We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Fell's Point” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Admiral Fell Inn to your Saves list
Admiral Fell Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231 (Fells Point)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Viewtown, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Fell's Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had a great stay at the Admiral Fell Inn last week. We knew we did not want to stay in a cookie-cutter chain hotel in the Inner Harbor, and ran across the AFI on the web. The hotel is very quaint and well-maintained (some reviewers noted that it was "old," but it is historic, i.e., has character, w/boutique-quality touches). Our room had two double beds and was just perfect for 2 adults and 1 child. We requested a room on the quiet side, which I would recommend if you're concerned about noise (esp. on weekends). It was super quiet (4th floor, Rm 418) and had no issues with the room. I can't say enough great things about all of the staff, particularly Roland, one of the shuttle drivers, the valets (would recommend just using valet for your stay since everything is in walking distance and/or you can use the hotel shuttle or Charm City Circulator or water taxi), the folks at the front desk and the gentleman who does the Ghost Tour.

I would recommend the Ghost Tour, as it's not the expected cheesy set of ghost stories, but instead gives you the background of the area, the hotel itself (made up of I believe 5-7 historic buildings), the Fell family, etc. We made sure to go down Shakespeare Street to see the Fell Family burial area after learning about it from the guide (I wish I could remember his name, he was wonderful). After the tour you get a complimentary drink at the pub (great bartender).

We did not eat at the hotel, as there were a lot of great places nearby (Bonaparte Breads, Riptide by the Bay, Papis Tacos were all yummy), but the pub was cute.

Again, I just can't get over how friendly and helpful all the staff were -- genuinely nice people, not just faking it for their job. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Fell's Point.

Room Tip: Request the quiet area of the hotel (we were in 418) if you want to avoid noise that may come from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
donkeyowner, thank you for writing a fantastic review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are absolutely thrilled to hear you had an extremely enjoyable experience at our hotel.

We're glad you felt our hotel's historic character was properly maintained and presented appropriately. We've worked very hard to ensure our hotel is kept modern while still incorporating the truly rich history around our building and the surrounding area of Fell’s Point.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how helpful members of our team were. We'll make sure to let Roland and everyone else know of all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    203
    64
    55
    36
See reviews for
132
372
45
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here through a Groupon voucher. Due to weather we could not keep our original reservations but they (Admiral Fell) were nice enough to change our dates and keep the rates low. Getting to the hotel was WORK :) SO many oneway streets and traffic was busy. Once we got there, no parking! NEVER been to a hotel that had NO parking. You either pay the parking garage, 2 blocks away or you pay for valet. WOW! That would have been nice to know up front. We are from out of town, so we had no clue and were pretty much stuck since we had made the 4+ hours trip. The valet serviced is a DAILY charge. The hotel is old, so I expected the creaking floors and such. But not be right next to the ice machine, we heard all day and night....LOUD! Not to mention our room was right over the tavern so we heard the partying ALL night and into the early morning. I'm a light sleeper, so needless to say, I didn't get much sleep during my stay. We were told, after we checked out, we should have asked for a "quiet room." REALLY?! Like we knew that! The rooms have no fridges or microwaves, so you are forced to eat out and throw away your leftovers if you have any. Oh, did I mention the barking dog next door to our room?! Every little noise caused this dog to bark....day and night. If I walked to my bathroom (creaking floors), he barked. If we turned on the shower, he barked. If we walked in/out our room, he barked. I know it's a pet friendly hotel but guests with pets should be kept separate from guests without. Another thing, the extra charges you are not told about. We were charged an extra $9.95, a day, for "guest services" WHICH we were not told we had paid for until we checked out. Its an automatic charge, so we should have been at least briefed on it. That's why I took my Fiji water when we checked out (that was included in the guest services package). NOW, the only thing that caused me to give this hotel a 3 star vs a 2 or 1 is the location. There is something to do and plenty of places to eat. We really enjoyed the places we ate at, Vikki's and Sal's Seafood...also Green Turtle. Wanted to try so many others :) but we didn't have enough time. If the weather had been warmer, we'd try the boat trips. We liked the area very much BUT we will definitely be staying at another hotel when we visit again. Thanks again for changing our reservations and such but no thank you. Also, the staff was VERY nice and courteous. Very friendly. Valet parker was prompt considering he was the only one.

