We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute spot in fells point.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Save Saved
You added Admiral Fell Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Admiral Fell Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231 (Fells Point)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cute spot in fells point.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

my husband and I booked this hotel to priceline.com. I'm sure what to expect you to the mix reviews...and how much fun did we have! I'm so it's a very small boutique hotel this is true. we had a king size bed and a very small room with a cracked bathroom sink. but this place has CHARM! off the beaten path of touristy Baltimore which can be reached by water taxi that is literally 1000 feet away from your hotel ...the hotel streets are the lined with local shops and restaurants that way better and on the yummy scale.. were above the Inner Harbor with their Hooters and cheese cake factory. Admirals fell Hotel gave us exactly what we needed a very chill spot to find what's good and what's local. self have hotel flaws then again what historical site doesn't? but you are paying for an experience. the staff was kind very friendly and helpful. and at night when you came back from partying all up and down the street romantically you are safely able to get in your back into your hotel with the room key open the main door to the hotel. like I said previously this place has flaws butbut historical building itself the friendly staff and the amazing experience just at the steps of the door and Beyond well worth the trip. we will be returning hopefully next time with our daughter that she can experience just as much fun as we did.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Karla R, we'd like to thank you for writing us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel during your time in Baltimore. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned all the wonderful little shops and restaurants that are near our hotel. Many people love our Inn precisely because of the close proximity we have to these fantastic places.

In your review, you commented on how friendly and helpful our staff was. We are very fortunate to have such amazing people working with us. They truly go above and beyond to ensure everything is always perfect for our patrons. We'll definitely let them know all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much we truly appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    189
    61
    50
    34
See reviews for
123
356
44
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I took my boyfriend this past weekend for his birthday. The hotel was a perfect spot - exactly what I was looking for. Unfortunately, that's about all I can say about it. There wasn't any extra caring or welcoming by the staff - checked us in fine; nothing extraordinary about it. We had to make 3 trips from the car to the room - didn't appear to have someone there to help with the luggage. It really was just average. The room was painted with a dark color and when we walked in, we could see how old and used the mattress was. Didn't match any of the rooms that were pictured on the website. When I stepped into the shower, the bottom of the tub felt slimy on the bottom of my feet. The rug seemed grimy. Definitely would have preferred a nicer room, but when I asked about the location of the room at check-in, I was shrugged off. Therefore, I didn't want to make waves to ask for a different room. We were also disappointed that they don't offer the ghost tours every day. There was no reception; there was no mention of the complimentary tea, coffee, and muffins and wouldn't have even known about except that I used the downstairs bathroom before we got in the car to go home. Also, can't understand why we were charged $9.95 amenity fee when we didn't know of or use any amenities. And on our 2nd trip down on check-out day, the desk clerk made it a point to make sure we paid the bill, but never offered to help or find someone to help with the luggage. Not exactly what the website plays it up to be!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
mp3468, we'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. Even with being Preakness weekend, there is no excuse for not helping our guests with luggage and making them feel extra special.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfield
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. We left our luggage at the front desk after we checked out, to do some shopping. When we came back in the evening the staff was very prompt and courteous when we asked for our luggage. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Claire B, we'd like to thank you for writing us a fabulous review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are extremely happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your time at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how helpful and friendly our staff was. We are very fortunate to have such amazing people working with us. We couldn't ask for a better team! They are continually go out of their way to ensure everything is always perfect for our patrons. We will be sure to pass along your kind comments to them. It will definitely make their day.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, NH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Went searching the Internet for a stay and park place for a recent cruise out of Baltimore. Admiral Fells was one that offered a package that gave you an overnight stay and parking for the car for the duration of the cruise. Includes a continental breakfast and a $25 certificate to one of four or five area restaurants.
The Inn is very good and the Ghost Tour is interesting to attend.
The restaurants in the area are not exactly the best - food is just so-so.
But there are certainly plenty of bars! If yoou want to pub crawl, this is your place.
It was not on our agenda - and the area gets very noisy at night with party-goers. And this was a Thursday night. Heard that on a Friday/Saturday night it gets louder; if it happens to be a holiday weekend even louder.
But that was the only complaint - the Inn itself is very nice. room is decent size and the staff was friendly. Spent some time in the bar downstairs and talked with the barkeep and learned a lot aobut the area and history. Then did the GhostTour and it is interesting. Inn is supposedly haunted - but just hearing the history of the whole area was very interesting.
The shuttle to and from the Inn works very well. They pick you up, deliver you to the cruise port, and bring you back at the end.
I think if I went back to Baltimore, I'd still consider staying there or maybe one of the "sister" hotels.

Room Tip: Ask not to be at the front of the Inn - overlooks the bar area and is very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
rccnh, thank you for choosing to stay with us before your cruise (hope you had a fabulous time!) and we'd also like to thank you for leaving us a great review. We are extremely delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our hotel.

We get a fairly high number of individuals who utilize this stay and park package when going on a cruise. From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned that you went on our ghost tour. We're so glad to hear you did! We always recommend this to our patrons if they have the time. Many people don't realize the very rich history that our hotel and the Fell's Point area has.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to write a nice review. We hope you realize how much we truly appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future stay at our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I had visited the Tavern at the Admiral Fell Inn many years ago and had promised ourselves a trip that actually included staying in the Inn. Fells Point is a great place to visit on a weekend with a Farmer's Market on Saturday morning and Flea market on Sunday morning--directly across the street from the Inn. The restaurants are fabulous and the bartender at the Tavern was delightful. The lodging experience itself was average. The desk staff was extremely disorganized. Check in was chaotic. When we finally got our room after waiting in the Lobby for some time because the "sheets weren't dry" the staff was very apologetic but we had no towels and when they did arrive were still wet. The room itself was pleasant but an extremely tight space and a king size bed should not have been squeezed into it. As a part of the whole Fell's Point experience, I would recommend staying at the Inn but not as a destination in itself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
NLW2644, we'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel. We'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage.

On behalf of our entire team, we'd would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Admiral Fell Inn and we can't wait to go back! The location near the water is wonderful. We loved the historic character of the building. The staff was very friendly and helpful. But the room was the best part! We stayed in room 487. It is on the corner of the building, so we had lovely dormer windows that overlooked the water and Fells Point square. Wide planked wooden floors, exposed beams on the ceiling, crisp linens on the king sized bed and very clean. We would definitely recommend the inn to others!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
sassyjenny, reading over your great review couldn't make us happier! We want to thank you for leaving us amazing feedback and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore.

We often get numerous compliments about the quaint and historic nature of our Inn. Many of our regular patrons have a specific room that they always love staying in.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned our incredible staff. We are extremely fortunate to have the opportunity to work with such dedicated individuals. They are always going above and beyond to ensure everything is always perfect for our guests.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out their day to write us a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future stay at our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to see you and your husband back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was such a great hotel, centrally located in the heart of Fells Point. The staff was very warm and made us feel welcomed as soon as we got out of the car. The rooms are very cozy and unique, not like a typical "cookie cutter" hotel. We would definitely recommend staying here next time you're in Fells Point!-you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
NYpepLV3, we want to thank you for writing us an amazing review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are extremely delighted to hear that fully enjoyed your time at our hotel.

You're certainly right about our hotel being unique. Believe it or not, there is a lot of rich history in our hotel. Next time you stay with us you definitely need to go on our ghost tour. You'll learn a lot about our past and also discover some interesting facts about the Fell's Point area.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much it means to us and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Address: 888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Fell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.