We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, quiet hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 5 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pier 5 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier 5 Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Inner Harbor)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 68 hotels in Baltimore
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant, quiet hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A friend of mine and I recently stayed at the Pier V Hotel. I called early in the morning to let them know we would be arriving for early check-in and they noted that down but couldn't guarantee it. Fortunately, when we arrived at noon they had a room ready for us. The room was spacious, very clean, looked over the harbor but had an odd antiseptic smell to it. But as we were going to an Orioles game and wouldn't be in the room that long we decided not to complain. Had we stayed in the room for any length of period we would've called the front desk to see what they could do. The staff was friendly and courteous. The hotel is attached to two restaurants: Ruth's Chris and McCormick and Schmick's. Parking is $22 for 24 hours at a public lot next door or you can pay for valet. We opted for the lot next door. Very nice location on the Inner Harbor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Tollers1, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a great review. We are very glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our location.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned that when you walked into your room, you noticed a smell of cleaning product. This was most likely because one of our housekeepers just finished cleaning your room. The scent from the cleaning solution most likely had yet to fully dissipate.

You also commented on the two restaurants attached to our hotel. They are both very delicious! If you are craving a tasty steak, definitely go to Ruth's Chris. McCormick and Schmick's seafood can't be beat either!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write a nice review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    394
    124
    62
    47
    45
See reviews for
132
264
27
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I came to this hotel for a little weekend vacation with plans to propose to my now-fiance! All of the staff was wonderfully friendly and went the extra mile to make our stay perfect. I called them beforehand telling them of my plans, and was connected to a "specialist" named Josh. He had great ideas and so many connections, and we planned the perfect proposal! Again, above and beyond. The room itself was awesome, very clean and vaulted ceilings for the top floor. If I must find something negative, the air conditioner was constantly running (even all night) and struggled to maintain its set temperature; however, considering the vaulted ceilings and it was mid-90's outside all weekend, that's understandable and it was still comfortable.

Room Tip: Harbor views are great! Be careful of top (3rd) floor rooms if it is hot outside - a/c unit struggl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Bryan S, we want to thank you for writing a fabulous review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We first want to say, CONGRATULATIONS! We're honored to have been able to help you out during this very special weekend.

It certainly seems that you had a wonderful experience. We did notice that you mentioned the A/C unit in your room seemed to have some issues. We plan on relaying this information to our engineering department to look into further. Thank you for brining it to our attention!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you or your fiancé in a future stay at our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and perhaps we'll see you back for the wedding! ;) Our location makes for the perfect wedding venue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassville, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Worth the price for a great location!! The staff is wonderfully polite and the hotel is very clean. Rooms are spacious and modern. lots of things close. Walking distance to good food and great attractions!!!!!! Hope to come back!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
laura918, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a phenomenal review. We are overjoyed to hear that you had a remarkable experience at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how helpful and polite our team was. We are truly lucky to have such amazing people working with us. They really do go out of their way to ensure everything is always perfect for our patrons.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We really appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much we truly appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Pier 5 over the July 4th holiday and we couldn't have been happier. Kevin was great, when I accidentally cancelled my reservation he was able to get us a new room at the same rate I booked at originally. Then when we got there we found out we were upgraded to suite at no extra cost! Next time we're in Baltimore we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
DrewS70, we want to thank you for writing an incredible review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your 4th of July holiday celebration. We are extremely happy to hear that you had an amazing time while staying with us.

We're glad that we were able to fix everything when you accidentally cancelled your reservation. It would only be fair to honor the room rate that you previously had. We are just relieved that everything was able to be taken care of and that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience.

When our guests are happy, so are we. We realize that it's the little things that can make the different between a "trip" and a "magical experience." For this reason, we love incorporating these small gestures whenever we can.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a kind review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This was a little tough to find. We were able to check-in early. Room was in third floor. When we first walked in room was an average room, but with a vaulted ceiling. This was nice to make room bigger, but not good in that room was warm. So warm we changed rooms the next night. There was four if us in one room, so we were given two king rooms, because they were out of doubles. Also gave us a gift card for next visit. Also the crabby hour was great. Very helpful staff. Everything turned out great. The view from upper balcony for fireworks was perfect. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
CampingMailman, we want to thank you for leaving us a nice review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are delighted to hear that we were able to resolve any issues that you had and provide you with a fun and memorable experience during the 4th of July.

Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us. We're happy that we were able to relocate you from the room that was a bit too warm. We have noted your comments about this room and plan to have our engineering team in to take a look to see what can be done. We gave you the gift card for a future stay because we wanted to both apologize for the inconvenience that the warm room caused, but also let you know that we are truly committed to our guests and let you know that we really do care.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It's greatly appreciated when guests take the time out of their day to write a great review. We hope you realize how much it truly means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see everyone back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I recently chose Pier 5 Hotel for our wedding ceremony and reception. We used the outside Garden area for the ceremony and the Harbor Club for our reception. I can't say enough how PERFECT everything turned out. We had a wonderful wedding coordinator, Chris that made sure everything was on time, as desired and just an overall wonderful experience. Leading up to the event every email was returned timely and all questions answered. The day of he ensured that everything was how we wanted it and even went above and beyond by ensuring that the surrounding restaurants were not playing outside music and that all my guests were taken care of with water and lemonade. When you book a Pier 5 wedding they give you a bridal assistant for the bride for the day of the wedding. For me this was Donna and let me tell you , Donna alone is a reason to book at the Pier 5 hotel. She not only took care of me my whole wedding day, she took care of the groom and myself the night before the wedding leaving us presents in our room the night before. She is just an overall lovely person that made sure my dress was right, kept me with drinks and food the entire day. Then she even doctored up our honeymoon suite for right after the wedding with rose petals, candles and champange. I can't even imagine having my wedding anywhere else. They have my HIGHEST recommendation.

In addition to all of that, the banquet staff and hotel front desk were just as friendly and helpful. They all knew who the wedding party was and treated us as treasured guests, which I did not expect. The rooms are beautiful and the entire hotel well maintained. The rooms are a bit pricey but that is to be expected in a city hotel. The way we were treated was worth every darn penny and I wouldn't have wanted anything different.

Then the FOOD. Oh my. Exactly as the tasting went and they made everything I requested. the day of everything was just over the top. I chose to go with stations which was a great way to have a buffet without it being a buffet. So I had a separate carving, seafood and pasta station where there was an attendant at each station serving people but this way there were separate lines and not just a long buffet line. It was set up beautifully and all banquet staff were professional. You didn't even know they were there but they were always there if needed.

When you book with Pier 5 Harbor Club you also use Music Masters DJ services. Perfect, DJ Ray was exactly what I wanted. Nice, polite, great DJ voice and was just able to give us the life of the party. I will write them a separate review because they were so perfect too.

Thank you Pier 5 and may you continue to make every bride and groom feel so special!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Mandy G, we want to thank you choosing our hotel as the location for both your ceremony and reception and we'd also like to thank you for writing an incredible review. We love the fact that we were able to be a part of your very special day and that everything was spectacular.

We realize that a couple's wedding is a huge and very important milestone. Because of this, it's so important to us that everything is perfect. We're happy to hear that our team was capable of providing you both with a memory and experience that will last your lifetime together. We'll be sure to pass along your gracious comments to both Chris and Donna. They'll certainly love hearing all you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you both in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and don't be strangers! Maybe we'll see you for your 1 year anniversary? ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Brook, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our sons gave us a weekend at the Pier 5 Hotel for a Christmas gift which we finally took advantage of this past weekend, 6/28 - 6/29. We were pleasantly surprised that upon checkin we received a suite vs. the standard room. Maybe luck of the Irish! The staff, including General Manager Ted, were very friendly and helpful. The suite was very clean and well kept. And the location of the hotel cannot be beat. Everything is within easy walking distance = the Harbor, Little Italy, Fells Point, and Camden Yards. We took advantage of all the area has to offer. Great trip and would stay at Pier 5 the next time as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Tom B, we want to thank you for leaving an amazing review and we'd also like to thank you for staying with us during your time in Baltimore. We are extremely happy to hear that you had a lovely time at our hotel.

It sounds like you've got great sons! We are overjoyed to hear that you felt our accommodations were very clean and well kept and that our location cannot be beat! We couldn't agree with you more in regards to our location. Many of our regular patrons always stay with us because we have such a close proximity to all of Inner Harbor's wonderful restaurants, shops, and attractions.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to write a kind review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier 5 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 5 Hotel

Address: 711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Inner Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#13 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#14 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pier 5 Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pier 5 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 5 Baltimore
Hotel Pier 5
Pier 5 Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 5 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.