We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff, not the bang for the buck.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 5 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pier 5 Hotel to your Saves list
Pier 5 Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Inner Harbor)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Waterford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff, not the bang for the buck.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, centrally located to Camden Yards and all the great attractions of down town Baltimore. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the morning breakfast and gym accommodation is very nice as well. The room was generally comfortable, I'm not a fan of having a water view and then getting to the room and seeing the water but also 30 a/c units sitting 5 ft from your back door buzz kill on the view. Overall a nice hotel... At the price point, I expected more in terms of wifi, amenities, and room updates.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
WJL56, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore and we'd also like to thank you for leaving your feedback from your stay at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we can see that you were slightly disappointed with the view that your room had. We have private messaged you on here and we'd like to learn more about your experience. We look forward to speaking with you.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We hope that despite the issues that you had that you'll stay with us again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    138
    68
    48
    45
See reviews for
144
300
29
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of four that was passing through to another location. We stayed for one night as we wanted to enjoy the aquarium. We had a one bedroom suite - with a second room that had Murphy beds for the kids - which worked great for us. I wish more hotels had this configuration. Overall - the hotel is great and we enjoyed our stay. We would stay there again if coming back to Baltimore.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
In_the_shade53449, we want to thank you for writing an incredible review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us while traveling through Baltimore. We are very glad to hear that your family thoroughly enjoyed their experience at our hotel.

We always recommend our patrons stop and visit the aquarium. We're happy that you were able to do this. From reading over your review, we can see that you were satisfied with your room. Believe it or not, we actually get several positive comments about the Murphy beds in the room that you stayed in.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're her for you!

Thank you, and we hope you'll plan a trip out to Baltimore and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was looking for a very nice hotel in the Baltimore Harbor to take my Girlfriend for St. Patrick’s Day and after seeing this hotel that was located right on the pier I was sold.
I stayed in the King Harbor view room.

Pros:
Beautiful building. Great location.
The staff was very nice.
The room was nice and clean.
The view of the Harbor at night was fantastic.

Cons:
The balcony was slightly deceiving because at appears on the web site that there is one but there is not. There is a sliding glass door that opens to a railing and you can look out but that is about all you can do.
The room was small and not what I expected for the kind of money that was being asked.

It was $350.00 for the night and it was more like a $150.00 per night room, possibly.

We in fact decided the next day to stay in Baltimore and extra day and found a room at the Marriot Residence Inn for $105.00 that was much nicer.
The Pier 5 Hotel is very nice and it has its perks (mainly and air of class) but I will not stay again at those prices.

I do plan to try their sister properties (The Inn at Henderson’s Wharf and The Admiral Fell Inn), also in the Baltimore Harbor area.

If money is not an object and you want to stay directly in the Harbor then the Pier 5 is a good choice (although there are better) but if you want to a great place to stay and you want to keep a little for the great shopping and other amenities that the Baltimore Inner Harbor has to offer then I would pick another Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
ranetides, we want to thank you for sharing your feedback from your most recent experience at our hotel. We want to thank you for choosing our hotel to take your girlfriend to on St. Patrick's Day.

From reading over you review, we saw you listed out both pros and cons of our location. We are glad to see that you loved our building, thought our staff was helpful and courteous, enjoyed your room, and loved the beautiful harbor view.

We are unhappy that you felt you were deceived by our website in regards to both the lack of your room having a balcony and the size of your room. We have already forwarded your comments about this to our IT department to have them look in to. Some of our rooms do actually have full balconies while others do not. We are going to work on how we can better make note of this online to avoid confusion in the future.

For your troubles, we'd like to make this up to you. We have private messaged you on here and hope that you'll give us the opportunity to make things right.

Thank you, and we look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

The customer service was great. The rooms were just okay. Perfect for a short stay. It was not ideal that they only had a steak and seafood place for room service. After my meeting at 9:30 pm they had nothing available for order. I had to order delivery outside the hotel. Not ideal.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
CindiWhite, we want to thank you for sharing your feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel. We are disappointed to see that you felt your experience was only a 3 star experience.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned your disappointment in your choices for room service. The two restaurants that you were referring to were Ruth's Chris (a very popular steak house) and McCormick & Schmick's (another popular seafood restaurant). The issue you had with these two restaurants not offering anything after 9:30pm is unfortunately something that we do not have control over. These times are set by the restaurants which are independent from our hotel, despite being in the same building.

