We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Satisfied Customer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 5 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pier 5 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier 5 Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Inner Harbor)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 63 hotels in Baltimore
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Very Satisfied Customer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

My husband and Ifirst came to the Pier 5 Hotel 3 years ago for our anniversary. We liked it so much we came back last weekend. It was even better than we remembered. The staff was so helpful and friendly. We were very pleased with everything from the valet to the cleanliness of the room. The front desk staff was awesome. I believe it was Kevin and Greg that helped when we checked in. The location to many great places to dine was a bonus for us. We went to the aquarium which was just across the pier from us. We also had a fantastic dinner at McCormick and Schmicks which was located right in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    402
    126
    65
    47
    45
See reviews for
134
271
27
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

This a great hotel with a beautiful view of downtown. Service was excellent and fast. The room was beautiful and warm. I loved the restaurant Ruth Chris'. The food was soooooo delicious and mouth-watering. I go to this restaurant just about every 2 weeks. This is a great place to stay for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011 via mobile

We were pleased with the hotel but were amazed by Jada and Kevin. Jada welcomed us like we were old friends and gave us advice as to some of the local attractions. Kevin had a good conversation with us after Crabby Hour.
The Peir 5 Hotel was upscale but not stuffy just the perfect place for our weekend get away.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

The Pier 5 Hotel is perfectly situated between the Inner Harbor and Fells Point, just a short walk to each, but also just on the quieter side of either place. The rooms are very nice as others have mentioned. With Ruth Chris and McCormick and Schmicks in the same building, a great meal with a view of the harbor is only steps away.

The staff was outstanding, genuinely friendly and helpful. The staff turned a very nice hotel experience into outstanding rating.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

I stayed for 1 night in December at the Pier 5 Hotel as part of a 2-day business meeting. This is located right on the Inner Harbor of Baltimore, 1 pier away from the National Aquarium. The hotel is very nice, clean, and a great location. We had a very reasonable group room rate so I don't know what they normally charge. The only drawback is that the layout is an open square from lobby to rooftop, so that all the room doors face the cavernous opening. This is ok unless there is a loud party or reception going on , as there was the night I was there. I didn't hear it since my room was far enough away, but others in our group complained about the late night noise. On the other hand, the view from my room of the Inner Harbor was nice. Internet connection was free with the room and worked fine. There are 2 high end dining options in the hotel but plenty of moderate price restaurants nearby, including Little Italy and and Fells Point several blocks away. The hotel offers a small continental breakfast for $9.95 or you can order something hot ($14.95) in a smallish breakfast area. They also offer a "Crabby Hour" starting at 5:30 with light snacks, wine, and beer complimentary -a nice touch. Parking rates are a bit steep (valet ($32/day) or park yourself ($22/day) in an open lot next to the hotel) but that's the trend for hotels in cities these days. Overall, a good experience, nice location, and comfortable stay. I definitely recommend it if you can get a good rate and find yourself in Baltimore.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators and on a higher floor to avoid noise from the lobby or recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Wife and I decided to get away one night for our anniversary. Stayed at Pier 5's highest rated room and in most case we were very impressed. The hotel employees were very friendly and Kevin at the front desk was very professional and will go out of his way to make your stay perfect. The view from our room was breathtaking. The suite was very nice but certainly could do with some updating when you factor in cost. Dont get us wrong the room itself was gorgeous just seemed a lil bit dated. All in all we would def. recommend this hotel and would go their ourselves again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed here the weekend of Thanksgiving, 2011. It's a very nice hotel. Nice decor, large room and very good location (right in the Inner Harbor). The staff was quite friendly and helpful. We really liked our stay here. They also offered free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, which was fast and easy to access.

I have no real complaints, though the buffet breakfast was a bit disappointing (slow service, though they apologized and comped us the meal, and the quality of the food is just OK - may do better to walk to Fell's Point and have brunch out). We didn't try room service, but the hotel is attached to 2 chain restaurants (Ruth's Chris Steak House and McCormick & Schmick's) so I'm sure it's fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier 5 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 5 Hotel

Address: 711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Inner Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#13 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pier 5 Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pier 5 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 5 Baltimore
Hotel Pier 5
Pier 5 Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 5 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.