We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Admiral Fell Inn to your Saves list
Admiral Fell Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231 (Fells Point)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Franklin Park, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overall Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My Wife and I have stayed at the Admiral Fell in twice. Our most recent stay gave me the most contact with the staff and facilities offered at the hotel. From start to end, the staff was polite and went out of their way. Mario, the general manager, checked us in and did an amazing job throughout the weekend of making us feel special for our anniversary (a better job than the hotel we stayed at on our wedding night). A card was left in our room, we were given a complimentary taste of their award winning eggnog at the bar, and Mario ensured that other staff members were aware that we were celebrating a special occasion.

We also took part in the hotel 'Ghost Tour'. While the tour was mostly historic, with a few anecdotes about ghosts, this was perfect for making you feel comfortable while staying in the hotel and not afraid to go to sleep later than night.

Later that evening we spent time in the hotel bar, the 'Tavern at the Admiral'. Steve, the bartender, is one of the best bartenders I have encountered in a long time. I say this not because he made amazing drinks (although this is true as well), but because he interacted with every single guest, was always pleasant, and never seemed rushed even when the bar got crowded. It was quite amazing how this type of atmosphere brought people together.

The combination of these experiences made it feel as if we were waking up in our own house the next morning, or spending time at a family reunion. It has been a long time since I have felt this comfortable at a hotel.

Room Tip: Considering that nothing is perfect, the one drawback to the hotel is the bar scene nearby. This is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
David B, thank you for your continuous patronage and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a phenomenal review. We are thrilled to hear that you and your wife had another incredible experience at our property.

We always encourage guests to go on our ghost tour if they can. Not only will you learn a lot of history about our hotel and the surrounding area, you'll also hear some stories about ghost sightings that have occurred at our property. The good thing is that all of our ghosts are indeed friendly and if anything, they’re pranksters!

There's no denying that we have a truly wonderful team of people at our location. We'll make sure to let Mario, Steve and everyone else know they did an amazing job making your latest visit a great success.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    206
    64
    55
    36
See reviews for
132
377
46
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Spent one night at Admiral Fell Inn enroute to NYC. First visit to Fells Point, and the inn is centrally located with many pubs, restaurants and shopping sites nearby. Receptionist Chrissy was very helpful with the checkin and orientation. We declined the valet parking and instead found a parking garage a block away on Caroline Street that worked out fine, and at a considerable savings. The Inn has a continuous shuttle with stops and Johns Hopkins and two other properties in the inner harbor. The shuttle was great for an orientation tour, and we were able to explore the inner harbor after departing the shuttle. The inn offered a "ghost tour" followed by a managers reception in the Admiral Tavern. The tour was a one hour history of the property, which is actually 7 buildings brought together to form the inn. The guide was enthusiastic and entertaining. Complimentary cocktails followed in the tavern. Steve the bartender was very helpful in recommending restaurants and points of interest to check out. Our room was in a far corner of the 3rd floor. Very nice, hardwood floors, updated bath and a good heat source (it was in the 20s that night). If you have trouble with stairs, let reception know, as we had to navigate 2 sets of stairs after exiting the elevator. We had upgraded to a package which included a bottle of wine in the room, and breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was very limited, and with so many dining options in the area near the inn, we would not opt for the $25 upgrade again. For a quick trip to Baltimore, the inn was a nice choice and we plan on visiting again in the warmer weather. Lots of history and much more charm than the bigger chain hotels in the inner harbor.

Room Tip: be sure to inquire if you have to navigate stairs to reach your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Steve N, we want to thank you for writing a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us on your way to New York City. We are extremely happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable experience at our hotel.

We're glad that you were able to go on our ghost tour! We always recommend guests go on it if they have the opportunity. There's no denying that our hotel and the Fell's Point area has some very interesting history.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how help our staff was. We are very lucky to have such amazing people working with us. They really do go above and beyond to ensure that everything is always perfect for our guests. We'll make sure to let Chrissy and everyone else know they did a fantastic job serving you.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that his kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our property, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you in the warmer months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the Admiral Fell Inn and the room was fine. But to my surprise, I was invoiced twice for the room. The manager refused to believe that fact even though I presented all the coroborating data. Finally after I mentioned that my brother stayed there at the same time and could they have confused the credit cards he took a moment to review the situation and said there was a credit memo in my favor. I had to ask when did that occur and he mentioned a second ago. Ok, you found the mistake and then won't admit it until I press for more info. I had to ask for a copy of the credit memo. The manager refused to give me his last name. Nice place but nobody home who can deal with a mistake on the part of mangement

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Terry G, thank you for sharing your experience from your stay at our hotel. We are very disappointed to hear that there were some complications in regards to the invoicing of your room.

