We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 5 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pier 5 Hotel to your Saves list
Pier 5 Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Inner Harbor)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Can't help but wonder if reviewer jeffmargel stayed in the same Pier 5 that we are in?? This hotel is quite charming, from the welcoming lobby to the art deco room we are so enjoying. The front desk staff and bellhop were equally helpful and quite friendly. Are there any little "dings" here and there? Sure - what hotel doesn't have them? Look hard enough and you will find a problem with anything. We are here celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and are extremely happy we did not let the one negative review turn us off this property. We just had a delightful dinner next door at McCormick & Schmick's - a seafood lover's delight! Crabby Hour was a delight. This hotel is in an ideal location. Walk around and see the sights. There are plenty of places to eat within easy walking distance from the hotel. We're already planning a return trip in September.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top (3rd) floor. It was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Jet Gal, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your 40th wedding anniversary and we'd also like to thank you for writing us an incredible review. We couldn't be happier in hearing that you fully enjoyed your experience at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how great our staff was. We are extremely fortunate to have the opportunity to work with such wonderful people. They really do go out of their way to ensure everything is always perfect for our patrons.

A much loved aspect of our hotel is the fact that we have two amazing restaurants connected to our lobby. You definitely made a good choice picking McCormick & Schmick's. If you ever come back and visit, you'll have to give Ruth's Chris a try. The steaks are absolutely delicious!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much we truly appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you both back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    138
    69
    48
    45
See reviews for
145
300
29
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

From the pictures online, one might think that they were going to get a hip, boutique hotel experience in a city setting overlooking the Inner Harbor. Don't be fooled. The price point is okay but certainly not inexpensive, the lobby is decorated in a sort of retro style but it seems a little dated. That carries through to the guest rooms too. We were given an "upgrade" upon arrival, which we thought was very nice of them. However, upon entering the "junior suite" it was obvious this hotel is in dire need of renovation. The smell of the outdated dark carpet was neither welcoming or comfortable. Curtains were falling off the wall and the room was dark, not light and airy. The harbor view was great, but when we went out on one of three balconies,(none of which adjoined the other) there were puddles of standing water and some food scraps on the floor. Next up, the bathroom. Sink wouldn't drain and the shower was like a cave, with solid tiled walls and a frosted door. No light in the shower made it a dank dark space that was not inviting at all. The bathroom door paint was severely chipped and it really made the space seem dirty. The purple accent wall and poor fitting outdated curtains gave the bedroom a very outdated tired feel. I could go on but I hope you get the picture. When I picked up a coffee cup on the breakfast buffet it was visibly soiled, that put me off breakfast. We didn't shower before leaving because I didn't feel that I'd be able to actually get clean in such a dark enclosed space. The restaurants looked great and dinner at Ruth Cris's was wonderful. The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer, I feel bad that they don't have a great property to represent. The online description and photos are very misleading, a misrepresentation of what is actually there. There are quite a few hotels on the harbor. Some more money some less, any of which would've been a better choice. Save your hard earned money, and stay someplace else!! For the hotel owners, RENOVATE!! As it stands now, this property is in desperate need of help. Very tired, very old, very outdated, it could be a gem, but it needs LOTS of attention and work. Good luck staying in business in the harbor market!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
jeffmargel, we want to thank you for leaving us your feedback. We are extremely disappointed to hear that you were unsatisfied with your experience at our hotel. We always try to go out of our way to ensure the experience that our guests have is beyond exceptional.

We will be passing along your comments to our management team. We plan to discuss the comments that you made and see what can be done to improve any issues that we find that are also present in your review.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent two very pleasant nights at the Pier 5 Hotel in Baltimore. We had a small pet and they were very accomodating. This is right on Baltimore's harbor with multiple restaurants within walking distance. There was a concert on Pier 6 one of the nights that we were staying and it was entertaining but not too loud. Parking was $22 a day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
rhoustonmd, thank you for leaving us a nice review and we'd also like to thank you for staying with us during your time in Baltimore. We are extremely glad to hear that everyone, including your pet, fully enjoyed our hotel.

As Summer approaches, the area around our hotel definitely becomes much more lively! The great thing about the concerts over at the Pier 6 is that they aren't too far away to see but they also don't cause a disturbance for our guests. It's the perfect distance from us!

