We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, comfortable hotel, worth a stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Admiral Fell Inn to your Saves list
Admiral Fell Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231 (Fells Point)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good location, comfortable hotel, worth a stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed for a night en route to Washington and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and the location. I loved the mix of old and new. The beds were comfortable, and our room was large accommodating two double beds, and we had no problems with noise. It was ideally located to explore around and about the area. The little notes about the names of each of the rooms was interesting!

Our only issue was being woken at 8am by repeated knocking, which turned out to be housekeeping. They then came back at 10am. When we mentioned it at reception, when checking out, we were told 'it's what they do, you need to put the 'do not disturb sign out'. Would gave been nice to have been told!

If you're a tea freak, like my friend us then their free tea is a great opportunity to fill your boots. The pastries and fruit are a good touch too.

Would go back to Baltimore again, and would stay here again too. Definitely worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Sarvegetable, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us on your journey to Washington and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a nice review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at our property.

There is certainly a lot of history in our hotel. We get a lot of positive remarks in regards to giving our rooms names after specific historical figures. We are glad to hear you liked this too!

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned about our Housekeeping team knocking on your door repeatedly. We'll be sure to instruct our front desk team to mention this to arriving guests so they know to put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the handle. Thank you for relaying this feedback to us!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot and when guests take the time out of their day to leave a kind review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    217
    71
    57
    36
See reviews for
141
403
48
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fox River Grove, IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just got back from a business trip in Baltimore and had the good fortune to have been booked at the Admiral Fell Inn. I have never been to Baltimore before but the Fells Point area is a historic and lively place to stay. The Inn is supposed to be the sixth most haunted hotel in the US. How that is determined I do not know but it looks the part. I found the rooms to be very comfortable and clean. I was staying on the second floor so I did hear a lot of street noise on Friday and Saturday. Like I said Fells Point is loaded with bars and restaurants so it is a party! I would not stay here with kids but for adults it is the place to be. The rooms are all updated with flat screens and Internet but still have that old hotel room charm.

The staff was great! Hakeem and Michael at the front desk were very helpful and you have to stop in the bar downstairs and have a drink with Steve the bartender. He is a great guy that will tell you all the ghost stories and more!! If you don't you missed part of the experience of staying there.

There is coffee and some pastries and fruit downstairs in the morning and free daily access to the Maryland Athletic Club a little walk away.

So thank you all guys at the hotel. Hopefully I will be back next year for the Natural Food Expo and see you then. Enjoy your Uncle Dougie's

Room Tip: Again a party area. If you are bothered by noise get a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Ironman_7, thank you for writing a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your business trip in Baltimore. We are extremely happy to hear that you had an amazing time at our hotel. We really enjoyed reading your review!

We love how aptly you described our accommodations! We are indeed a historic hotel that has been retrofitted for today's modern technologies and conveniences. As you mentioned, we are the 6th most haunted hotel in the US. You'd be surprised how many reports from guests and staff that we receive about paranormal activity in our hotel. Actually, if you head over to our Facebook, we just posted a picture that was sent to us by one of our patrons that certainly looks like a ghost!

We'll be sure to share your kind comments with Hakeem, Michael, Steve and everyone else here at The Admiral Fell Inn. We have such an amazing team of people working with us. We're glad that they made your time here even better.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Dirty, dusty, musty, old, unsafe - someone worked into my room while I was asleep. The hotel was apologetic but all they had to say in explanation was their computer thought the room was empty so a member of staff came in the room. I wondered if it was staff and what they came to the room to do.
Unfortunately, since the lights were off, I did not get to see who it was or I would have taken it up.

Very unsafe and noisy looking surroundings as well.

Room Tip: Keep away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location. Across street from water taxi. Several excellent restaurants within 3 blocks. Many popular bars for those looking for a drink. Parking is valet. Hotel staff is very accommodating. Especially Mario, one of the managers. Older building that has been refurbished. Smallish rooms but everything is clean. Beds could be a little better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
lgt190, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore and we'd also like to thank you for writing a great review. We're extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

It's very common for us to hear from patrons how much they love our location. As you mentioned, there is definitely no shortage of restaurants or bars around us, and let's not forget the convenient and quick access that the water taxi offers!

Upon reading your review, we saw you commented how helpful and accommodating our team was. We have some of the best staff around and we're so proud of all that they do. We will make sure to let everyone know of everything you had to say.

We have passed along your feedback about our beds onto our management team. We're always looking to make our guest experience even better. You're comments are very much appreciated.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. Please know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

On the plus side, this hotel does have historic charm. However, because I am not a big fan of visiting historic hotels for the sake of history alone, the negatives *far* outweighed the positives for me. My room was dirty (with hairs in the bathroom, dust on the furniture, and something sticky on the desk chair) and the furnishings/fixtures were dated (everything looked 20-30 years old). The only positive was that at least my room was relatively quiet. The original room I was assigned (I asked to switch right away) was *extraordinarily* noisy -- I could hear every voice and conversation from the street restaurant/bar below. The second room I was assigned did not have this problem.
I would highly recommend selecting a different hotel unless you are a big fan of historic hotels and you can overlook all of the other problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the AFI over Labor Day weekend (which happened to be Grand Prix Weekend). We were so glad that we stayed in Fells Point vs the Inner Harbor. Fells Point has all the historical charm of Baltimore and there is a lot to do there. AFI has smaller rooms and bathrooms but it's updated and clean. I am a light sleeper and was concerned about the noise comments. I asked for a room not on the street and has no problem with street noise. It's a little pricey for the type of hotel (same as a 4 star chain in the Inner Harbor) but the location is worth it. I wouldn't recommend it for a family with children but if you're a couple or friends who want to hang out. Just book it, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Tjacks019, we want to thank you for leaving a nice review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel over Labor Day weekend. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our property.

Fell's Point definitely has a much different look and feel compared to Inner Harbor. If you love history or you’re intrigued by its mystery, you'll love Fell's Point. The area certainly becomes lively at night and a lot of our regular patrons love that.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to write a kind review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Enjoyed four days at hotel for a conference. Great location and service. An abundance of entertainment options nearby. Already looking forward to next visit.
They did miss a wakeup call on one day but I was awake anyway so not a biggie.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
green4sd4, we want to thank you for writing a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Baltimore for your conference. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at our property.

We wanted to address the fact that we missed your wakeup call. We are extremely sorry about this. Please know that we have shared this information with our front desk team and have made sure to notify the accountable parties that this cannot happen again.

You're absolutely spot on in regards to the large amount of entertainment options. Fell's Point is definitely a great place and can be fun and lively during the evening.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Address: 888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#12 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Fell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.