We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Henderson's Wharf

Save Saved
You added Inn at Henderson's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Fell St, Baltimore, MD 21231   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 63 hotels in Baltimore
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Odd place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

You get what you pay for-usually I believe in this saying. But I found the amenities and service at Hendersons Wharf Inn to be grossly overpriced. It is, undoubtedly an excellent location and a beautiful building. When we checked in, the person at the front desk was extremely polite, but not particularly helpful. I don't know if she was new to the area, or just hadn't been trained very well but there were alot of basic questions about public transport, areas of the city that she couldn't answer. I found that strange. No help was ever offered with our luggage. The very odd "additional fee" of $10 a night was extremely confusing and should not even be discussed. You have no option to turn it down, and it is a fee for what most hotels, particularly ones that charge $240 (or $250 with the "fee") include in their rate. We payed this fee for wifi, which only worked sporadically, a gym that the person at the front desk couldn't tell us the location of, and 2 little bottles of water. When I asked for 2 more bottles of water on our 2nd day, thinking they would be restocked each day of our stay-I was told I would be charged for them. There were other things that the fee covered-but nothing we had any interest in using. Another odd thing is that we had a window on the courtyard/garden, and you could not open the windows. You couldn't even open the dark wood shutters, because they swung out (like french doors) and they were blocked by a huge, heavy desk. The room was a dark cave, but at least it wasn't a "harbor view", which does, indeed have a view of the harbor AND the dozens and dozens of people who walk by every day. Right at your sight level. Bizarre! We saw a fenced off pool-and had no idea if it was part of the hotel. No one ever mentioned it.The hotel seems to have no soundproofing, so we heard everything that was happening in the neighboring rooms and the hallway. The housekeeping gathered each morning outside our room and did alot of socializing and, strangely, each day when we returned around 4:30-5, they were still in the area cleaning the rooms. I saw dirty dishes sit outside doorways for entire days. I just don't get the "system" they are using. It seems like such a beautiful hotel that could be a wonderful place to stay. I wouldn't recommend it for the high price tag.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Henderson's Wharf, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
elraz, we'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave us your great feedback. We strive to be ultra competitive with our room rates. In addition to this, the breakfast which we offer our guests is considered a great added value that many patrons highly enjoy.

We see from your review that you mentioned an "additional fee". This is known as our Destination Fee. It is a package of offerings that are meant to be a value to our guests. If certain patrons do not take advantage of these features we have no hesitation in removing it from the bill.

Addressing your other areas of feedback, we have already planned meetings with both the front desk team as well as our housekeeping department. In these meetings we plan to share your comments with them to ensure that future service is delivered at the level to which our guests can not only expect, but also be impressed by.

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We value the comments you have provided us because it gives us the opportunity to make ourselves better.

We hope that you will come back and give us another chance. If we can ever do anything to accommodate please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    494
    86
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
115
297
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I travel often, and it's hard to find a place where you feel safe, comfortable and part of a family. From the moment I called to make my reservation until the morning I checked out, I truly knew I made the right choice. Raymond greeted me as if he had known me his entire life. He was pleasant, informative and helpful. His demeanor set the tone for the rest of my stay. I never wanted to leave.
Thank you to Henderson's Wharf Inn for a most wonderful experience!

Room Tip: There is no restaurant on site, however, the breakfast was awesome. Everything was so fresh! There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Henderson's Wharf, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Susan H, we'd like to thank you for writing us an incredible review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are very glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time while staying at our hotel. We're also delighted to hear that not only did you feel safe, but you also felt part of our family.

After reading over your review we see that you mentioned one of our great staff members. We are very lucky to have such amazing people working with us every day. Our team truly works hard to ensure our guests have the best experience possible while staying with us. It makes us happy to hear that you experienced this first hand.

We'd like to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay with us. We really appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a spectacular review. We hope you know how much this means to us and realize that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future stay at our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a few nights in September for our anniversary as we had our wedding reception there 14 years ago. If anything the hotel has gotten nicer. The rooms are perfectly appointed and comfortable, the hotel employees are courteous and helpful and the proximity to fells point is a bonus as we didn't have to drive anywhere. The other nice perk is this is one of the harbor magic hotels and you can take a free shuttle between any of their hotels which basically gets you anywhere you need to go in Baltimore without having to pay for a taxi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Henderson's Wharf, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Ravens_eleven, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a wonderful review and also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your Anniversary. We think that it's really great that you had your reception at our hotel and came back to celebrate your special day.