Please know that we have passed along your review to our management team and they will be taking a closer look into the incident and who was involved. Thank for sharing this with us and we appreciate your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for one night and it was a great experience. The hotel is not your typical hotel. The rooms are very quaint and clean. we had a balcony overlooking the street. The Staff was very friendly and nice. The location is great very accessible to the bars and restaurants in the area. We will definitely come back and stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
sigrid u, we want to thank you for writing an incredible review and we'd also like to thank you for staying with us. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our property.

As you mentioned in your review, we definitely aren't your typical hotel! There is a lot of interesting history surrounding our location that adds a lot of character to it. We're glad that you enjoyed this and also loved your accommodations.

From reading over your write-up, we saw your comments in regards to our amazing staff. We are extremely fortunate to have such amazing people working with us. We will absolutely make sure to let them know of all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future stay at our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed in room 211 at this hotel in Dec. 2009 and again in Dec. 2012 and now again in Dec. 2013. In Dec. 2012 I wrote a review suggesting that room 211 needed a good "house cleaning" since it seemed the same dirt was there since 2009. They took my suggestion. We were happily surprised to see that this room was cleaned, re-painted and the dirty carpet was replaced by a nice laminate flooring. My husband thinks and I agree - laminate flooring is the way all hotels should go since who knows what was spilled into the carpet. The pillows were still very uncomfortable they should be replaced. This year the event we attended was a Casino Night with hors d'oeuvres being served, rather than a buffet dinner. Since in 2012 we were very disappointed in the selection of the buffet and that they did not have enough food for the crowd; this year serving hors d'oeuvres was nice and they seemed to have plenty and a lot of variety. The hotel staff did a nice job of offering the hors d'oeuvres and running the Casino games. Admiral Fell Inn is a very charming hotel and the front desk staff and valet are very nice, friendly and eager to please. The lobby is decorated for the holidays beautifully.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dee1Dee, thank you for your continuous patronage to our property and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a nice review. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had another enjoyable experience at our hotel.

We did indeed take your advice! In addition to your room, we've been in the process of revitalizing and refurbishing many aspects of our hotel. From the floors to the walls, a lot of care has gone into these efforts.

We're disappointed to hear that you weren't satisfied with your pillows. We are going to pass this information along to our housekeeping department.

We want to thank you for adding those wonderful pictures to your review! We love seeing photos that guests take from their stay. It adds a nice perspective for those reading your review. We also want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to write a kind review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future stay at our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at The Admiral Fell Inn while visiting Little Italy and hanging out at Fell's Point. This place was so much fun and the staff was awesome!! Mario, the hotel manager greeted us as soon as we arrived and offered his personal care our whole stay. Steven at the downstains bar was terrific. He was so friendly and enjoyed his guests so much making us his favorite drinks. I can't say enough about what a wonderful time we had at the Inn. Rooms were all unique and charming, so clean and comfortable. FUN TIME!! Will go back again and again.

Room Tip: Get a room with the water and city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Sandie G, we want to thank you for writing a phenomenal review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are extremely happy to hear you had a wonderful experience while staying at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how wonderful our team was. We are extremely fortunate to have such amazing people working with us. They really do go above and beyond to ensure that everything is always perfect for our patrons. We'll make sure to let Mario, Steven and everyone else know how impressed you were.

One of the nice aspects of our hotel is how truly unique each of our guests rooms are. The interesting history of our hotel and the surrounding area of Fell's Point definitely adds a lot of character to our property.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a fantastic review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Great fun. Room was plenty big but could have used a bigger place to hang clothes. Easy to get to the inner harbor. Lots of great pubs with live music. The staff was very nice and solicitous. You will be in the heart of an energetic community so it is not quiet but that was what we were looking for. If you want to stay in an unique part of Baltimore with locally owned businesses this is it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Jane L, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore and we'd also like to thank you for leaving an incredible review. We couldn't be happier to hear that you loved our hotel and had an enjoyable time.

We absolutely cherish our location. Whether it's the charming feel of Fell's Point, or the locally owned shops nestled all around us, the area is teeming with character and history. If you didn't get the opportunity during your stay, you definitely need to go on our ghost tour! You'll learn a lot of history about our hotel and the surrounding area. Maybe even see a ghost too!

We'll make sure to let everyone know they did a fantastic job making your time here a memorable one. We've got some of the best people around and we're very proud of them. We will certainly let them know of all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We really appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write a phenomenal review. We hope you realize how much it truly means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Address: 888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#11 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Fell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.