We've made sure to pass along your comments to our management team. We truly appreciate guest feedback and hope that you’ll stay with us again in the future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is in a great location at the Inner Harbor. We pulled up and no one came out to help with luggage, so we got our bags out ourselves, even though there was a valet guy standing at his desk just inside the electronic doors. We stood there and waited and he never came out or even acknowledged us, so we finally went inside and stood at his desk until he finally asked us if he could help. We asked if we could valet the car and he acted like it was a chore.
Once inside, the front desk staff were wonderful. They were extremely courteous and helpful. We were able to check in a couple hours early and were also given a late checkout. The decor is very contemporary and trendy. Our room was clean and comfortable with a nice view. The only downside to the room was the dim lighting. We enjoy reading in bed and there were two wall sconce type laps on either side of the bed, but the bulbs were really too dim to read by.
There are two great restaurants hooked onto the hotel. I ordered room service from McCormick and Schmicks. The food was great. The service was fast and efficient.

Room Tip: We were in room 301 which was in a corner. It was very nice and quiet and the room had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
ginav_57, we want to thank you for sharing your feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel. We noticed that you had an issue with one of our valets and we would like to address this further.

We have passed along the information from your review to our management team. No member of our team should ever give off the vibe that they feel what they are doing for a guest is a chore. We also want to apologize that the valet did not assist you in removing your luggage from your vehicle.

We also saw your comments about the dim lighting you experienced in your room. We have shared your comments with our engineering team and plan on asking them to look at the room that you stayed in.

We hope that despite the issues you had, that you'll give our hotel another try in the future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A friend of mine and I recently stayed at the Pier V Hotel. I called early in the morning to let them know we would be arriving for early check-in and they noted that down but couldn't guarantee it. Fortunately, when we arrived at noon they had a room ready for us. The room was spacious, very clean, looked over the harbor but had an odd antiseptic smell to it. But as we were going to an Orioles game and wouldn't be in the room that long we decided not to complain. Had we stayed in the room for any length of period we would've called the front desk to see what they could do. The staff was friendly and courteous. The hotel is attached to two restaurants: Ruth's Chris and McCormick and Schmick's. Parking is $22 for 24 hours at a public lot next door or you can pay for valet. We opted for the lot next door. Very nice location on the Inner Harbor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Tollers1, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a great review. We are very glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our location.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned that when you walked into your room, you noticed a smell of cleaning product. This was most likely because one of our housekeepers just finished cleaning your room. The scent from the cleaning solution most likely had yet to fully dissipate.

You also commented on the two restaurants attached to our hotel. They are both very delicious! If you are craving a tasty steak, definitely go to Ruth's Chris. McCormick and Schmick's seafood can't be beat either!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write a nice review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I came to this hotel for a little weekend vacation with plans to propose to my now-fiance! All of the staff was wonderfully friendly and went the extra mile to make our stay perfect. I called them beforehand telling them of my plans, and was connected to a "specialist" named Josh. He had great ideas and so many connections, and we planned the perfect proposal! Again, above and beyond. The room itself was awesome, very clean and vaulted ceilings for the top floor. If I must find something negative, the air conditioner was constantly running (even all night) and struggled to maintain its set temperature; however, considering the vaulted ceilings and it was mid-90's outside all weekend, that's understandable and it was still comfortable.

Room Tip: Harbor views are great! Be careful of top (3rd) floor rooms if it is hot outside - a/c unit struggl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Bryan S, we want to thank you for writing a fabulous review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We first want to say, CONGRATULATIONS! We're honored to have been able to help you out during this very special weekend.

It certainly seems that you had a wonderful experience. We did notice that you mentioned the A/C unit in your room seemed to have some issues. We plan on relaying this information to our engineering department to look into further. Thank you for brining it to our attention!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you or your fiancé in a future stay at our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and perhaps we'll see you back for the wedding! ;) Our location makes for the perfect wedding venue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier 5 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 5 Hotel

Address: 711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Inner Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#13 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pier 5 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pier 5 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 5 Baltimore
Hotel Pier 5
Pier 5 Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 5 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.