We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Fun Exhibits” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jewish Museum of Maryland

Jewish Museum of Maryland
15 Lloyd Street, Baltimore, MD 21202
+1 410-732-6400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 316 things to do in Baltimore
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The past becomes reality for thousands of visitors to this museum and library dedicated to teaching about the Jewish experience, and helping to keep the Jewish heritage alive. Enjoy 2 permanent exhibits and 1 rotating exhibit gallery, as well as tours of 2 historic synagogues. Come and see the newest, family friendly exhibit: The A-Mazing Mendes Cohen!
Beit Shemesh, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Two Fun Exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The special exhibit when we visited was loads of fun - the history of Jews and comic books! This exhibit was both light-hearted and interesting. The permanent exhibit on the history of Jewish Baltimore was done with a lot of sensitivity and included many interesting artifacts. Worth seeing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Small and could be more informative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was surprised how little there was. The small exhibit 'Voices of lombard Street,' was ok for telling the 20th century history. Maybe kids would like the feeling of the time - they have done a good job at making it "living". I had hoped for more history ofthe jewish community, especially before.
A new exhibit was about "superheroes" Superman, Batman. Mainly old copies and a bit about the jewish creators behond these. Not much.
I did not take the synagoge tour which might explain my less than impressed review.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“interesting Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Enjoyed the museum and the, 'Voices of lombard Street,' It was an excellent exhibit. Many other interesting artifacts and history. Great place to visit for both adults and children.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Two synagogues, each from a different century, representing the evolution of American Judaism, give the visitor a sense of our country's unique character.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, NJ
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Tour a Synogogue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

The Jewish Museum of Maryland, only a short distance from the Inner Harbor, is dedicated to preserving the history of the Jewish Community in Baltimore. The museum itself has exhibits dedicated to the history of Jews in Baltimore, which had a large community in the Lombard Street district at the turn of the century. Another exhibit explored the efforts of the Pope to bring reconciliation between people of the Jewish and Christian faiths.

On either side of the museum are two synogogues. The Education Director led us on a tour of each one. The Lloyd Street Synogogue is the third oldest in the country. Built in 1845, it resembles a Supreme Court building on the outside and does not have any distinctive Jewish symbals. The Torah scrolls in the front were rescued from Europe after World War II and, thankfully, somehow survived even though they were disrespectfully tossed aside. It is no longer being used for worship, but is now a museum. The B'nai Israel Synogogue, built in the late 1800's, has an active, Orthodox congregation. The building looks more distinctly Jewish. Inside you can see the podium where the Rabbi speaks, the Israeli flag, the Torah scrolls, the Ten Commandments, Star of David and other Jewish symbals.

It was very interesting to see how the Jewish people worship. I am not Jewish, but as a Christian, my faith is rooted in Judaism, so I have a tremendous amount of respect and admiration for the Jewish faith and culture. This was my first visit to a synogogue. I learned quite a bit about the service and noticed many similarities to a typical church. Afterwards, we stopped at the gift shop and my daughter bought flash cards to learn the Hebrew alphabet.

When visitors come to Baltimore, this probably is not the first place on their itinerary. However, it is worth a visit. The Jewish people take their faith very seriously and there is much we can learn from them.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish Museum of Maryland also viewed

 

Been to Jewish Museum of Maryland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewish Museum of Maryland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.