We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Admiral Fell Inn to your Saves list
Admiral Fell Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231 (Fells Point)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quaint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here the night before we left for a cruise. Our travel agent booked us here and we were pleasantly surprised! VERY nice location in the middle of older Baltimore, lots of shops, eateries, and nice atmosphere all around. The hotel itself is an older building with lots of charm, friendly staff, valet service, and parking for our entire 9-day cruise (an extra fee of course). The room is spacious, has lots of charm, and is comfortable. The only drawback is the hotel is in the midst of "party-town", I guess. Lots of noise (yelling, cars, etc.) in the middle of the night from partying, but if you're into that, its not an issue. It did not disturb us too much, but it was noticeable occasionally.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Michelle C, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a nice review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay.

Our hotel is nestled in the wonderful Fell's Point area. As you mentioned in your review, this part of Baltimore definitely has a lot of character! Our guests typically have no problem finding any sort of entertainment, whether it be food and drinks or shopping.

A unique aspect of our hotel is the charming nature of all our guest rooms. We're glad to see that you appreciated this. It's fairly common for returning guests to request a room dedicated to a certain historical figure. Edgar Allen Poe's room is quite popular!

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a great review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon! Hope you enjoyed your cruise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    217
    70
    56
    36
See reviews for
141
401
48
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed there on NYE and was ok,staff was nice,helpful but parking is eventful,do the valet parking,its worth it. Could hear the people upstairs moving around. Older hotel,take a fan so you dont hear traffic or people upstairs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
JW75, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during New Year's Eve. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

From reading over your review we see you mentioned parking at our hotel. Parking can be quite difficult on a regular day, let alone New Year's Eve! You definitely made the right choice to utilize our valet parking. We like offering the option to our guests so they have different alternatives. We also see that you appreciated our very hard-working staff. We're very lucky to work with such wonderful people. They definitely go out of their way to ensure everything is perfect for our guests. We'll make sure to pass along the kind comments you made to them.

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. It truly means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

an excellent property in a great location on the historic Fells Point neighborhood plaza. Good costomer service and charming rooms in a fun-to-navigate complex of several attached buildings. Great tapas restaurant next door. Pet friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Adela Tapas for lunch or dinner, and the Cat's Eye Pub for dive bar experience and good music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
ErikViker, we'd like to thank you for writing us a spectacular review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

From reading over your review we see you mentioned our great location. We couldn't agree with you more! We feel that we are located conveniently next to so many great things to do and see (and especially eat!) We'll make sure to pass along the kind comments you made to our staff. They're always striving to ensure everything is perfect for our guests. We are happy to see that you appreciated the extra effort our team puts in. Lastly, we see you made reference to the fact that we're a pet friendly hotel. We love when our guests bring their furry friends. We know it can be difficult to leave them behind when traveling, and that isn't something we want our patrons to have to do.

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much this means to us, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our 2nd time at the Admiral Fell Inn. This is a vintage hotel with a lot of charm, nothing has changed in 3 years. In fact, we were given the same room we had in Dec. 2009 and it was exactly the same. I had read that they did some room remodeling but I saw none of that. The beds are comfortable, firm mattress but the pillows are not comfortable. Three years ago I thought that the room needed a good "house cleaning" and it is still in need of a good cleaning. The furniture needs a wipe with Murphy's Oil soap. The carpet really needs to be replaced in the room we had. The bathroom has an odd shelf unit and the tub is stained and there was a puddle of standing water at the drain.

Our room was on the 2nd floor and the bars across the street were very noisy well into the night, light sleepers will not sleep well. The halls are narrow with twist and turns, have steps and odd nooks and crannies. The steps from the sidewalk into the building are steep and narrow, there are only like 3-4 steps but I did make a suggestion to a staff member that they should have a carpet on those steps as they were extremely slippery with being wet from the rain.

We attended a Holiday party on the 5th floor, as was the reason we were there in 2009. The banquet room is very nice with beautiful views. However, the room is sort-of small. The buffet dinner was to start at 7 but was served one hour late. The buffet did not have a lot of selections and they ran out of the Roast Beef after only half the people were served. We were disappointed in the buffet.

Room Tip: There are a lot of bars across the street from the hotel on Thames Ave side, very noisy late into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dee1Dee, we want to thank you for leaving us your feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel. We see that you mentioned that you did not notice some of the changes that have already taken place during our renovations. This would be because may of the things that have been completed to date are not as openly visible.

We are still undergoing planned renovations, but so far we have replaced all the linens in the hotel, and almost all the rooms have received new lamp shades. In addition to this, we had all the windows resealed which was quite a process (being a historic building). In early 2013, our renovation plans include having the carpet replaced in our guest rooms.

We will pass along the great suggestions you made, such as adding carpet to the steps to prevent the steps from becoming slippery.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future stay at our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Admiral Fell Inn has great character. It is located in a historic building, has friendly and personable staff, and is located in a quirky building. If you're looking for something other than the usual cooky-cutter corporate hotel, this is it. The location is fantastic - the hotel is surrounded by a charming historic neighborhood, replete with great bars and eateries. The only issue that I'd take with my stay is some of the features of the room. The rug definitely needed to be replaced, as it was faded and stained. The bathroom ceiling had mold growing on it. The TV faced an empty space between the bed and the desk, off to a void (one of the problems of old quirky rooms). This would be a terrific hotel with some spiffing up; the staff, location, and the building itself are great assets. It just needs some investment in a paint job and carpeting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
morr316, we'd like to thank you for leaving us your feedback from your stay at our hotel. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed many of the great features and things our hotel has to offer. We definitely feel that our hotel is quite unique, and our staff truly adds to this great mix.

We see that you mentioned a few issues from your stay, and we have private messaged you to try to get more details from you. In regards to our rugs, we are currently undergoing renovations and expect our rugs to be replaced sometime in early 2013. We hope that after our renovations are complete, that you'll return and stay with us again.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great location on harbour with loads of interesting shops and restaurants nearby. Hotel quirky but comfortable and very helpful front desk staff. They organised taxis, sorted out my door when the key card system broke and allowed me a very late checkout.
Stayed here in 2004 and think hotel and area have improved.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Helen A, we'd like to thank you for writing us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

We couldn't agree with you more about all the great things to do and see around Fell's Point. We'd have to say that our location is one of the most favorite aspects of our hotel. We're glad to see that our wonderful staff was able to help you out numerous times during your experience.

We'd like to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. We hope you realize how much this means to us, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The whole experience was fantastic. We arrived the night before leaving on a cruise and took advantage of the stay and park special. Our car was valet parked for the entire week and the shuttle to and from the hotel to the port was also included. The service was outstanding and the ambience rich and haunting at the same time. Historic building and close to all. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Bill S, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a magnificent review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're happy to see that you fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

First off, we hope that you enjoyed your cruise! We're glad that we were able to accommodate your needs. From reading over your review we see that you mentioned our wonderful staff and the great service they provide. They truly go out of their way to ensure everything is perfect for our guests. We are very fortunate to have the opportunity to work with such amazing people. In regards to the hauntings at our hotel, although it's known as haunted, all of our ghosts are very friendly!

We'd like to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. It truly means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Address: 888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#12 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#16 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Fell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.