We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, pricey stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 5 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pier 5 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier 5 Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Inner Harbor)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 63 hotels in Baltimore
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, pricey stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The only feature that is absolutely unbeatable about the Pier V hotel is its location. You simply cannot beat it. Are there nicer hotels? Yes. Are there fancier rooms? Yes. But there is no other hotel that is as close to everything in the Inner Harbor as this one. Plus, it is a boutique hotel, which means you'll be supporting a small business. By the way, the answering service they use to book rooms with is dreadful, however please do not hold it against them, other than the fact that they have hired a bad company.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Crikaya, we'd first like to thank you for leaving us a great review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We couldn't agree with you more about the location of our hotel. We feel that we are nestled in the perfect spot. Our guests have easy access to many of the wonderful places located around Inner Harbor.

From reading over your review, we see that you mentioned the answering service we use. We want to thank you for this feedback. We'll be forwarding this information to the rest of our team, and plan to discuss its effectiveness.

We want to thank you for taking the time to share with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    402
    126
    63
    47
    45
See reviews for
134
269
27
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

With a late arrival of 11:30at BWI, I was concerned about my husband being hungry so I phoned the hotel a few days before we flew. When the concierge suggested and then offered to simply have a fruit and cheese plate snack plate waiting for us, I was grateful and appreciative. He never mentioned or even suggested that this would be anything but a courtesy gesture on behalf of the hotel, since there were no options in the hotel or nearby and no room service at that hour. And, having stayed in several hotels of this caliber ($250-300/night) I wouldn't assume anything less. We had a lovely woman check us in, and a modest cheese plate, crackers and some strawberries awaited us-terrific.
Upon checkout, we discovered that the 'courtesy gesture' was in fact a $75 charge. A young woman, different than who checked us in, was now working. I let her know I thought there must be some misunderstanding and explained. Her first answer was 'This is a hotel. What did you expect?' I let her know it wasn't inflated prices that surprised me, just that there was a charge at all. I went on to say that if the hotel wanted to bill me, perhaps they should consider lessening the blow, since it was initially presented to me as a courtesy gesture. And yes, it was a wildly inflated even for a hotel. $7extra to deliver the $30cheese and crackers and an additional $7 to deliver the 6 strawberries-also $30. The girl at the front desk continued to stare at her computer screen, repeating the charges. When she finally understood that this was pre-arranged with the concierge, that I hadn't called room service at that hour, because it was closed!, her answer was 'Well, if you spoke to the concierge, I don't know what he told you.' At this point my husband jumped in to very politely say 'Obviously there has been a misunderstanding. My wife and I would like some gesture from the hotel to rectify it. Why don't you simply take off 20%? As of now, we don't want to ever come back here-not because of the misunderstanding, but because of how it's being handled.' Once more the girl at the front desk, with her co-worker standing behind her, stared at the computer screen. 'There's nothing I can do' she said. We checked out. We won't go back.
Here's the p.s. that I must mention. The woman who checked us in the first night was so helpful and friendly AND she helped us order a bottle of wine-which YES, we happily paid for.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pier can be very noisy late night-even with the windows shut. The air conditioning u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
missuskane, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We have passed along the information from your review to our management so they may investigate further. Please know that we are looking into this.

We hope that you will come back and give us another try sometime. We value your patronage.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

paid 165 government rate. can't beat that for the location. Front desk guy Josh was awesome. attend his crabby hour demonstration. Wish the hotel had more floors so there are even better views, but I enjoyed the harbor view that we had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
mhalweg, we'd first like to thank you for leaving us a great review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are extremely happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our hotel, and that you especially liked the view of the harbor you had. By the way, great pictures!

From reading you review we see you mentioned some of our wonderful staff. We truly have some amazing people working for us, and we'll certainly make sure to pass along the kind comments you made. They work extra hard to ensure everything is perfect for our guests. Because of this, they love hearing feedback from satisfied patrons!

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay at our hotel. It really means so much to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us an amazing review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this, and that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My family and I have been staying at the Pier 5 Hotel for years. We recently stayed at the Pier 5 for our anniversary. Empress went above and beyond to make our stay even better! The location of the hotel is close to everything, which helps because we have three children. The staff at the Pier 5 is always helpful and makes our stay a better expereince than the last. We will continue to stay at the Pier 5 everytime we return to Baltimore. Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: Each year we have visited, we have stayed in a different room. This last time we stayed, we had a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Brian N, thank you for leaving us a spectacular review, and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage, you're truly a valued guest! We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable celebration of your anniversary at our hotel.

