We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really, really good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pitango Gelato

Pitango Gelato
802 S Broadway St., Baltimore, MD 21231 (Fells Point)
410-702-5828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,805 Restaurants in Baltimore
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Neighborhood: Fells Point
Toledo, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really, really good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Not quite like the Gelato shops in Italy... But the gelato itself was fantastic. They are happy to let you try samples of all the creative flavors they offer. I would happily go back for more!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    27
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great gelato and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Walking around the other night with a friend who has to eat Gluten Free we stumbled upon this small shop in Fells Point. Everything there aside from the cones and biscotti are gluten free, which as it turns out is very rare in the downtown Baltimore area (really?).

The service was excellent as all the women working were very chatty and free samples were encouraged so we could dial in our flavor combinations. I went for rhubarb and crème fraîche. It was excellent!

There isn't much room inside to eat so don't really plan on sitting down if its busy, although there was a bench outside we used.

As with most things in the downtown area it is over-priced for the serving size. I'm not a die hard dessert person (that would be my wife) but I would go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Gelato this side of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A visit to Fells Point isn't complete without a taste of Gelato! The flavors at Pitango burst! Changing daily, there's always something new to try. Excellent Coffee and Espresso drinks as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great non-dairy options`”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I am a huge fan of Capogiro in Philadelphia, so I was excited to try Pitango. Like Capogiro they have delicious interesting fruit sorbets that have a creamy texture. To make it even better, they have chocolate flavored sorbets that are dairy free! I got a small with half white grapefruit and have orange dark chocolate. It was amazing. I would totally recommend trying their product out. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Gelato in town..hands down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We've tried places that sells gelato and nothing comes close to Pitango. My youngest daughter can differentiate ice cream from gelato! And she definitely loves this place. Worth driving to Fells Point !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitango Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Pitango Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitango Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.