Room Tip: Ask for a "quiet room" to avoid the tavern under the hotel. DO not get a room by the vend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Our friends made the arrangements -- booking a package that included breakfast, water taxi tickets, museum tickets etc. When we arrived the front desk had the reservations but couldn't find any of the tickets. It took about 1/2 hour. Once they found the tickets they forgot to give us the breakfast vouchers. This could have all been overlooked except the friends that made the arrangements had the most disgusting room. We didn't know this until the next day, but their carpet was filthy, as was the curtains and chairs. The sink was broken and the toilet did not work. Based on our room, I would have recommended this hotel but not now.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My pirate reenactment group and I stayed at the admiral fell inn for privateer weekend. From the second we arrived they went above and beyond. Mario the GM was wonderful he was with us for our entire stay making sure everything went perfectly and got us anything we needed. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Annemarie D, thank you for choosing to stay with us during The Privateer Festival, and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a thoughtful review. We couldn't be happier to hear everyone in your group thoroughly enjoyed their time at our hotel.

We absolutely love the festival. Fell's Point is transformed into a town filled with pirates. It's also a real treat for guests who aren't partaking in the event to be surrounded by a pretty incredible sight! We saw you mentioned how Mario went above and beyond to ensure everything you needed was attended to. We'll make sure to let him, and everyone else know you were impressed.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to write a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our property, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you next year! Arrrrrrr!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel is amazing. The staff particularly the general manager paid attention to detail, genuinely concerned for the guests. We had a problem with our dinner reservations for 30 and he helped us right away. The renovations on their new brunch area and the fact they are doing it is true to the time period of this historical hotel. They quaint bar downstairs is a nice break from the crowds and noise of the local bars. We will definately go back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Lucretia123, we want to thank you for writing a phenomenal review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are absolutely thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how wonderful members of our team were. We are extremely fortunate to have such caring individuals working with us. They really do go above and beyond to ensure everything is always perfect for our guests. We'll make sure to let them know of all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a fantastic review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I eloped to Baltimore and knew we wanted to stay at Admiral Fell Inn for our mini honeymoon. We had stayed there four years ago and loved it. We opted for the fourth floor with balcony. The view was great and didn't have the street noise we had experienced on the second floor. The staff was awesome. As soon as they found out we were newlyweds, they went above and beyond. Steve, the bartender in the Tavern, knows how to make a great drink. Tell him what you like and let him guide you to something different and you won't be disappointed. Mario, the GM, was always around helping his staff where needed. The location is great because it is close enough to walk to the Inner Harbor or take the water taxi right out front. There are great food options in the Inn as well as all around it. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Fourth floor with balcony worth it! High enough to not get street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
A B, thank you for your continuous patronage to our hotel, and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a fabulous review. We are incredibly happy to hear you and your husband decided to return after 4 years and celebrate your mini honeymoon at The Admiral Fell Inn.

You definitely picked one of the best places to stay in our hotel. The views from the 4th floor can't be beat. It's great to know our staff went above and beyond to make your special celebration even more memorable. We'll make sure to pass your kind comments onto Steve, Mario and everyone else.

Having quick access to the water taxi from our hotel is a definite plus. Whether walking to Inner Harbor, or taking the water taxi, there is no denying it's very easy to get around the area!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to write a spectacular review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We can't wait to see you both back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The Admiral Fell Inn is perfect. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are charming and clean. The location could not be better. Your are in walking distance to restaurants, night life and tourist attractions. My husband and I stay here every time we visit Baltimore.

Room Tip: We love the rooms that have view of the square and the water taxis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
sassyjenny, thank you for writing a spectacular review, and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage. We are extremely glad to hear you and your husband always have a fabulous time at our hotel.

As you mentioned in your review, we are very lucky to have such amazing people working with us. They really do go the extra mile to ensure everything is always perfect for our guests. We'll make sure to let everyone here know of all your kind comments.

In your writeup, you commented on all the wonderful restaurants, tourist attractions and other night life venues surrounding our hotel. Make no mistake, our property is located in a very prime spot within Fell's Point!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We look forward to seeing you both back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Address: 888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#11 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Fell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.