We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Admiral Fell Inn to your Saves list
Admiral Fell Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231 (Fells Point)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed four days at hotel for a conference. Great location and service. An abundance of entertainment options nearby. Already looking forward to next visit.
They did miss a wakeup call on one day but I was awake anyway so not a biggie.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
green4sd4, we want to thank you for writing a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Baltimore for your conference. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at our property.

We wanted to address the fact that we missed your wakeup call. We are extremely sorry about this. Please know that we have shared this information with our front desk team and have made sure to notify the accountable parties that this cannot happen again.

You're absolutely spot on in regards to the large amount of entertainment options. Fell's Point is definitely a great place and can be fun and lively during the evening.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    206
    64
    55
    36
See reviews for
132
374
46
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Pictures look great & deceiving. Room was clean but out dated, location a little iffy at night or early morning- not sure how safe it is. The main problem for me were the towels which were stained and had holes in them. The hall way and elevator floor was extremely filthy. Wouldn't stay here the next time and the ratings are way too high for this place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
SoheilD, we want to thank you for sharing your feedback from your most recent stay at our property. We are unhappy to hear that you were disappointed with your stay.

Upon reading your review, we saw you mentioned how you felt your room was a bit dated. As you may know, our hotel is historic in nature. It's not that our hotel rooms are dated, it's that they are historic and keeping with the theme of our property!

We can assure you that Fell's Point is very safe. The area can get a bit lively at night, but that is no different from any other city.

We have passed along your comments about our towels, hallways and elevator onto our housekeeping team. That is absolutely unacceptable to us. Please know that this will be remedied.

We hope the despite your review, you'll come back and give us another chance.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I'm going to get right to the problems: There is no minibar or refrigeration in the room so there is no way for diabetics to keep vials of insulin cold and ice packs for the trip home frozen. There is no room service menu. There are directions to Vending, but it's only a soda machine. There was a cheap Cuisinart coffeemaker with Wolfgang Puck pods - accompanied by powdered creamer and and very little sweetener. And you can't order coffee. The hotel location is in the gentrified harbor area, and there are no coffee shops that open early (there is one where students hang out) and no Starbucks. There's no gym, no other services. When I drove up, a valet was very slow to take my bag into the lobby. I had to take my bag to my room. And the reverse. At these prices, I expect full service. My room was very nicely appointed with a large bathroom. It had ethernet which kept sticking a hotel page into my browser, meaning they knew what I was doing with my computer. Baltimore taxis are quite expensive.

Room Tip: 419 has a very nice, large outdoor terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
StanKoven, we want to thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. We are unhappy to hear that you were somewhat disappointed with your stay at our location.

We have passed along all of your comments to our management team. We are always looking to improve our guest experience and are always welcome to new ideas. Guest feedback is very important to us and we hope that despite your feelings, that you'll come back and give us another try.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The Admiral is showing its age, which, while part of its charm, has a way of annoying those of us who love historical significance but want contemporary plumbing and other amenities. The bathroom in my room could have used some updating. My bed was less than satisfactory, which surprised me, especially since good beds are affordable when purchased in quantity. The pillows were marginal, at best.

I would like the hotel to adopt the environmentally friendly approach to the laundering of towels that so many hotels have switched to these days. I do not need or want fresh towels (or sheets) every day. I certainly don't have them at home!

The hotel is wonderfully situated in the heart of charming and friendly Fells Point, and I will stay there again. Still, it's time for hotel management to refresh and update a bit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
NancySkates, we want to thank you for sharing your feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel. We couldn't be happier to hear that you plan on staying with us again, however, we are definitely concerned about some of the points you made in your review.

We first want to start off by letting you know that parts of our property are currently undergoing renovations, with the whole hotel set to be done by either the end of this year or early next year. It's always a bit of a challenge when it comes to updating certain aspects of our hotel because we don't want to ruin the historical character and significance that makes us so special and unique.

We have passed along the comments you made in regards to your mattress and pillows to our management team. Guest comfort is of the utmost importance to us. We also think the idea of taking on a more green and environmentally friendly approach is one that we could certainly do a better job of and one that we can hopefully implement. This is something that we can discuss at our next team meeting.

