We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Admiral Fell Inn to your Saves list
Admiral Fell Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231 (Fells Point)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
East Amherst, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a 28 year old hotel housed in what were 7 abandoned or run down buildings. It is right near the water and in the heart of the bustling and cool Fell's Point. The staff was courteous and the free daily "ghost tour" was fun and hosted by a guide who could spin good yarns. My one problem was that a guest next door left a young dog alone and the dog was barking like crazy. It appears dogs are allowed in all rooms?
I would recommend this to couples looking for a romantic weekend and seniors out exploring. I dont think I would want my kids here.
Go up to the 5th floor outdoor balcony for a GREAT view. Stop in the small downstairs pub.

Room Tip: the rooms are all different. If possible, ask to see a few rooms before deciding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Denis B, we'd like to thank you for writing us a nice review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're happy to hear that overall, you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

You definitely know your history! Many people don't realize the great history our property has. Between our rich past and the endless entertainment possibilities in Fell's Point, our location certainly has no shortage of things to do, see, and learn!

From reading over your review, we saw how you mentioned a slight disruption you encountered from another guest's pet. We are indeed a pet friendly hotel, however, just as we expect our guests to maintain a certain level of sound, we expect the same from our furry guests. If you ever run into this issue again when staying with us, just call down to the front desk and they'll kindly handle it. We do want to apologize for this and hope that it doesn't deter you from planning a future visit.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a great review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    211
    68
    55
    36
See reviews for
136
391
47
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I really enjoyed my recent stay at the Hotel Admiral Fell Inn. It's a charming historic building in the Fell's Point neighborhood, right next to the famous "Eat Bertha's Mussels" restaurant. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and informative. This was really handy, since I was traveling alone and don't know Baltimore. I was on a trip to do some not-fun outpatient stuff at Johns Hopkins Hospital. The hotel has a free shuttle that runs to Hopkins regularly. The shuttle also goes to the other hotels in the "Harbor Magic" chain, including the Pier V, which is right in Baltimore's Inner Harbor. So, I got to explore the Harbor, for free, without having to figure out any public transportation. Fabulous! I also enjoyed that the Admiral Fell was full of gorgeous, vintage black-and-white images of bygone Baltimore by photographer A. Aubrey Bodine. A classy touch and a cut above.

Room Tip: I was traveling alone, so my room was very small. But I loved my four-poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Erika L, we'd like to thank you for leaving us an amazing review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable time while at our hotel.

We saw that you mentioned how wonderful our staff was. We are are extremely fortunate to have such wonderful people working with us. They truly go out of their way to ensure that everything is always perfect for our patrons. We will definitely pass along the kind comments you made to them.

We'd like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to write a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peron, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife, my son and I stayed here in March. The hotel is a mixture of old buildings linked with corridors and passages. Some of the stairs do not have hand rails.
The rooms are big enough with four poster beds that are fairly comfortable.

The breakfast in the reception area is quite minimal, No fruit one day, other days muffins or scones, No orange juice or milk or cream for coffee,

Location of the hotel is convenient for the network of restaurants and bars around the waterfront. The hotel provides dining vouchers for local restaurants. The restaurant in the hotel provides a good breakfast worth using the voucher for,

Room Tip: If climbing stairs is a problem ask for a room that is close to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
laings, we'd like to thank you for writing us a nice review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are glad to hear that overall you had an enjoyable experience while staying with us.

We plan on taking the comments from your review and sharing them with our team. The issue of consistency with our breakfast will certainly be addressed as will the ability for us to put hand rails on the portions of stairs that do not have any. As you mentioned in your review, our location is truly prime. The proximity our Inn has to the numerous restaurants and shops can make for a wonderful afternoon or evening filled with great food and entertainment.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It is greatly appreciated when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a review. We hope you realize how much this means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I listed Hakeem, Eric, Darian and Derrick below - they make staying at the Admiral Fell Inn so easy for people with special needs. We wouldn't stay anywhere else, and we are there a couple of times a year for multiple weeks. Restaurant is terrific, and the historical tours are wonderful!

