We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Save Saved
You added Admiral Fell Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Admiral Fell Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231 (Fells Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 68 hotels in Baltimore
Reading, PA
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Still a charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our 2nd time at the Admiral Fell Inn. This is a vintage hotel with a lot of charm, nothing has changed in 3 years. In fact, we were given the same room we had in Dec. 2009 and it was exactly the same. I had read that they did some room remodeling but I saw none of that. The beds are comfortable, firm mattress but the pillows are not comfortable. Three years ago I thought that the room needed a good "house cleaning" and it is still in need of a good cleaning. The furniture needs a wipe with Murphy's Oil soap. The carpet really needs to be replaced in the room we had. The bathroom has an odd shelf unit and the tub is stained and there was a puddle of standing water at the drain.

Our room was on the 2nd floor and the bars across the street were very noisy well into the night, light sleepers will not sleep well. The halls are narrow with twist and turns, have steps and odd nooks and crannies. The steps from the sidewalk into the building are steep and narrow, there are only like 3-4 steps but I did make a suggestion to a staff member that they should have a carpet on those steps as they were extremely slippery with being wet from the rain.

We attended a Holiday party on the 5th floor, as was the reason we were there in 2009. The banquet room is very nice with beautiful views. However, the room is sort-of small. The buffet dinner was to start at 7 but was served one hour late. The buffet did not have a lot of selections and they ran out of the Roast Beef after only half the people were served. We were disappointed in the buffet.

Room Tip: There are a lot of bars across the street from the hotel on Thames Ave side, very noisy late into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dee1Dee, we want to thank you for leaving us your feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel. We see that you mentioned that you did not notice some of the changes that have already taken place during our renovations. This would be because may of the things that have been completed to date are not as openly visible.

We are still undergoing planned renovations, but so far we have replaced all the linens in the hotel, and almost all the rooms have received new lamp shades. In addition to this, we had all the windows resealed which was quite a process (being a historic building). In early 2013, our renovation plans include having the carpet replaced in our guest rooms.

We will pass along the great suggestions you made, such as adding carpet to the steps to prevent the steps from becoming slippery.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future stay at our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    464
    177
    58
    49
    34
See reviews for
118
333
42
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Admiral Fell Inn has great character. It is located in a historic building, has friendly and personable staff, and is located in a quirky building. If you're looking for something other than the usual cooky-cutter corporate hotel, this is it. The location is fantastic - the hotel is surrounded by a charming historic neighborhood, replete with great bars and eateries. The only issue that I'd take with my stay is some of the features of the room. The rug definitely needed to be replaced, as it was faded and stained. The bathroom ceiling had mold growing on it. The TV faced an empty space between the bed and the desk, off to a void (one of the problems of old quirky rooms). This would be a terrific hotel with some spiffing up; the staff, location, and the building itself are great assets. It just needs some investment in a paint job and carpeting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
morr316, we'd like to thank you for leaving us your feedback from your stay at our hotel. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed many of the great features and things our hotel has to offer. We definitely feel that our hotel is quite unique, and our staff truly adds to this great mix.

We see that you mentioned a few issues from your stay, and we have private messaged you to try to get more details from you. In regards to our rugs, we are currently undergoing renovations and expect our rugs to be replaced sometime in early 2013. We hope that after our renovations are complete, that you'll return and stay with us again.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great location on harbour with loads of interesting shops and restaurants nearby. Hotel quirky but comfortable and very helpful front desk staff. They organised taxis, sorted out my door when the key card system broke and allowed me a very late checkout.
Stayed here in 2004 and think hotel and area have improved.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Helen A, we'd like to thank you for writing us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

We couldn't agree with you more about all the great things to do and see around Fell's Point. We'd have to say that our location is one of the most favorite aspects of our hotel. We're glad to see that our wonderful staff was able to help you out numerous times during your experience.

We'd like to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. We hope you realize how much this means to us, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The whole experience was fantastic. We arrived the night before leaving on a cruise and took advantage of the stay and park special. Our car was valet parked for the entire week and the shuttle to and from the hotel to the port was also included. The service was outstanding and the ambience rich and haunting at the same time. Historic building and close to all. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Bill S, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a magnificent review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're happy to see that you fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

First off, we hope that you enjoyed your cruise! We're glad that we were able to accommodate your needs. From reading over your review we see that you mentioned our wonderful staff and the great service they provide. They truly go out of their way to ensure everything is perfect for our guests. We are very fortunate to have the opportunity to work with such amazing people. In regards to the hauntings at our hotel, although it's known as haunted, all of our ghosts are very friendly!

We'd like to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. It truly means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

There's no doubt that the Admiral Fell Inn has character. The location is great, so near the water and the activity of Fells Point. The roms are very nice, all a bit different. Beds and chairs are comfy, TV is good. But the pillows are awful. And the bathroom floor could have used a thorough vacuuming.and things can get noisy around the hotel. They have no control over this, but light sleepers should be aware.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The wife and I decided to get out of town for a night and head down to Fell's Point for the day. We checked in about 2pm, immediately got keys to our king room and I parked the car at the public lot a block and a half down on Thames St. I recommed this over the valet if you want to pay half the price and dont mind the short walk. After check in, we set about on our mission for the day: bar hopping! That is after all what one goes to Fell's Point for, right? Yes, there are a LOT of bars. All in all, we spent the day and evening dropping into about 6 or 8 different bars and never travelled more than a block away from our hotel. There is also a nice tapas restaurant next door called Adela where we had dinner. As others have said, there were some minor things I noticed that were in disrepair, but nothing to scoff at. The bed was super comfortable, property was clean, the room layout is a bit quirky, but this is after all a historic building. And you really cant beat the location and being withing walking distance to so much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Mark S, we'd like to thank you for writing us a great review and we'd also like to thank you and your wife for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay while at our hotel.

From reading your review, we see that you mentioned our close proximity to many great bars and restaurants. We would have to say that this is one of our favorites things about our hotel. We know that to many guests, convenience is key. The ability to walk out of our hotel and have a plethora of places to relax at is definitely a huge plus. We're glad that this made your evening out even more enjoyable.

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. It truly means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. We hope your realize how much we appreciate this, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future stay, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a quirky and fun property that is rumored to be haunted. My first room was a king with little charm, stained carpet, and problems with the air. I was moved to a much cuter room a few doors down with a charming four post bed, clean carpets, and no maintenance issues. A friend's room was in a king with a great view of the water and a lot more charm than my first room, so if I stayed there again, I would probably ask more questions about the room because each one seems to be unique.

There are stairs that you have to go up and down to get to rooms on the same floor, so it can be a bit challenging to manage if you have heavy luggage or more than one piece of luggage. The staff at the front desk will offer to help, though, and they were very friendly and accommodating. There is a complimentary shuttle that can be used to take you to nearby locations, which was a nice plus when it rained.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Kristine M, we want to thank you for writing us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay while at our hotel.

After reading your review, we see that you mentioned some issues you had with your first room. We have currently been undergoing major renovations to many aspects of our hotel. Many of these changes will address things that you mentioned. We're happy to hear that in the end, we were able to make things right and relocate you to a new room. We are truly sorry for this inconvenience.

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. It really means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. We truly appreciate it, and we hope you know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future stay please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Address: 888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#12 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Fell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.