We hope that you will indeed stay with us again and that we can impress you with the changes that are in progress. Our patrons mean the world to us and we hope you know that we take your satisfaction very seriously.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future stay, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been here numerous times of the past years since we only live an hour away.. It use to be a friendly place where staff were attentive and said hello to everyone. Now, you just about get eye contact from the front desk. Also, our room had no carpeting but rolled vinyl that was bubbled in spots as you walked over it. Bed very uncomfortable..the lobby sofa was torn on the arms and looked like a second rate lobby. We spent close to $800.00 for 3 nights and got nothing special for it. We will never return again..Sad it went down hill..

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
alauradine, we want to thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at our hotel and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage. We are deeply upset to hear that you did not enjoy your last experience at our hotel.

We first wanted to let you know that even though we are now affiliated with Choice, we are still owned and managed by the same individuals as before. Nevertheless, it is deeply concerning to us that you feel the standard of service that you received has gone down in quality.

Please know that we have passed along this information to our management team and plan to make some changes based on your feedback. We have private messaged you on here as well to learn more about your experience We hope that you'll give us the opportunity to make things right.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Location is outstanding in the heart of Fells Point. Unfortunately, Fells Point has become much more touristy since I was last here a number of years ago. Not sure I would stay here again for the money. The value just wasn't there.

Pros:

Hotel staff was pleasant; especially Pat, who helped with bags and valet.
Check in/check out pretty easy. Request for additional towels honored without a fuss.
Mattress was old, but still pretty comfy.
Neat historic hotel with unique touches
Many independent restaurants and stores in walking distance.

Cons:

Really needs a remodel. Banged up hallway corners, furniture, heinous Pepto pink paint job in the room and bathroom.
Even though a quiet room was requested, it was on 2nd floor, right near elevator (room 213) with apparently very thin walls enabling you to hear every hallway conversation as guests walked to and waited for elevator. Lots of street/bar noise from outside at night. So much so, that I would provide guests earplugs. In their defense, hotel was sold out our first night.
Parking situation was not ideal -- valet parking lot was 2-3 blocks away, had to wait for car to be brought around or remember to call ahead and request it before heading downstairs.
Parking was $29/day plus like over $5 in tax. Who taxes parking?
Hotel service fee was $9.95/day. Not sure what this was for....wish I had been told about it.
Hotel advertised as having a fitness center but that was at an offsite Maryland Athletic Club that was pretty far away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Bobeana, we want to thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed some aspects of our property. We've also read over some of the cons of your review and we'd like to go over those in some detail.

You had mentioned that our location was in need of some remodeling. Parts of our hotel are currently undergoing renovations. These will most likely be completed at the end of this year or early next year. We want to apologize for any excess noise that you experienced. Due to the historic nature of our hotel, sound proofing can be a bit challenging without ruining the historical integrity of our building. Fell's Point can also become quite a lively place at night which can attribute to some noise being heard from the street.

As with any city area, parking is always a challenge. We try our best to accommodate our guests who valet. Because of the distance to the valet lot, it can take some extra time to get a car especially when you add regular traffic and other guests who are valeting into the mix.

The hotel service fee that you speak of is actually our Destination Fee. With this you receive access to a variety of amenities and services that enhance your stay. These include:

High-speed Internet access in your guest room or suite
Wireless Internet access in hotel public areas
Guest pass to the Maryland Athletic Club fitness center and pools
Exclusive Harbor Magic events
Harbor Magic shuttle service
Fiji® or VOSS® bottled water
Unlimited local, domestic long distance and toll-free calling
Harbor Magic Specialist services
Harbor Magic's Baltimore Destination Guide
Computer and printer access
Incoming and outgoing faxes
Photocopy services
Weekday daily newspaper

On our website we do display our Destination Fee and everything that comes with it. We'll try to see if our IT department can make it a bit more visible or put it on other pages of the site so it can't be missed.

We hope that after our hotel is finished its renovations that you'll come back and give us another chance. If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future stay, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We checked into the hotel on a Tuesday using hotels tonight. The man who checked us in was incredibly friendly and let us explore a few of the rooms before choosing the one we wanted. The building is historic and beautiful. Each room is unique and offers its own charm. The staff were all incredibly friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is our new favorite hotel and we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Ask what rooms are available so you can tailor your night. Some rooms have balconies, some have jacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dan Z, thank you for writing an amazing review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted to hear you had such a memorable experience that you plan on coming back and staying with us again!

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how helpful and kind members of our team were. We are extremely lucky to have such wonderful people working with us. They really do strive to ensure that everything is always perfect for our patrons. We will definitely let them know of all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a fantastic review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Address: 888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#11 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Fell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.