We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Art Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baltimore Museum of Art

Baltimore Museum of Art
10 Art Museum Dr, Baltimore, MD 21218-3898
+1 443-573-1700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 133 Attractions in Baltimore
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA) is home to an internationally renowned collection of 19th-century, modern, and contemporary art. Founded in 1914 with a single painting, the BMA today has 90,000 works of art-including the largest holding of works by Henri Matisse in the world.* The museum is currently undergoing an unprecedented $28 million renovation to provide visitors with a more welcoming environment and more imaginative and inspiring encounters with art. The BMA is remaining open throughout the multi-year project so that visitors can enjoy its outstanding selection of European and American painting and sculpture from the 17th through 20th centuries and the newly reinstalled Contemporary Wing with 14 galleries showcasing the art of our time. Two beautifully landscaped gardens display an array of 20th-century sculpture that is an oasis in the city. The museum's 100th anniversary will be celebrated in November 2014 with the reopening of the grand historic entrance designed by John Russell Pope and a beautiful new presentation of the museum's distinguished collection of American art. Subsequent reopenings include expanded galleries for the African and Asian art collections and a new learning and creativity center that will open in 2015. Since 2006, the BMA has eliminated general admission fees so that everyone can enjoy the power of art. * Many of the BMA's works by Matisse are part of a special exhibition traveling to museums in Indianapolis, Minneapolis, and San Antonio in 2013 and 2014. If you are visiting to see a specific artwork, please call the BMA Box Office to make sure it will be on view.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Art Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We had heard about the Baltimore Art Museum because of the well known Cohn collection of impressionists mostly Matisses. The museum was a wonderful visit. On Sunday there was a children's art project starting at two which engaged the young children (lots of paste and construction paper). The miniature rooms were wonderful and the American collectoin, while not huge was excellent and well displayed. The Cohn collection and the Saidie May collection of post impressionists was wonderful. The restaurant was excellent, good service and good food (I couldnt resist another crab lump cake). It is a bit away from the tourist center, ie Mount vernon area or inner harbor but the cab was not expensive, and the front desk called a cab for us. For a bonus, we asked our driver to tour the Johns Hopkins University campus which abuts the museum (the university sold them the land for $1.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    82
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
593 reviews 593 reviews
246 attraction reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT BROAD BASED ART MUSEUM WITH WONDERFUL MATISSE COLLECTION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The Baltimore Museum of Art is a great place to increase ones knowledge of the world of art! Parking in their lot, which was $6 all day, was convenient and the museum is free. This museum has a wonderful 2 acre sculpture garden adjacent to a very good white table cloth restaurant. The service was excellent and their was a live jazz performance on the Sunday we were there. The sculpture garden has Rodins and other famous sculptures.

The museum is broad based in its collection. It has one of the world’s largest Matisse painting collections (Cone Sisters collection) and many beautiful impressionists and paintings from the Renaissance period. We spent 4-5 hours here and undoubtedly will go back again! A nice bonus is that the museum is right next to Johns Hopkins University, which has a beautiful, wooded campus.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for any age”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

I loved strolling in the sculpture garden and often bought gifts from their gift shop while a student at Hopkins. The museum is bright and welcoming as well as free. I remember enjoying Hopkins a cappella performances held there as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice local museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We went to the Andy Warhol exhibition in its waning days at the Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA). Both the exhibition and the museum were excellent.

We had joined the BMA on a family membership so there were good benefits. The exhibition and the recorded tour equipment were free. We got a 10% discount at the gift shop and a $2 discount on the parking. Had we had lunch in their restaurant we would have also received a discount.

We live close to Washington and so frequent the National Gallery of Art, one of the world's finest art museums. But the BMA has the advantage of intimacy. We highly recommend a visit.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Free Admission?! Value that can't be beat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We (grandparents, parents, and kids age 12 down to 7) had a tremendously good time in this museum for about 3 hours. My advice is to check in your coat and pick up the audio guide. This is quite a large museum. Our highlight was the bronze statue of the little ballet dancer by Degas, since we had previously watched a DVD on the artist.

The museum cafe looks very upscale and had quite a lot of people.

Overall, the size and quality of the museum plus the free admission makes it a must-see in Baltimore.

This museum allows photography without flash. I had some nice pictures of my 2nd grader listening to his audio guide and looking intently at a nightmarish painting of a figure with a bug for a nose.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baltimore Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Baltimore Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baltimore Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.