We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is HUGE!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maryland Zoo

The Maryland Zoo
Druid Hill Park, Baltimore, MD 21217
+1 410-366-5466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 133 Attractions in Baltimore
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors meet more than 1,500 animals including chimpanzees, elephants, leopards and warthogs as they journey on an African safari, groom goats in the Farmyard, explore the winding trails through the Lyn P. Myerhoff Maryland Wilderness and watch the polar bears swim next to you at the underwater viewing window. New in 2014 - Penguin Coast! Home to the Zoo's African penguins. Opening Sept. 27, 2014!
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This place is HUGE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Went with my husband, mom, siblings, and best friend and her daughter. Great exhibits and cute rides for the kids. We spent 4 hours there and didn't even finish. Good Times, but ticket prices are a little high by about 5 bucks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    97
    54
    25
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So-so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

They charge a lot for so little. The National zoo is so close, why not go there? For free.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Experience was a bit odd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This zoo is not as nice as some that I've seen, but not the worst either. Part of my issue was that many things were closed because of it being off season. I'm not surprised by this, but it was highly inconvenient not having running water in restrooms or a place to eat.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Hopkins Student Explores Baltimore (Video Included)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I went with the cast/crew of a Johns Hopkins video series to create a video of the zoo for the Johns Hopkins admissions website. Our final product: type in "Learn More, See More, B'More, episode 6 Maryland Zoo" into YouTube! The zoo was easy to navigate, the trainers were friendly, and there was an awesome mini amusement park (that you'll be able to see clips of towards the end of the video). The employees of the zoo work really hard to make your experience at the Maryland Zoo in Baltimore very enjoyable and memorable. For example, when we went, it was "ZooBoo." All of the little kids (and their parents) were dressed up in halloween costumes, they got to go trick-or-treating, and a haunted barn awaited those who dared to enter. We had a great time. Watch our video for some first-hand information about our day at the Maryland Zoo in Baltimore!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not What It Used To Be But Still Worth A Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Like some I've been going to the Zoo for many years and to a certain extent it's sad to see it now compared to decades past. Still it's good for a once a year outing. Small children will like the place and there's plenty of photo opportunities. It's pricey to get in and if you plan on buying food there forget it. Hands down the worst place to eat out of any Baltimore attraction. Unlike some other places they will let you bring in your own lunch however. All in all still a reasonably nice place to spend an afternoon.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maryland Zoo also viewed

 

Been to The Maryland Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maryland Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.