We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pier 5 Hotel - great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 5 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pier 5 Hotel to your Saves list
Pier 5 Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Inner Harbor)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pier 5 Hotel - great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is a smaller, boutique hotel (which we prefer) right on the water close to the aquarium and within walking distance to Camden Yards. The decor is gaining on being a bit "out-dated modern", but it is fine. The hotel makes up for that by the friendly, helpful staff. Even my kids noted that it is a safe hotel, since you can't even make it upstairs to the rooms without your room key. Fine location, decent rooms, helpful staff, breakfast in the lobby (additional fee), great location, best rates in that area -- you can't ask for more.
PS. There is a guy who plays the trumpet and sits about a block away from the hotel. He was out there for about 10 hours playing (and he is a good player). We fell asleep with our slider door open to his blues-jazz music at night -- how cool is that?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Wendytravelstheworld, we'd like to thank you writing us a nice review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. It's always great reading feedback from a happy guest. We're glad that you and your family had a wonderful time.

Safety is a top priority at our hotel. In addition to being a great place to stay, we also want to be a very safe place for our patrons. We saw you mentioned how helpful and friendly our staff was. We are very lucky to have such amazing people working with us. We'll definitely share you kind comments with them.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a great review. We hope you realize how much this means and know that this kind gesture won't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    151
    76
    50
    46
See reviews for
161
321
30
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

From the moment we booked our trip and confirmed with Elizabeth, we had a good vibe.. Empress and Elizabeth were wonderful and helpful upon check in...Knowing it was our anniversary they had a bottle of champagne and a nice note awaiting our upgraded room! Having been in the Hospitality industry it was refreshing to find such a great staff throughout the Hotel, including the wedding we attended....We look forward to returning to this well run and hospitable hotel..
All the best
Mark D

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
daviddavid4, we'd like to thank you for leaving us an incredible review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're overjoyed to hear that you had an excellent experience while staying at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned our wonderful and attentive staff. We realize how truly fortunate we are to have such amazing people working with us. They always go out of their way to ensure everything is always perfect for our patrons. We'll be sure to pass along your kind remarks to them. They will love hearing all you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It's very much appreciated when guests take the time out of their day to leave a great review. We hope you realize how much this means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend for a wedding at the hotel. We got to the hotel a little early and were sad to find out our room wasn't ready yet, but the hotel was nice enough to hold onto our luggage so we could walk around a bit. They were supposed to call when the room was ready, but we came back about an hour later and tried again and our room was ready. The room was clean and pretty large. We had a little sitting area and a balcony looking over the harbor. The room could use a little updating, but as long as the room is clean, the air works and there are lights I'm happy. Although, they could use a few more lights - it was pretty dark at night. The hotel offers "crabby hour" from 5-6 during the week, which is great! They do a little cooking demo featuring some sort of crab dish and you get to taste everything and free wine & beer. On Saturdays they have a chocolate hour, same concept but with chocolate and champagne.
On to the cons - it was more of an inconvenience to the bride getting married, but the hotel seemed to book a ton of events! While we were staying there for a weekend, there was a drama conference, the wedding we were attending and another wedding. So needless to say, the hotel was pretty busy and the lobby area was loud into the night. My only other complaint was that the lobby area & bar are located within the center atrium which most of the rooms are over, so when people were hanging out in the lobby area we could hear them. The location of the hotel is great - walking distance to the aquarium, Fells Point, Little Italy and Camden Yards. All in all, it was a good hotel, and a beautiful location for a wedding!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
atlbeachbum81, we'd like to thank you for writing us a nice review. We're delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable time while staying with us and that the wedding you attended at our hotel was phenomenal.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned the numerous events that we host for our guests. We decided to run these small activities to further enhance the experience at our hotel. We want to apologize for the fact that you were not notified via phone when your room was ready. Rest assured that we plan on sharing this feedback with our team in order to prevent this from happening again.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We greatly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us great review. We hope you realize how much this means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My fiance bought got this room for us on Priceline for $77. Because of the low price, I wasn't expecting much, but after reading reviews online, I was excited to visit. The location is great. It is right in the inner harbor near all the restaurants and shops. It is also a short walking distance to Fells Point and Little Italy. The hotel reminded me of the "Promenade" seen on many cruise ships where all the doors of the hotel rooms face inside to a lobby. We ended up with a room with 2 beds. The room was very spacious and we had a view of the water. With priceline, you usually get one of the worst rooms, so this was surprisingly nice. The room was very spacious and the mattress was nice and firm. We really enjoyed the chocolate happy hour and champagne. Never saw that anywhere else before. My only real complaint was the noise. There was a "comparative drama" conference happening while we were there, and they had a reception in the lobby on Saturday night. Because our door faced the lobby, we heard the partying the WHOLE time. It was kind of hard to sleep with all that happening.

