We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodging but staff needs help.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Admiral Fell Inn to your Saves list
Admiral Fell Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231 (Fells Point)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Shenandoah Valley, VA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great lodging but staff needs help.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Husband and I took advantage of a Groupon deal and booked a room and theater for a weekend away. Admiral Fell Inn is in a fabulous location on Fell's Point and overall is an interesting experience. Rooms are each different, being carved out of multiple buildings, and stairs and twisting narrow hallways are fairly claustrophobic. Our room was quite large, however, and had a lovely water view. Maids were very friendly and helpful but lobby staff needs help. While they seemed to want to be helpful after there was a problem, no one offered any info or help prior to issues. First off, don't fall for the valet parking being the best deal. At $35 a day and open only until 10 pm, it fails miserably. We parked on the street for $2 an hour which then converts to free between 8 pm and 10 am. All told, over the 48-hour period, we paid maybe $25 and were sometimes even within sight of our room. Valet parking is several blocks away and we saw people waiting for their cars many times. The front desk staffer failed to mention two sets of stairs (4 and 9 each) to my room when it was clear I had a large, heavy suitcase by myself. When I got to the second batch of stairs (the 9), I turned around and returned to the lobby. After I sat down to wait for my husband and they asked if there was a problem with my room, I was rewarded with the help of a young man. I fail to understand why the steps weren't mentioned before I started out (and returned) alone. Staff also failed to mention the breakfast service at the Tapas Adela restaurant which is connected via twists and turns to the Inn. When I asked about a local map or tourist-type booklet, I was told there was a tourist info center within walking distance. Really?? They can't be bothered to have them available in the lobby?! Interestingly, the booklet was in our room but no one bothered to mention that. In any event, we enjoyed our room (Hopkins) very much. The king bed was very comfortable, bath and bed linens were excellent quality, sheer and black-out curtains were lovely and effective, and noon check-out was wonderful. Only negative thing in the room was the tiny bathroom with no place to put anything other than two tiny shelves. Water was super hot, shower head was large rain-type, and rod was curved out for maximum space in otherwise small slippery tub. All in all, it was a wonderful weekend for us and we appreciated the excellent Groupon deal as well as the complimentary $25 food coupon, $25 future-stay coupon, and the wine in the room. I almost forgot the best part: We were allowed to take our hound with us, at no charge whatsoever; unheard of! Thank you! We would definitely return, especially now that we have the kinks worked out!

Room Tip: Our room 237 (Hopkins) looked down on a busy street but with windows closed, noise did not transfer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    204
    64
    55
    36
See reviews for
132
373
45
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Lots of history here. Inn is situated by the waterfront in historic Fells Point. The hotel was very comfortable, quiet (during superbowl evening that is saying something) and charming. I would definitely stay here again. Each room is decorated differently and has a rustic feel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
mixie-shasta, we'd like to thank you for writing us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are very delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

You are definitely 100% correct about the vast history of not only our Inn, but also the surrounding area. If you didn't go during your stay, on your next visit you should check out our ghost tour. It's very fun and provides a lot of great information about the past of our Inn.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accomodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We'er here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here overnight because we were down for restaurant week. Found the hotel online through Harbormagic and got a great rate of $156 total for a night in the middle of Fells Point. We were able to check in early since our rooms were ready which was great. We unexpectedley received a gift basket with wine and glasses and also a $25 voucher for many places around Fells Point. The room was very spacious with a king bed. Towards the end of the night we went to the hotel bar in the basement which was very small but very cozy, and not very crowded which was nice. One other item to note, which will have us staying there again, is that they have ghost tours of some famous buildings in the area. We didn't have time to catch one this trip but will be sure and catch it on the next trip.

Room Tip: Check out Harbormagic as they have alot of different packages that you can get for many hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Andy S, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore while you were attended restaurant week. We are delighted to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at our hotel and that you felt you received great value during your stay.

We're glad to hear that you acknowledged all the little things that we provided during your time with us. We know that these small gestures can make a nice experience into an amazing one. If you weren't able to make the ghost tour you definitely need to do it when you return! Our Inn is filled with a very rich history. We're serious when we say that there have been ghostly sightings in our hotel! They're all friendly though!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. We hope you realize how much this means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have been an annual visitor for the Privateer Festival held in Fells Point for several years now. I have always come to the Admiral Fell Inn as it is central to everything (and a quick stumble from many fine bars!). They have always been courteous and welcoming to us pirates that invade their fine establishment once a year.

But the reason I write this review today is the amazing service they show to their customers. I had room request, and at first it looked like that would not be possible. However, Joshua in one day made it possible. I thank him for his hard work, and hope to stay at the Admiral as long as the Privateer Festival happens.

