We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Great Location, Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Admiral Fell Inn to your Saves list
Admiral Fell Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231 (Fells Point)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Davis, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Great Location, Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Admiral Fell at the tail end of a business trip. Excellent location in Fells Point -- near the water taxis and hustling, bustling square & main streets lined with a cornucopia of restaurants, shops, & pubs. Exceptionally warm and welcoming staff ranging from Hakeem at the front desk, Mario the hotel manager, and Steve the bartender and resident ghost tour guide. Free drink ticket with your ghost tour & Steve is a really fun host. The rooms are clean and roomy, the hotel lounge/bar is lively & full of good conversation & friendly travelers, and the history of the building is fascinating. I didn't experience noise issues described by some, even though my room faced the main st. (Thames). I did hear occasional outside activity up until 11:30pm but nothing out of the ordinary or rude or disturbing. The loudest noises actually came from a few guests running around the hallways on my floor inside the hotel, in the late morning and early afternoon when I checked in. It didn't last long & I think it was a family with kids. All and all, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Admiral Fell and would go back to stay if my journeys took to the area again. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
hollisJ_dr, we want to thank you for leaving a spectacular review and we'd also like to thank you for staying with us during your time in Baltimore. We're incredibly happy to hear that you had an amazing experience at our hotel.

You wouldn't be the first guest to comment on how prime our location is. Our convenient position makes it easy for our guests to experience Fell's Point at its best. After reading your comments, we saw you mentioned how wonderful members of our staff were. We are extremely lucky to have such thoughtful people working with us. They really do go above and beyond to ensure that everything is always perfect for our guests. We'll definitely make sure to let Hakeem, Mario, Steve and the others of your kind words.

We love the pictures you added to your review! We have some interesting ghost stories that we've heard from past guests about these sites. If you ever come back and visit, you'll have to ask about them.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to write a fabulous review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our property, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    206
    64
    55
    36
See reviews for
132
375
46
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

It was my birthday night and was celebrating in fells point. So we got a room to spend the night, we live in the suburbs of Baltimore, didn't want to start driving back home. Tried to make it a little getaway but it just didn't feel like I was away from home. The room was clean, well kept. We stayed in one of the rooms facing the square on a Saturday night, I would say it remained noisy till very early morning hours, so bad idea if you want to sleep but it was fun watching everything going on in the square at night. Service was good, front desk was helpful. Hakeem was great!
I probably won't stay here again though, it doesn't have a hotel feeling to it. It just depends on personal preferences.

Room Tip: Note your rooms may be facing the square, could remain noisy till early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Jemi B, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your birthday night and, we'd also like to thank you for writing a great review. We are glad to hear that you felt that our accommodations were pleasant and that our staff was personable and helpful.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how you were able to hear some of the sound from the square outside. Being a fellow Baltimorean, we’re sure you know that Fell's Point can certainly be a lively place. We have worked to try and soundproof our windows as much as possible. If you do decide to stay with us again, we can certainly make sure that your room is not overlooking the busy square.

If you're looking for a hotel that feels a bit more like a typical hotel and doesn't have a historic feel, our sister property, The Pier 5 Hotel, may be a great fit! It's located near all of the action in Inner Harbor and the views can't be beat!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Outstanding hotel! Excellent location in Fells Point. Great staff! Warm and welcoming facility. Steve the bartender is precious! Free cheese and nut plate in bar every night! Stephen the ghost tour guide is a blast! Free drink ticket at end of ghost tour. Wonderful brunch. And if you're the mayor of the hotel on foursquare, they give you a $50 dining voucher!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Brittany W, we want to thank you for leaving an incredible review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at our property.

Our bar is definitely a great place to relax. We agree that the combination of Steve's presence and the free nightly cheese and nut plate make for a very enjoyable experience. We are delighted to hear that you were able to partake in our ghost tour. We always recommend our guests go. You learn a lot about the history of our hotel and the Fell's Point area.

We are indeed on foursquare and like to generously reward our current mayor! Being a historic hotel, we love to mix the old with the new and integrate today's digital and social revolution into the history of our beautiful hotel.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to write a spectacular review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This review is a little late....but July 2013 was our 3rd visit to Admiral Fell and it was just as great as the first 2 times! We love all the employees that work there, they are really friendly and they seem to really want to get to know you, instead of just treating you as another guest. We met the manager Mario and enjoyed talking with him. He gave some great suggestions of restaurants/bars in the area. We enjoyed the bottle of wine in the room. We were also provided with some great discount coupons for local bars in the area. Some complain the hotel is out dated and needs updates. We have stayed in 2 different rooms and loved each of them. The room had nice hardwood floors along with a fridge/microwave. The hotel may be older, but it has character and is cozy. We like ghost tour of the hotel along with complimentary bar drink. I can't see how anyone would have anything negative to say! The shuttle that takes you over to the Pier 5/innner harbor area is very nice as well. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
stephanie341, thank you for writing an incredible review, and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage to our hotel. We couldn't be happier to hear that you always have an exceptional experience at our property.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how amazing members of our team were during your stay. We are extremely lucky to have such wonderful people working with us. They really do go above and beyond to ensure that everything is always perfect for our patrons. We'll certainly let them know of all the kind things you had to say.

