We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, very comfortable rooms, unique property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Admiral Fell Inn to your Saves list
Admiral Fell Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231 (Fells Point)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome location, very comfortable rooms, unique property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The wife and I decided to get out of town for a night and head down to Fell's Point for the day. We checked in about 2pm, immediately got keys to our king room and I parked the car at the public lot a block and a half down on Thames St. I recommed this over the valet if you want to pay half the price and dont mind the short walk. After check in, we set about on our mission for the day: bar hopping! That is after all what one goes to Fell's Point for, right? Yes, there are a LOT of bars. All in all, we spent the day and evening dropping into about 6 or 8 different bars and never travelled more than a block away from our hotel. There is also a nice tapas restaurant next door called Adela where we had dinner. As others have said, there were some minor things I noticed that were in disrepair, but nothing to scoff at. The bed was super comfortable, property was clean, the room layout is a bit quirky, but this is after all a historic building. And you really cant beat the location and being withing walking distance to so much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Mark S, we'd like to thank you for writing us a great review and we'd also like to thank you and your wife for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay while at our hotel.

From reading your review, we see that you mentioned our close proximity to many great bars and restaurants. We would have to say that this is one of our favorites things about our hotel. We know that to many guests, convenience is key. The ability to walk out of our hotel and have a plethora of places to relax at is definitely a huge plus. We're glad that this made your evening out even more enjoyable.

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. It truly means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. We hope your realize how much we appreciate this, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future stay, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    203
    64
    55
    36
See reviews for
132
372
45
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a quirky and fun property that is rumored to be haunted. My first room was a king with little charm, stained carpet, and problems with the air. I was moved to a much cuter room a few doors down with a charming four post bed, clean carpets, and no maintenance issues. A friend's room was in a king with a great view of the water and a lot more charm than my first room, so if I stayed there again, I would probably ask more questions about the room because each one seems to be unique.

There are stairs that you have to go up and down to get to rooms on the same floor, so it can be a bit challenging to manage if you have heavy luggage or more than one piece of luggage. The staff at the front desk will offer to help, though, and they were very friendly and accommodating. There is a complimentary shuttle that can be used to take you to nearby locations, which was a nice plus when it rained.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Kristine M, we want to thank you for writing us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay while at our hotel.

After reading your review, we see that you mentioned some issues you had with your first room. We have currently been undergoing major renovations to many aspects of our hotel. Many of these changes will address things that you mentioned. We're happy to hear that in the end, we were able to make things right and relocate you to a new room. We are truly sorry for this inconvenience.

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. It really means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. We truly appreciate it, and we hope you know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future stay please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had not been to Baltimore, other than to pass through, in a while, and this hotel was a nice reminder of the unique character and history of this great American city going back to the time of Admiral Fell himself ca.18th century. The hotel presents as if it could have been in business during that time and maintains that ambience in a way that's understated and a bit artificial, but pleasant. As a modern hotel, it's perhaps stuck back in the 1990s in terms of condition and some small points. But if you compare its rates (179.00 for us) to those of more modern alternatives close by (Marriott 300.00 plus) it's a good value. The immediate neighborhood is great, historic, waterfront, active, lots of food and drink, but can be noisy through the windows as others have noted. Our problem at the back of the hotel overlooking backyards was a Mexican band that couldn't be seen late into Saturday evening. Parking is easy and safe in a PMI garage right down the street, but was 20.00 overnight on the weekend, probably more other times. TVs are HD without HD channels, curious. Wifi is free in the rooms and usable, but I wasn't able to get a good fix on its strength. Good people work here, and it's recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
VaBookwriter, we'd like to thank you for writing us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Our hotel certainly has some very rich history behind it. Did you know that it consists of seven different buildings dating back to the 1770's? They have previously served as a ship chandlery, a theater, a boarding house for sailors and later, a Seaman's YMCA. If you ever come back to stay with us again we'd recommend taking the ghost tour of the hotel, it's a lot of fun, and interesting too!

We'd like to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. It truly means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My friend and I stayed overnight at Admiral Fell Inn this Oct,2012,I loved the hotel and rooms for it,s history,but they did not have room service .When we were leaving after checking out my friend and I looked at each other and said the best thing about this hotel is Hakeem,he was at the desk when we checked in and out ,he made us feel like we were with friends and well taken care of.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
nora m, we'd like to thank you for leaving us an amazing review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're extremely happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we see that you mentioned how welcoming our staff was. We'll certainly make sure to pass along the kind comments you made. We are very fortunate to have the opportunity to work with such great people. They definitely go out of their way to ensure that everything is perfect for our guests.

We'd like to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much this means to us, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future stay at our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheverly, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

being located in the heart of Fells Point Baltimore is the best thing the hotel has going for it. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable, but the hotel could use some repair and the repairs that have been done seem cobbled together. They will give you a gift certificate for the hotel restaurant, it's a total rip off because the food is way overpriced. They also charged the total cost of the room to the credit card the night before we checked out. That was odd, normally you don't pay until checkout. That was very tacky. Anyway, I found this hotel to be over priced...also if your room is on the front of the hotel you will be kept up late at night with the noise of the party goers coming out of three nearby bars.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dana H, we'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback from your stay at our hotel. From reading over your review, we see that you mentioned the need for our hotel to undergo repairs. We are currently in the middle of renovations that will be completed in early 2013. We're certain that many of the issues you had will be addressed by the time these renovations are completed.

We hope that you will come back and give us another try upon the completion of our renovations.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Walk outside hotel door and you're at the heart of Fell's Point, but the bed was mediocre, and the 2nd floor was close enough to bars across street that we heard the band and the crowd until after 2 am.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Ecarp, we'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback from your stay with us. We want to let you know that we have taken the information from your review and forwarded it to other members of our team.

We are always striving to better ourselves. We plan on looking into your comments further. We'll also be addressing the issues you mentioned to ensure we offer our guests the best experience and value in the Fell's Point area.

We hope that you will come back and give us another try.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The website promises more than it is. Looks ok, but... Room was not clean and was quite worn in every aspect. Mattress was very bad for my back, should be replaced with the new ones. Location was ok, not too far from the attractions, but I think you can easily find better place to stay over in Baltimore.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Harrin, we'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. After reading over your review we wanted to inform you that our hotel is currently in the process of receiving some major renovations.

We hope to have our renovations complete by the end of January 2013. Our planned renovations include furniture refinishing, new lamps and lamp shades, and select rooms receiving hardwood floors and area rugs. All guest room windows are currently being refitted and our HVAC systems are being modernized. I can confirm that our sheets, towels, and pillowcases are all currently replaced.

We hope that once our renovations are complete that you will come back and give us another try. We truly value you as a patron of our hotel. If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you, please let us know.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Address: 888 South Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#11 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Fell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.