PS: they have just opened up a cozy little underground bar that is great for a quiet drink. Might even learn some of Fells Point's privateer history while you are down there!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
VDallas, we'd like to thank you for writing us a spectacular review and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage to our hotel. We're delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

From reading over your review we see you mentioned our great location. We couldn't agree with you more! We feel that we are located conveniently next to so many great things to do and see (and especially eat!) We'll make sure to pass along the kind comments you made to our staff. They're always striving to ensure everything is perfect for our guests. We are happy to see that you appreciated the extra effort our team puts in.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much this means to us, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at Admiral Fell Inn overnight for the first time. It was a wonderful Inn! We had such a great time. The ghost tour was a lot of fun! It was free for guests staying in the hotel and you also received a complimentary alcoholic beverage and crackers/cheese before the tour which was definitely a bonus! Steve the tour guide was animated with a great sense of humor and knew so much about the history of the building and the town! The bartender in the Inn's tavern (I think his name was Steven too) was great! He was very personable and fun to talk to!
My husband and I felt like the Inn was in a perfect location to walk in Fell's Point. We ended up parking our car in a garage a few blocks away. It said that it would only cost us $12 for 12 hours or more of parking which is great for the city. When we paid we were super stoked because it only cost us $3! Don't know if that was a mistake on the computer's part, but we were very happy!
Finally, I would like to add that the staff at Admiral Fell Inn was absolutely fantastic! The employees at the front desk/check-in was so inviting and generally cared about their guests. We have never felt so "welcomed" at a hotel before! Also, we spoke on many occasions to the Inn's sales manager, Mario, who was a down-to-earth kind of guy and gave us a lot of insight about the area which we appreciated! Greg, the driver of the Harbor Magic Shuttle Bus, which we used, was excellent. He was friendly,quick, and on time!
Overall we were completely satisfied with our trip to the Admiral Fell Inn and Fell's Point. We can't wait to go back and would recommend it to anyone!!! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Kelli M, we'd like to thank you for leaving us an incredible review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed your time at our hotel.

From reading over your review we see that you went on our ghost tour. Good choice! Glad that you enjoyed it. We plan on passing along the kind comments you made to our staff. They will definitely appreciate it! We are very fortunate to have the opportunity to work with such wonderful people. They really do go out of their way to ensure everything is always perfect for our guests.

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. It truly means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us an amazing review. We hope you realize how much this means to us, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I traveled Baltimore for the weekend as a belated anniversary/birthday getaway. I had found a Groupon that was a great deal - as it included a 2 night stay, bottle of wine in the room, and $25 restaurant gift certificate to 10 restaurants in the area, and a $25 credit for a future stay at the Admiral. What a good value!

The only downside is parking is not included - you could either do valet or park at a parking garage (which was only a few blocks away). We paid $15/night to park, which is not bad for a city. I love that the hotel is pet friendly! We have a puppy but chose not to bring him, although it is nice to have that option. The location of the hotel is fantastic! In walking distance to tons of bars and restaurants, and right across the street is the water taxi (which we took to Inner Harbor). There is a free hotel shuttle by Harbor Magic that will take you certain places. We used it one night to go to the Little Italy area for dinner. We used our gift certificate for La Scala. Our room was very nice - I was a little worried by some reviews, but it was clean, comfortable, and cozy. The king size bed was comfortable. The shower had nice water pressure and had a curved shower rod to allow for more room. In our room was a bottle of Chilean Merlot and 2 wine glasses. The merlot was surprisingly good. There is a ghost tour that you can do of the Admiral Fell Inn (it dates back to the 1770's). If you attend the tour, you get a drink in the bar downstairs along with complimentary cheese & crackers. This was a nice touch. We enjoyed the tour of the hotel with the history and stories. I would recommend this hotel to others and will definitely return if we come back to the Baltimore area!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
stephanie341, we'd like to thank you for leaving us an amazing review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are glad that we were able to make your belated anniversary/birthday getaway even more special. The deal that you purchased on Groupon is definitely popular. It's nice to hear that you felt it had great value.

Because we are located in a city, parking can always be a challenge. We decided to implement valet parking so if our guests chose to, they wouldn't have to worry about finding a place to park their car. From reading over your review we also see that you noticed that we are indeed a pet friendly hotel. We know how hard it can be to leave your furry friend at home and we didn't want to prevent many of our valued guests who have pets from being unable to stay with us. Next time you visit you'll have to bring the puppy along, we'd love to see him/her!

We are happy to see that overall you enjoyed your stay. We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your experience. It truly means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much this means to us and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here the night before we left for a cruise. Our travel agent booked us here and we were pleasantly surprised! VERY nice location in the middle of older Baltimore, lots of shops, eateries, and nice atmosphere all around. The hotel itself is an older building with lots of charm, friendly staff, valet service, and parking for our entire 9-day cruise (an extra fee of course). The room is spacious, has lots of charm, and is comfortable. The only drawback is the hotel is in the midst of "party-town", I guess. Lots of noise (yelling, cars, etc.) in the middle of the night from partying, but if you're into that, its not an issue. It did not disturb us too much, but it was noticeable occasionally.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Michelle C, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a nice review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay.

Our hotel is nestled in the wonderful Fell's Point area. As you mentioned in your review, this part of Baltimore definitely has a lot of character! Our guests typically have no problem finding any sort of entertainment, whether it be food and drinks or shopping.

A unique aspect of our hotel is the charming nature of all our guest rooms. We're glad to see that you appreciated this. It's fairly common for returning guests to request a room dedicated to a certain historical figure. Edgar Allen Poe's room is quite popular!

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a great review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon! Hope you enjoyed your cruise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Address: 888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#11 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Fell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.