As you stated in your review, some who have stayed with us have mentioned that our accommodations are old and perhaps dated. We have been recently undergoing many different renovations and revitalization efforts to certain aspects of our hotel. These efforts do not change the cozy feel and rich character that many love about our location, but instead strive to keep many of the historic aspects of our hotel in working and presentable order.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a fabulous review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

One gets a very warm welcome at this hotel. We stayed here because we had a doctor's appointment at John Hopkins. The shuttle service is outstanding - thanks Derek! Check in and valet parking superb - thanks Hakeem and Eric!
Dinner at the Tapas restaurant was a welcome pleasure after spending the day at the hospital.
Thanks again to Derek, Hakeem and Eric for making what was a stressful visit a little better.
Also, continental breakfast was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
patti982, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a phenomenal review. We couldn't be happier to hear that we were able to help make a stressful visit a bit more enjoyable.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how amazing members of our team were. We are extremely lucky to have such wonderful people working with us. They really do go above and beyond to ensure that everything is always perfect for our patrons. We'll make sure to let Derek, Hakeem, Eric and everyone else know what a positive impression they left.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave an incredible review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us! We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope you'll come back and visit us soon! Maybe next time for a much deserved vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was in Baltimore for eye surgery so when my sister and I arrived I must have made quite an appearance with half of my face covered with an eye patch and tape. Immediately there was someone to check us into the hotel, giving a choice of rooms and removing the car to safety. The Johns Hopkins discount was offered and all questions were answered with enthusiasm.
We got a bite to eat and then arrived back in the lobby in time for the Ghost Tour which gave us a tour of all seven old homes that make up the hotel. From the roof we got a spectacular view of the city at dusk. The public spaces are human sized and inviting with interesting relevant decorative information on the walls. The tour ended in the Irish Pub where Irish music is streamed from Ireland and where Steve holds forth behind the bar. The free Ghost Tour also comes with a free drink and nibbles of cheese, crackers and fruit. The atmosphere is perfect. The subject of dinner came up but no one wanted to go into the cold night air. Steve offered menu suggestions and volunteered to bring dinner back through the connecting underground passages- "over and above" the call of duty and much appreciated! After a good night's sleep we met the 6 am shuttle. Derrick was both competent and cheerful and delivered us to the proper part of the hospital for followup and when we were finished he delayed his departure briefly to connect with us seamlessly. All total ALL of the staff exhibited proficiency and enthusiasm for their work. We felt the positive energy from everyone. The room, the breakfast, the computer in the lobby...it all worked well together. On my next trip to Baltimore I'll come back.

Room Tip: The more you know about Baltimore, the more fun you will have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
May Day T, thank you for writing an incredible review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're glad that we were able to accommodate you during your medical treatment at Johns Hopkins.

We love hearing that you were able to make it on our ghost tour! We always recommend guests go on this if they have a chance. As you mentioned in your review, our rooftop does offer a picturesque view of the city.

Steve and all of our team are amazing. We are extremely lucky to have such wonderful people working with us. We'll make sure to let them know of all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a fabulous review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We visit Baltimore's Inner Harbor frequently and always spend most of our time in Fells Point. This was the first time that we stayed at the Admiral Fell Inn and were very pleased with the entire experience. The hotel is full of history and our room was clean and comfortable and offered a nice city view. Steve, the bartender in the lounge, served an excellent Pumpkin Spiced Cider. I asked Steve to make a martini using the cider and it turned out to be the perfect fall cocktail. So delicious! On the day we checked out we left our luggage in hotel lobby while retrieving our car from a nearby parking lot. We started driving around and were sidetracked and forgot to go back to the hotel to pick up the luggage, only to realize it after we arrived home. When I called, Hotel Manager Mario Corrado eased our minds by arranging to ship the luggage to our home. We received our luggage in one day, safe and sound. We couldn't have asked for better service, even after our stay. We are looking forward to returning to Baltimore in December and staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Paula G, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a fabulous review. We are very thrilled to hear that your first experience at our property was prime.

You're absolutely correct about the great history that fills our hotel as well as the Fell's Point area. If you weren't able to this visit, you definitely need to go on our ghost tour. You'll learn a lot of interesting historical facts about our property as well as the surrounding area.

We couldn't be happier to hear that you loved our Pumpkin Spiced Cider. Leave it to Steve to create a delicious cocktail with our Pumpkin Spiced Cider. It's a good thing you suggested it!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to write a fantastic review. We hope you realize how much we truly appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to your return visit in December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Address: 888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#11 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Fell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.