We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stirring” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort McHenry National Monument

Fort McHenry National Monument
2400 E Fort Ave, Baltimore, MD 21230-5393
410-962-4290
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 316 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic fort that inspired Francis Scott Key to write the U.S. national anthem.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stirring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The updated Fort McHenry pavillion adds more information, articfacts, stories and examples but still ends with the stirring rendition of the Star Spangled Banner andwindow reveal of the flag flying over Fort McHenry just as it must have looked to Francis Scott Key. It moves me every time I take someone for a visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    894
    367
    55
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Patriot's Wet Dream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I don't really go in for all that American rah-rah, stuff. That said, the presentation of the history is pretty good. The film and the exhibits are concise and engaging.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant park!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Nice family picnic and walking area with good restaurants and points of interest nearby. It is clean, seems safe, convenient to everything downtown, interesting and a great view of the harbor.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“historical treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I rode the water taxi to the fort and had a relaxing tour of the well maintained
history gem.The different eras the fort was used in are explained and varying armaments
displayed. Barracks,powder rooms and planning rooms are restored nicely.Worth seeing .

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandmahenry
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Extremely interesting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We went to Fort McHenry asy husband is retired army and it was really interesting, surprisingly so for me as I British I was on the other side so to speak. At the end of the fi about the Star Spangled Banner when the curtain rises I was on the verge of tears. The exhibits were a little dry but we enjoyed ourselves and recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort McHenry National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Fort McHenry National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort McHenry National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.