Many people don't realize that we are indeed a pet friendly hotel. We absolutely love when guests bring their furry friends along. Inner Harbor is a great place for kids and adults alike, but pets love it too! There are some really great places to walk them along the harbor. We're happy that we were able to accommodate your pet.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a great review. We hope you realize how much this means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing everyone back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just stayed at the Pier 5 Hotel for 5 nights for a business trip. The hotel is perfectly located on the harbor close to the aquarium and inner harbor. Very comfortable stay and the staff was excellent. Thanks to Billy who always had a wonderful smile each morning at the breakfast and Kevin who went out of his way to make my stay extra special. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a safe, comfortable hotel that makes you feel like you are at home. The bonus shuttle service to Fell's point and the "Crabby hour" was a nice touch. There was an additonal $9.95/day charge for these additional features, but well worth it if you use these services.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
angela123Canada, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your business trip and we'd also like to thank you for writing us an incredible review. We could not be happier hearing that you truly enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned some of our amazing team members. We are extremely fortunate to have such amazing people working with us. Every day they go out of their way to ensure that everything is always perfect for our patrons. We’ll be sure to share your comments with them. They will love hearing all you had to say!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It's greatly appreciated when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. We hope you realize how much this means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is in a wonderful location with great views of the harbor. It's very close to the aquarium and lots of restaurants. The rooms are spacious and clean, but need updating. I found the bed to be a little uncomfortable, and the desk chair was so uncomfortable, it should be trashed. The very friendly staff made up for things I found disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Jenmac215, we'd like to thank you for leaving us your feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned the prime location our hotel has. We couldn't agree with you more! Being so close to the aquarium and other attractions, shops, and eateries makes our location a spectacular place for those looking to get the most out of their Inner Harbor experience.

We're going to pass along your comments in regards to our rooms. We take guest comfort very seriously and will definitely discuss what actions can be taken to improve upon them.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We traveled with our 2 year old twins and this hotel location could not be better. There is a ramp to the lobby so great for the carriage. The valet greeted us and did not rush us as took us a while to exit the car. We checked in quickly and the valet brought all of our bags to our room with us. Right outside the hotel is a small park that was great for the 2 year olds. It is not your normal swings and slides but even better as very different than we have ever seen. It also had musical instruments which was also fun. We stayed in a suite grand clause which was really large and very nice with view of the aquarium and it had a small fridge and microwave which was helpful for family with small children. The balcony was a disappointment as it was not a balcony that you can walk out on. You could open slider but nowhere to go just small ledge with bars. We kept it close as not safe for children. The rug in the room was a little older but everything was clean. The pack-n-plays were very clean but we had to use a normal bed sheet not a pack-n-play sheet but this was not an issue for us. They brought the sheets immediately. The crabby hour was very entertaining and a nice perk for free local beer and wine and a small snack of either crepe with crab and artichoke or crackers and crab dip using local old bay spice which was wonderful. Unfortunately we could not hang around Saturday afternoon for the chocolate event but sounded great. The breakfast was good and convenient as it had waffles, omelets, fruit, breads, yogurt and cereals. The woman cooking the omelets was amazing with the kids that they were upset leaving her each morning. We would arrive and they got the high chairs from restaurant onsite and did it each morning without even requesting. We did not make it to the work out facility while we were there but nice family we met while there that had around 12 year old children did use it and said the pools at the facility were really nice and a great break for their family from touring around. Location is amazing, the staff is wonderful and the hotel is very nice. Great place to stay with young children as we went to the aquarium in the morning with the VIP passes from the hotel and came back for lunch and rest time and then returned later in the afternoon for more of the aquarium. Could not have been better location.

Room Tip: Grand Clause Suite is very large and great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
SnoopyMA, we'd like to thank you for leaving us an amazing review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are very happy to hear that your entire family fully enjoyed their experience at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned some of the great events that we host at our hotel like Crabby Hour and the Chocolate Event. Adults and children both love these offerings. It puts a smile on our face hearing that you appreciated the extra efforts that we take to create a unique stay for our patrons.

Individuals that are planning a trip to the aquarium can't pick a better location than our hotel! As you mentioned, many of our rooms face the aquarium. We've actually had some guests tell us they saw the dolphins from the dolphin show playing from their rooms!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write us a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much this means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything else we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is a smaller, boutique hotel (which we prefer) right on the water close to the aquarium and within walking distance to Camden Yards. The decor is gaining on being a bit "out-dated modern", but it is fine. The hotel makes up for that by the friendly, helpful staff. Even my kids noted that it is a safe hotel, since you can't even make it upstairs to the rooms without your room key. Fine location, decent rooms, helpful staff, breakfast in the lobby (additional fee), great location, best rates in that area -- you can't ask for more.
PS. There is a guy who plays the trumpet and sits about a block away from the hotel. He was out there for about 10 hours playing (and he is a good player). We fell asleep with our slider door open to his blues-jazz music at night -- how cool is that?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Wendytravelstheworld, we'd like to thank you writing us a nice review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. It's always great reading feedback from a happy guest. We're glad that you and your family had a wonderful time.

Safety is a top priority at our hotel. In addition to being a great place to stay, we also want to be a very safe place for our patrons. We saw you mentioned how helpful and friendly our staff was. We are very lucky to have such amazing people working with us. We'll definitely share you kind comments with them.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a great review. We hope you realize how much this means and know that this kind gesture won't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier 5 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 5 Hotel

Address: 711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Inner Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#13 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pier 5 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pier 5 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 5 Baltimore
Hotel Pier 5
Pier 5 Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 5 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.