We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 5 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pier 5 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier 5 Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Inner Harbor)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 68 hotels in Baltimore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A relative both got married and had the reception at the hotel. Ask for a third floor room for a quieter stay. Hotel is pretty. Service is very helpful and attentive. . Location is perfect , walking distance to Little Italy, Aquarium etc. Self parking for $20 but no re entry. Valet for $38 and unlimited re entry. We chose valet since we are finicky about our car. Breakfast buffet omelet was delicious. Enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Lenorerose, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a nice review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. It makes us happy hearing that you had a great experience while staying with us.

We couldn't agree with you more about our location! Our close proximity to many of Inner Harbor's attractions and eateries is definitely a favorite among our frequent patrons. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast buffet. We know breakfast is the most important meal of the day which is why we offer it!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a great review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    394
    124
    62
    47
    45
See reviews for
132
264
27
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I got married February 23, but we settled on our first/new home the evening before on the 22nd. At first, we were disappointed that we would not be able to spend our wedding night in our new home. We instead, after reading so many positive reviews, spent our wedding night & began our honeymoon at Pier 5 hotel and we were VERY pleased with the accomodations made to make this a most memorable experience for our first night as husband and wife. When we arrived, the staff was happy and helpful, and there was chocolate-covered goodies and chilled sparkling wine waiting for us in the room, on the house! The room was clean and spacious, and the view was beautiful in the morning overlooking the harbor from our balcony. Pier 5 really brightens up Baltimore's atmosphere both with their unique and creative design, and their customer friendly attitude. We've never rented a room where we didn't have to contact a manager/supervisor for an issue... but upon our arrival, we met the manager, Ted and their Harbor Magic Specialist and they really went above and beyond what we had expected to make the night smooth and worry-free, which is ALL a bride could ask for after planning a wedding! We also took advantage of McCormick's on the floor below and indulged in an post-reception dinner (the reception hall took our food before we were finished) and it was delicious! Thank you to the staff who made our wedding night absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Liz D, we want to thank you for writing us a fabulous review. It’s extremely delightful to hear that we were able to make this very special night for both you and your husband even more memorable. We couldn't be happier that you chose to stay with us and that you were both impressed with our hotel.

We always strive to create a warm and welcoming environment for our guests. You and your husband deserved a fantastic experience and we're happy to see that we were able to provide this. We're glad that you enjoyed the small things gifts in your room. We know that it's the little things that can really make an experience even more special. Because of this, we're always trying to offer as many of these small gestures as possible.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a wonderful review. We hope your realize how much this means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sciota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I love the atmosphere and architechture of the Pier5. This was our second stay there but our first with our dog as Pier5 is pet friendly. We all had a very good stay and got to enjoy the Inner Harbor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Ron S, we'd like to thank you for writing us a fantastic review and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage at our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you had another amazing stay at our location.

As you mentioned in your review, we are indeed pet friendly and encourage our guests to bring their furry friends! We know that it can be a tough decision leaving them at home, which is why we don't want our patrons to have to make that decision! We couldn't agree with you more in regards to the architectural styling our hotel has. It's definitely very unique and something many of our fans love.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I, along with our six year old granddaughter spent a most welcoming stay at the Pier 5 Hotel at Baltimore Harbor. The location simply could not have been better for all of the wonderful activities located there. The hotel is next to the Aquarium, which is a wonder in itself. A walk along the harbor, brought us to the Science Center. Again, great! And then there are all the ships, for further exploration, etc. All of the staff we interacted with at this hotel went out of there way to treat us well. The hotel has a fun, boutique hotel look. Our room was was very large and comfortable. One of their added specialties was a cooking lesson/instruction on how to make crab dip. Actually, this was an entertaining performance. We enjoyed complimentary wine and crab dip/crackers, as we observed the action. After that we had dinner at one of the adjoining restaurants. Both great! Their version of continental breakfast was far more wonderful than we expected. Very special. We most definitely will return and stay at this hotel. It was a delightful surprise!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Wow, we have to start off by saying that you took some AWESOME pictures! Thank you for sharing them too! We want to offer our gratitude for writing an incredible review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore.

We are extremely delighted to hear that everyone thoroughly enjoyed their time at our hotel and beautiful Inner Harbor. There is definitely no shortage of things to do around our hotel. By far, our favorite would have to be the aquarium. From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned the numerous amenities and activities that we offer our patrons. We're always setting out to make the guest experience as magical and entertaining as possible. It makes us very happy to see that you appreciated all the small things we did to enhance your visit.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We greatly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. It definitely means a lot and we hope you know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I don't have a bad thing to say about my time at Pier 5. The staff was helpful, room was large, comfortable, and clean. They have a nice breakfast selection in the lobby that I used on both days. My room looked out into the Inner Harbor and had a beautiful view. It is very close to many of the Inner Harbor attractions including many restaurants. I didn't look at prices for surrounding hotels but this hotel was perfect for my stay in Baltimore.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
bengals09, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. It's always satisfying to hear back from guests that have a wonderful time at our location.

Many of our frequent patrons love our hotel for the exact reasons that you mentioned. Our staff continuously strives to provide the most perfect experience for our patrons. Rooms facing the harbor are always very desirable. The view that you get truly can't be beat! We'll be sure to pass along your gracious remarks to our team.

We'd like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just spent a nice weekend at the inner harbor with my wife and another couple and chose to stay at the Pier 5 hotel. I must say that the hotel is very clean and in a great location. Really enjoyed the chocolate hour as well. The staff was great and very friendly could not ask for better. I will with out a doubt come back to this hotel the next time I am going to Baltimore.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hacker31, we'd like to thank you for writing us an amazing review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are very glad to see that you and your wife had a spectacular weekend while staying at our hotel.

One thing that we continually strive for is a wonderful experience for our patrons. Whether it's our helpful and friendly staff, or the numerous events we hold for our guests, we realize that it is truly the little things that can go a long way. We are delighted to see that you acknowledged these small gestures. It lets us know that we're doing the right thing!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

My recent stay at the Pier 5 was Perdect!. The location couldn't be better, with two great restaraunts located in the building. As well as a delicious Hotel breakfast in the lobby. Where Mr. Billy served me, He could not have been nicer or more professional. I had an Amazing Omelet cooked right in front of me in the lobby by Chef Zurrita. (Please forgive me if that's not the correct spelling of her name) The lobby as well as my room was modern and bursting with beautiful jewel tones.The front desk staff was accomodating and extremely courteous. There is no request to big, that they wont meet to satisfy the guest. Especially Empress and kevin at the front desk. I have already told all of my friends and we are planning a girls trip now.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Granzof8, we'd like to thank you for leaving us an incredible review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are extremely delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time while staying at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we see you mentioned how accommodating many of our team members were. We are very lucky to have the opportunity to work with such great people. They truly go out of their way to ensure everything is always perfect for our patrons. We'll be sure to let everyone know about your review. Hearing your comments will certainly make them very happy.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier 5 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 5 Hotel

Address: 711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Inner Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#13 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#14 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pier 5 Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pier 5 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 5 Baltimore
Hotel Pier 5
Pier 5 Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 5 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.