From reading your review, we see that our staff was able to enhance your experience. We are so lucky to have such an amazing team. They truly go above and beyond to ensure our guests have the best time possible. We're very lucky to work with such great people!

We'd like to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay at our hotel. It really means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a wonderful review. We hope you know much we appreciate this, and realize that this kind gesture certainly doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I cannot believe the things people gripe about when they do reviews. They complain something was broken in their room but don't bother to tell the desk. We had a bulb out in the bathroom and maintenance was there in less than two minutes. Need a fridge? Delivered in two minutes! Problem with the view... Relocated in two minutes! Come on people! You cannot expect things to be perfect but you can ask for what you expect and they will do the best they can to please you! People complained about the decor???? If you dont like it when you see it online, go to a stuffy hotel! We were very happy staying at the modern decor, Pier 5, for 3 nights! We wanted it to be longer but we had to leave! Pier 5 is truly a hotel that stands out from all the rest! We have stayed in six of the so-called best hotels this year and our vote goes to this hotel for 1st 2nd and 3rd choice because the staff truly knows the meaning of the word 'hospitality'. Also, thank you to Pier 5 for sending me the crabmeat appetizer recipe!!!! You guys are awesome! Good luck to the Orioles also! We Red Sox fans are hoping you go all the way!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
KathyandGlen, thank you for leaving us an incredible review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We want to emphasize on the fact that if any guest at all ever has a problem, all they need to do is contact someone at our front desk and we will try out absolute best to make things right! We're happy to see that our staff was able to quickly replace the bulb in your bathroom, and that overall you enjoyed your time with us.

In regards to the recipe, you're very welcome! We hope you have an easy time replicating it. We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us an amazing review. We hope you realize how much this means to us, and that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future stay at our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Pier 5 this past weekend. From the moment we arrived the staff went out of their way to make sure that our stay was a pleasant one. We arrived early before our room was ready and they held our luggage for us and even called us when our room was ready. Our room was upgraded to the third floor overlooking the harbor. We were given many recommendations for fun things to do and places to eat lunch and dinner. They provided complimentary shuttle service to Fells Point where we had a fabulous dinner at Adelas (tapas). The hotel is right on the harbor so it is easy to walk to eating and shopping places. We will be staying there again the next time our travel plans take us to Baltimore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Bill M, we'd like to thank you for writing us an amazing review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are very happy to hear that both you and your wife thoroughly enjoyed your time with us.

From reading over your review, we see that you mentioned how hospitable our staff was during your stay. They work extra hard to ensure our guests have an incredible experience. We'll certainly make sure to pass along the kind comments you made to them. They love hearing back from satisfied patrons!

We're glad to see that you utilized our complimentary shuttle service to Fell's Point. This area has so many great places to both shop and dine at! And of course, for those that would rather stay closer to our hotel, there are many great dining and shopping options within walking distance, as you mentioned.

We'd like to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay at our hotel. It truly means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a fantastic review. We hope you realize how grateful we are, and that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future stay at our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I found this hotel to be in a great location right on the harbor! We stayed there because we went to the Orioles vs. the White Sox game on a Thursday afternoon.
When we arrived the staff was super helpful and friendly. The guy at the front desk (I can't remember his name) gave us helpful information about the hotel. He did fail to mention about the breakfast buffet in the morning though. He was so helpful with getting us out of Baltimore for the next day since a lot of the roads were closed due to the Indy Car Race. I very much appreciated his help with that.
The rooms were nice and clean. We were right near all the restaurants and the aquarium.
Had a great time and if we head back to Baltimore again we will probably stay there.
There was ONE downfall…the parking. The Valet guy was not outside to take the cars or even in the lobby area. We parked in the lot next door and had to pay $30 for parking which was crazy since we stayed at the hotel. That didn’t ruin our experience. I do recommend this hotel if you are staying in Baltimore.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
ashybabe11, we'd like to thank you for leaving us an amazing review, and also thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We hope you had a great time at the baseball game, and we're delighted to hear that you felt our hotel had a perfect location.

We're happy to hear that our staff was able to help you with navigate around Baltimore during the very popular Indy Car Race, and that they were also able to inform you about most of the things happening at our hotel. We'll make sure to pass along the comment you made about not being informed about the breakfast buffet and want to apologize about this.

After reading your review, we also see your comments about the parking. We'll certainly make sure to also pass along your feedback on this.

We'd like to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay with us. It means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this and that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier 5 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 5 Hotel

Address: 711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Inner Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#13 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pier 5 Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pier 5 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 5 Baltimore
Hotel Pier 5
Pier 5 Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 5 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.