Room Tip: Special people work here - Hakeem takes such good personal care of guests, Eric is the valet, but go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
FrancesCR88_12, we want to thank you for leaving us an amazing review and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage. It makes us so happy hearing that all of your visits to our hotel are always spectacular.

We'll be sure to pass along the kind comments you made regarding many of our team members. We are extremely fortunate to have the opportunity to work with such wonderful people. They really do go out of their way to ensure everything is always perfect for our patrons. Reading your kind comments will certainly put a smile on their faces.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Loved our room with a jetted tub and king bed. Our room was private, tucked away behind the restaurant area. Heard clanging of pots and pans but that was fine. Loved the location, the neighborhood, the restaurants within walking distance. Used park and cruise promotion - great deal if you're taking a cruise. It wasn't a very comfortable trip to the cruise port (too many people with too much luggage squooshed into the ONE van) but we were too excited to really care. Would love to stay at the Inn again, minus the cruise, perhaps.

Room Tip: Booking on-line was a bit of a problem (it didn't work no matter how many times I tried) so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
karenandgrady, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a wonderful review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time while staying at our hotel.

We'll definitely make sure to pass along your feedback about the shuttle service to the cruise port. Next time you plan a trip to our beautiful city let us know! There is no shortage of things to do and see in the Fell's Point area. We recommend taking our ghost tour too! Our Inn has such a rich history that you'll learn about while on the tour.

We'd like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It's greatly appreciated when guests take the time out of their day to leave a great review. We hope you realize how much this means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We just spent the weekend at this amazing hotel and will recommend it to anyone looking for a weekend get away. First off the entire area was sooo fun and soooOO friendly that we are already planning another weekend trip. From check in to check out the staff were great, they had just changed computer systems and despite the added stress they were nothing but helpful, friendly and on their game. We had a small issue due to a computer glitch but it was fixed immediately, thanks to Terry at the front desk.

The hotel itself is like stepping back in time and the rooms feel like each one has its own story to tell. The bedding was super cozy and the room was super clean.

The location of this hotel is PERFECT !! Its in walking distance to so many different bars and restaurants with great food and live bands. My husband and I enjoyed every second of our kidless weekend get away. THANK YOU TO EVERYONE AT THE ADMIRAL FELL INN !! We'll be back soon.

BJ & Justin Barnes

Room Tip: If you aren't there to enjoy the nightlife and will be going to bed early, ask for a room away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Bj J, we'd like to thank you for writing us an amazing review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. It makes us very happy to hear you had such a wonderful experience that you’re already planning a future visit back!

If you didn't get to do this on your last visit, you definitely need to take our ghost tour. You'll learn a lot about the history of our hotel. We have a very exciting past! You may even see a ghost or two ;). We'll make sure to pass along all the kind comments you made about our staff. They'll certainly be happy to hear all of your kind remarks.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon! Also, awesome picture! Thanks for sharing it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, New York
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a very nice historic hotel in a great location. There are many restaurants and shops with an easy work and it's convenient to downtown. It's also nearby Johns Hopkins medical center. The rooms are not large but nicely finished and in good shape and reasonably priced. No real dining facilities but a nice small buffet breakfast of coffee, fruit and pastries. Adjacent Spanish restaurant is very good but there is no shortage of dining choices nearby.

Room Tip: higher floor. Street can get noisey at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
mazzillp, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are very happy to see that you had an amazing time while staying at our hotel.

You'd be 100% correct about our historic background. Many of our guests don't realize the intriguing past of our Inn. If you haven't already, we suggest taking our ghost tour. You'll learn a lot of interesting facts about the history of our location. From reading over your review, we see you mentioned all the great places to dine in the immediate vicinity. We couldn't agree with you more! The Fell's Point area has so many wonderful stores and eateries that it's hard not to be entertained.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We really appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much this means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Address: 888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Fell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.