We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hidden place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Square Cafe

Village Square Cafe
66 Village Square, Village of Cross Keys, Baltimore, MD 21210
410-433-2233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 1,793 restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Coffee Shop, Bistro, Soups, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: The Village Square Café is a casual neighborhood café where you can relax and savor simple, delicious food in a warm, inviting setting. Open seven days a week, 7:30 am – 3 pm; until 8 pm Thurs/Fri/Sat.The café is located in the Village of Cross Keys in Roland Park where you’ll find plenty of free parking at all times. We have a friendly and accommodating staff, free WiFi, seasonal outdoor dining, and a full-bar.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hidden place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Food - great for breakfast & luch (tasty food)
Service - you will order at the counter and delivery time is fast. VERY ATTENTIVE SERVICE.
Note: we've been coming here since the opening and never had any issues with service or food. Only tell your best friends about this place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Village Square Cafe, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thanks for your wonderful review of our cafe and for supporting us all these years. We're delighted that you enjoy our cafe so much. Keep coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    22
    6
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Quick and tasty--perfect for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I have only had the sandwiches at lunch at the Village Square Cafe, but they are excellent, and there are specials listed on the outside board, so you can think about them while you wait on the line to order and pay. Sometimes the line can be quite long, but it moves quickly. You get a number on a stand that you place on your table, either inside or on the patio, and you food is quickly brought to you. The prices are reasonable; for example, I paid a little over $12 for a grilled pastrami with sauerkraut and melted cheese, french fries, and an iced tea. The menu is not extensive, but there are lots of sandwiches and salads and some soups, so everyone will be able to find somethind that he or she likes for lunch. It is bright and clean inside and is very popular at lunchtime which attests to how much people like the food. Lots of free parking at Cross Keys, too, which is a bonus, and Cross Keys is such a lovely place to walk around and shop before or after lunch. I'll be returning to the Village Square Cafe soon!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Village Square Cafe, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
What a great review - thanks! Lots of detail that will help others understand what to expect and appreciate at our cafe. Hope you'll be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent cooking - not a short order place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This is a coffee shop with outdoor seating and a small but pleasing menu. It is next door to the Cross Keys Radisson. They serve breakfast and lunch weekdays and stay open with their lunch menu and a couple of dinner specials until 8:00. I ate there a few times while in the area and each time the food was excellent. I highly recommend the breakfast burrito - it's enough for 2 people who aren't super hungry and comes with home fries that are crispy on the outside and not total mush on the inside. The coffee is also great and the atmosphere is nice coffee-shop style with a counter/bar seating and sofa area in addition to regular tables.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

The food is great, especially the homemade blueberry muffins. The place is always busy with tourists and locals. Great staff too.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmore_5705, Owner at Village Square Cafe, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Glad you enjoyed your experience at our cafe -- and thanks for sharing it with others. The blueberry muffins are very poplar and sell out quickly. Glad you snagged one! Hope you'll be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great service and great value and fantastic home cooked meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We went for dinner and had one of the specials of the evening and found the food to be delicious and the service to be quick and efficient. The orders being taken at the counter is sometimes a little confusion for first time dinners, however, once everyone catches on the service is smooth. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful while we were there as well.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmore_5705, Owner at Village Square Cafe, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thanks for your feedback -- we're delighted you enjoyed our cafe. Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Square Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Village Square Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Square Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.