Inn® Downtown hotel is close to all the best Baltimore, Maryland offers. Local points of interest like the National Aquarium in Baltimore and the Port Discovery Children's Museum are all just minutes away.Additional area attractions close to this Baltimore, MD hotel include:•Baltimore Convention Center•M&T Bank Stadium, home of the NFL's Baltimore Ravens•The France-Merrick Performing Arts Center•The Walters Art Museum•Lyric Opera HouseThe nearby Harborplace & The Gallery shopping, dining and entertainment district offers something for everyone. Whether you want to stroll along the banks of the Inner Harbor, enjoy a delightful meal or peruse countless shops looking for that must-have item, this venue has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Downtown Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Quality Inn Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Downtown Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.