We had a nice stay there and would go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Kate185, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience while staying at our hotel.

No matter where our guests make their reservation, we always provide the same excellent quality of service. From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned our chocolate event. We are always trying to create small unique experiences for our guests. We know it's the little things that can make for a truly wonderful and memorable time. We're glad that you appreciated these small gestures.

We want to apologize for any noise that you hard during your stay. We are going to pass along this information to our management team to see what can be done to better control sound levels from the lobby.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. We hope you realize how much this means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you and your fiancé back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We searched all over for a place to host our civil ceremony. The Pier 5 took on our special day and made it more magical than we ever could've imagined. Besides the awesomely convenient location. The staff here made us and our guests feel so comfortable that we didn't even have time to be nervous on this "Big Day". Josh the Executive Concierge and the GM were very easy to work with and made special accommodations just for us. This is not only a great place to have a wedding, it is a wonderful place to getaway in general. Make sure to take advantage of the complimentary champagne and chocolate hour on Saturdays it makes things all the better. If you want Decor, great service and a great view this is the Boutique hotel of choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Kevin C, we'd like to thank you for writing us an incredible review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to have your very special occasion at our property. We’re very delighted to hear that we were able to provide an amazing experience for you both.

Taking on your event truly meant the world to us. We always strive for perfection and wanted to ensure that your big day went on without a hitch. We'll be sure to pass along your gracious remarks to all of our staff. Everyone here wishes you both the best and they'll certainly love hearing all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a great review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you both back soon! (Perhaps on an anniversary!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just recently Pier 5 has partnered with the upper end, Ascend, of the Choice Hotel group We were excited to be able to use reward points (Lots of them) to stay the weekend at this hotel. With this being a great location and expensive hotel, we were a bit concerned about the room we would be assigned and the treatment we may receive. Not to worry, the staff was gracious and friendly. The guest receptions held in the lobby both Friday and Saturday were presented in a way that
kept them light and fun. The location was central to the Inner Harbor with lots to do in all directions. Thanks for a quality weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
bkoxen, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a fantastic review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We couldn't be happier to now be a part of the Ascend Choice Hotel Group! We're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time while staying with us.

One of the cornerstones of our location has always been to deliver unparalleled service and a magical experience for our patrons. We stand behind this no matter where our guests come from, Ascend or not. It makes us happy to see that you enjoyed the small events we hold in our lobby. We know Inner Harbor is filled with fun things to do, but we wanted to create some opportunities for our guests to have fun right in our hotel!

We'd like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time to leave us a great review. We hope you realize how much this means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our property, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, NJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay. You could say it is expensive, but you pay for location and the service. The room was very nice with a great view of the harbor. The room is modernly decorated with comfortable beds. Another nice service is they have a free shuttle to Fell's point.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
rxdadof2, we'd like to thank you for writing us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. It's extremely delightful to hear that you fully enjoyed your experience at our hotel.

We saw that you mentioned our convenient location and the wonderful view that our property has of the harbor. We couldn't agree with you more about our harbor facing rooms. The view is simply incredible! Many people choose to stay at our hotel because of the close proximity we have to all of the great attractions Inner Harbor has to offer. We’re glad that you too appreciated this.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. We hope you realize how much this means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pier 5 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 5 Hotel

Address: 711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Inner Harbor
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#9 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pier 5 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Pier 5 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 5 Baltimore
Hotel Pier 5
Pier 5 Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 5 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.