We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Maryland Zoo

The Maryland Zoo
Druid Hill Park, Baltimore, MD 21217
+1 410-366-5466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 133 Attractions in Baltimore
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors meet more than 1,500 animals including chimpanzees, elephants, leopards and warthogs as they journey on an African safari, groom goats in the Farmyard, explore the winding trails through the Lyn P. Myerhoff Maryland Wilderness and watch the polar bears swim next to you at the underwater viewing window. New in 2014 - Penguin Coast! Home to the Zoo's African penguins. Opening Sept. 27, 2014!
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We took our children to the zoo, they are 6 and 2. Our 2 year old enjoyed herself, but she's easy! The exhibits are so far apart, it's really a hike getting around this place. The rides are a good idea, but our 6 year old felt he was too big to ride them. Not really worth the trip, Philly Zoo is much better.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    97
    54
    25
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walkersville, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor and Dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

You know when something is bad when your Children Say " Can we Go Home Now"!!!

First of all, The parking was getto and they was ASSOCIATED directing car to the parking space and while they were doing that, they were trying to Selling Tickets for Cheap so they could cash in some money..

Second, You had to walk at least 5 min before you see any of the Animals... They wouldn't really any Animals out to view for it being a Sunday..

Third, We spend most of our Trip hiding under a Shed due to it Raining alot so we really didnt get to finish the Trip...

When we went to Customer Service to get a Refund or even a Trip back for Free or Discount they Said NO.. When i asked to speak with a Manager they gave me a Number to call. So I called and till this time Cory the Manager has not even called me back.. What kind of Customer Service is that..

The Zoo is very Poor and Dirty For the Price that they ask for to get in, You'll we think it would be the Cleans.. Associate would rude and didnt care how you feel..

Thats how bad it was..
WE WILL NEVER GO BACK TO THE MARYLAND BALTIMORE ZOO..

Very Disappointed!!!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We had been here last week ,the polar bears, girrafes and the penguins were the best here, wanted to see the lion ,but somehow they were sleepy.The camel rides are great for kids,make sure to visit the childrens farm too

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbottstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Support your Zoo .. it's worth it and needed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We loved our trip there .. everyone was happy (4 adults and a teenager). The workers there were friendly and answered questions about the animals in easy to understand language. We took a picnic lunch there and enjoied sitting in the picnic areas and eatting as we stayed the entire day there. I am disabled as well as my son .. so between us we had one motor scooter and a wheelchair to get around .. our only complaint is that the paths and roadways need a few repairs in some parts that would make it easier to get around. Also some things I was unable to see because I could not open the door and hold it open to get into .. for these areas I had to wait outside until my friends rejoined me (we did not stay togeater as we had different parts we wanted to see in between our meals). But despite the problems we are happy to have been there and will go back again soon. We all enjoied riding on the train which allowed us to get on with scooter and wheel chair. We love the Zoo and think it is a wonderful place to visit.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great little gem of a zoo near the Inner Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This zoo was a nice surprise. We didn't expect much since we had gone to the Inner Harbor for a night with our toddler, but we stopped here on the way out of town. It wound up being a highlight of our trip. The zoo has beautiful grounds, is well maintained, and has a lot of animals. The workers are friendly, and we really enjoyed our visit. We would go back again next time we're in the area.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maryland Zoo also viewed

 

Been to The Maryland Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maryland Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.