We're very happy to hear that you feel our hotel has improved since the last time you were here. We are always striving to improve the overall experience our guests have. Whether it's our beautiful and comfortable rooms, or welcoming and friendly staff, we know that the guest experience is what matters most.

We'd like to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. It means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a spectacular review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Henderson's Wharf Inn for 4 nights in early August. Our room was perfect--the view, the furnishings, and all of the amenities available made it one of the nicest lodging experiences we have ever had! The breakfast each morning was wonderful--beautifully arranged, and there were many items to select from. Every single staff member of the Inn made us feel welcome, and they all made a concerted effort to make our stay at the Inn a very special experience. The Henderson's Wharf Inn has a fantastic location in Fell's Point...far enough away from the noise and hustle bustle of the Inner Harbor area,but close to many fine restaurants and taverns. The Inn is in close proximity to the water taxi stop, which we used several times during our stay. It is only a short stroll to the Visitors Center, which has a small museum area inside and offers walking tours of Fells Point. Would highly recommend staying at the Henderson's Wharf Inn to anyone visiting Baltimore!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Henderson's Wharf, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
tardo, we'd like to thank you for writing us an incredible review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are very glad to hear that you extremely enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

From reading over your review we see you mentioned our delicious breakfast. We're happy to hear that you were very satisfied with the food and its wonderful presentation. We couldn't agree with you more about our location. Many of our guests feel it's a huge bonus to be surrounded by so many great things to do and see in Fell's Point.

We'd like to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay at our hotel. It really means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us an amazing review. We hope you know how much we appreciate this, and that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is very amazing. The staff at this hotel is probably the friendliest staff I have encountered at a hotel. The room was very clean. Everything was very quaint and well decorated. Very quiet and perfect setting being right on the water. Everything is within walking distance. We will stay here again next time we visit Baltimore.

Room Tip: We had a gardenview room which was really pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Henderson's Wharf, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
KVacc, we'd like to thank you for leaving us an incredible review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are extremely happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time while staying at our hotel.

From reading your review we see that you mentioned our spectacular staff. We are truly lucky to have the opportunity to work with such great people! They really do go out of their way to ensure everything is perfect for our guests. We'll certainly make sure to pass along your kind comments. We're certain it will put a smile on their faces.

We'd like to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. It truly means so much to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a wonderful review. We hope you know how much we appreciate this, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed here to just check out the only Harbor Magic Hotel that I had not visited. I was extremely surprised at the facility. A very nice quiet place to spend a long weekend with Family and friends. A short walk into Fels Point and with the shuttle system, very easy to get to inner harbor area. Definitely a return visit will happen

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Henderson's Wharf, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Pat A, we want to thank you for leaving us a great review, and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage to our hotels. We are extremely happy to hear that you have stayed at all 3 of our hotels and enjoyed each experience!

We certainly have a different atmosphere and environment when comparing our hotel to our other properties. We truly love that each one of our hotels has something very unique and distinct about them. We feel that this is a huge bonus to our guests.

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor Community on your stay. It means so much to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. We hope you know how much we truly appreciate this, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Beni
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Henderson's Wharf Inn is very convenient with clean and comfortable rooms. The breakfast buffet was very good, and had lots of goodies. The nearby restaurants, shops and charm was definitely a plus!
The only negative was the bed. It sagged, and the pillows were not great. I was at a conference, and very tired every day, so I tolerated the inconvenience without complaint.
I would definitely come again, but make sure I got a decent bed.

Room Tip: Check out the bed first! Make sure it is a comfort level that you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Henderson's Wharf, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
ron956, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are extremely happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience while staying with us.

After reading your review we see that you mentioned our delicious breakfast buffet. We're glad that you enjoyed this and that it made your trip even better. You certainly are correct about the number of great restaurants and shops located near us. We feel that this is such a huge bonus for our guests!

We'll make sure to pass along the comments you made about your bed. We want to apologize for this inconvenience and know that we'll take the appropriate measures to fix this.

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us their feedback. We hope you know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Henderson's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Henderson's Wharf

Address: 1000 Fell St, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#2 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Henderson's Wharf 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Henderson's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henderson`s Wharf Hotel Baltimore
Hendersons Wharf Hotel
Hendersons Wharf Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Henderson's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.