We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a good sandwich or lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Square Cafe

Village Square Cafe
66 Village Square, Village of Cross Keys, Baltimore, MD 21210
410-433-2233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 1,793 restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Coffee Shop, Bistro, Soups, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: The Village Square Café is a casual neighborhood café where you can relax and savor simple, delicious food in a warm, inviting setting. Open seven days a week, 7:30 am – 3 pm; until 8 pm Thurs/Fri/Sat.The café is located in the Village of Cross Keys in Roland Park where you’ll find plenty of free parking at all times. We have a friendly and accommodating staff, free WiFi, seasonal outdoor dining, and a full-bar.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a good sandwich or lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Fabulous outdoor eating when the weather is nice. Easy parking. Very good café food, offered in a great diversity, high quality and rapid service. The noise level inside is quite tolerable and outdoors is perfect, of course.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    22
    6
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great consistency as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

It has been a while since my last visit. My family & I used to frequent this place very often. I stopped by the other week and food and service is still outstanding. I'll try to frequent often again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A charming place to meet for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The restaurant is charming inside with table and chairs yet also some nice couches.
Outside on the terrace the tables and chairs are in a court yard with other shops.
While they do serve an excellent lunch,it is a very nice place to meet for breakfast,especially when having over night guests as I live within walking distance of the cafe.
The owners are often on site and the staff is helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast - oatmeal prepared by a chef!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The outside tables were relaxing, and the oatmeal with fruit was wonderfully prepared. Nice quiet setting in the middle of a courtyard in between hotel rooms and boutique style shopping.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Village Square Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Breakfast at Village Square Cafe

If there’s one place I love to be,
It’s on the terrace at Cross Keys.
Where little sparrows at my feet
There look for crumbs and bits to eat.

In early morning I sit there,
While waiting for my breakfast fare
That I just ordered in the shop
Ere in my favorite chair I drop.

There aren’t many open places
And all the guests have happy faces.
They know they’re in for quite a treat
As they are waiting in their seat.

So waiters serve the dishes quick;
All guests have numbers on a stick.
All will enjoy their breakfast meal
At Cross Keys, it is such a deal!

So in the morning sun I sit
And munch on a delicious bit!
Yet all this isn’t just for me,
It’s for you too, just go and see.

The Hungry Poet

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Square Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Village Square Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Square Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.