We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-see destination for railfans...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum

Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum
901 W. Pratt Street, Baltimore, MD 21223
410-752-2490
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 133 Attractions in Baltimore
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the site of the oldest railroad station in America, this museum traces the development of trains and features a huge collection of railroad memorabilia, a model railroad and an operating replica of the very first locomotive, The Tom Thumb, which was built here.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Bellevue
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A must-see destination for railfans...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have been wanting to visit this place for years. This is just about the best museum of its kind I have ever visited. You could literally spend hours seeing all that is on display here. There is quite a collection of locomotives, rolling stock, historic objects and small objects--things that you would probably see nowhere else. The only negative was because of the heat, the Mile One Express Train Rides were not operating. I was very disappointed about that. But overall, I was quite pleased with this museum. If you travel without a car (like I do), you can easily reach the museum from downtown with the FREE Charm City Circulator bus. The Orange Route drops you off right near the entrance,

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    108
    26
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whiteford, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for pre-schoolers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I took my 3 year old train-loving son here in June. He had the time of his life. They have a great area with train tables that he enjoyed. Of course, he loved the trains in the roundhouse. He also loved riding the blue train outside, as well as looking at the model train exhibits. We also went on a caboose, and a box car outside. It is very kid-friendly with nice staff. Parking is onsite which is great for the city. We went down on a weekday and the small restaurant was not open, nor could we take a train ride. That is the only downside that I can see to the museum, but we still had a wonderful time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic for all ages ... Even if you're not a train geek.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Real history and real artifacts here. Best if all you can TOUCH the exhibits. If you are into trains you'll have a blast. Your young kids will love it. Students of social and industrial history will find plenty to intrigue them. Older visitors will nostalgically gave over the exhibits. Fun special holiday train garden as well as a permanent one. Where else can you see a real roundhouse and turntable! The quick train ride is fun... Although it is pretty bleak along that stretch of track ... Would be great if volunteers would work on cleaning it up. Largely volunteer staff on exhibit floor are fonts of information by the way.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“So Much to See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Plan enough time for this Museum. We had more than two hours and it was not enough. The air-conditioned, enclosed exhibits were a breath of fresh air on a very hot and humid day. There's a AAA discount if you are a member. Currently through 2015 they have special exhibits celebrating the role of trains during the Civil War. Inside there are models and in-depth information on the development of B&O engines and passenger cars through the years, Also a very interesting area where station clocks, many in operating condition, are displayed along with a video on the development of time zones in the US, which was started by the train companies. Another special area is devoted to the use of the telegraph. This is hands-on and explores their creation and use. One exhibit is constantly putting out the familar series of dots and dashes while a typed display shows what is being sent.

The roundhouse (no a/c) is a piece of history, with actual rail cars and engines, including the original Tom Thumb. A portion of this area is dedicated to the Civil War exhibition. There are ramps here and throughout the outside exhibits that allow you to walk to the level of some engine cabs and through passenger cars. Some are untouched from when they were brought here and some are lovingly restored. Ther are always staff on hand to answer any questions.

Outside in the rail yards there is a large collection of rolling stock. You can visit, amond others, a refrigerator car, caboose, diner and a passenger car that has been transformed into a full length model railroad.

The shops building - where repairs were made - has some very large and unique engines and roling stock. Ramps allow you to board engine cabs and sit in them. Some engine wheels are taller than people.

There is also a gift shop with the usual gifts you would want to pick up after a day of exploring. Parking is available or you can get MTA Light Rail to the Convention Center and walk west on Pratt Street a few blocks. The museum is only open 10 AM to 4 PM and the yards close at 3:30 PM so to have enough time plan to get there earlier in the day. The museum is closed on major holidays as we found out when we walked there on July 4th.

All in all a great place to spend several hours with the kids or if you just enough the history of the B&O.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband's company rented the Museum for their Christmas Dinner. What a COOL idea, it was the BEST company dinner I have ever been to. There were volunteers available to answer any questions and boy, did they know their stuff! I am not much of a train buff and I really enjoyed the museum so I can imagine that a real train buff would be in 7th heaven.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.